Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

VTphisherman , attached to 2014-07-26 Permalink
This was a VERY GOOD show. Moments of absolute brilliance in both sets.

First set: Intensity and crisp improvisation within the confines of first-set brevity. Sample, Moma, Wombat, Number Line were so good, I was thinking best first set of the tour at that point. Then a clean Wedge, which is only a let down for me because I was at the Chicago show a week before and it mad me miss that one. Wolfman's ended with a great jam. A brief (and needed) intermission with Nellie and Lawn Boy. The set built beautifully from there with a solid Line a good Stash jam and then into Suzy to finish with a bang. Page definitely got the crowd going on that one. I would argue this was top 3 first sets of the tour so far.

Second set started with a Carini jam that was interesting, but never seemed to quite settle on anything. What Carini lacked in organized jamming, Ghost delivered and then some. I have heard from some fans who think Trey's 70s-esque powerchord riffs are getting stale, but I beg to differ - this one was fun and got the crowd going. A highlight of the show to be sure. Trey cut it off during the bring back and shifted to Steam, which was a perfect song choice. Mango is always a hit for me. Sing Monica was well-played, but it is not my favorite. Light was very good, but I have heard so many A+++ versions of it over the past year that I think my bar is too high. Hood was good, but again I have heard so many great versions recently that I am spoiled. Then a familiar Julius encore.

Again, all in all a VERY GOOD show - definitely worth another listen for the first set funk and second set Carini, Ghost, Steam. There is no such thing as a bad show these days, so it really is hard not to give 5/5.
Score: 1
lizardneck , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
lizardneck I heard it again....and back on the simple freezer train was....FUEGO!
I had as much fun as any show from the 90's, so glad I made it down this weekend. This may be my last show till NYE, and I took full advantage of every moment of music,
Thank you......
Score: 1
madsunrises , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
What can I say? They killed it. I couldn't stop dancing, I thought I'd be able to stop and catch my breath at some point in the second set, but they kept building it up like a well organized orgasm and I wouldn't have been satisfied unless I danced to it all and don't worry, I did. It was a contagious show and an absolute joy. It felt so personal and fun, from jumping on trampolines to having Jon come out to sing Jennifer Dances, to dancing off stage in step; it was such a joyous and groovy night. But most importantly, tweezerfest people. I feel honored to have been there.
Score: 1
JorgeCavos , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
I couldn't be happier about this show. Everyone else has pretty much said all that has to be said. This was quintessential Phish doing what they do best: Making us dance, laugh, and smile ear-to-ear.

What a beautiful way to cap off my summer (and 80th show!)

Already can't wait for Vegas...
Score: 1
bamaphishphunk , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
So I've officially listened to the show ("Back on the Free-zer") twice, and watched the webcast once, and my eyes have had tears I them all three times. We were witness to greatness of epic proportions last night. I don't even think that I need to explain a thing to anyone about the show itself, although phrases like legendary, epic, magical, and sick come to mind. The look on Trey's face during the second set said everything! Bliss, joy, energy, and music; these are just a few of the things that make Phish the most captivating "living thing" on the planet. Thank you guys, truly a masterpiece........See you in Orange Beach!
Score: 4
Toast16 , attached to 1989-04-27 Permalink
This is quite possibly one of the best shows of Early 1.0 Phish.
I think it is only one set long because they were so good that they overheated the building.
Probably their best show from the periods 1983-April 16th, 1992.
Now let me lay this set out for you in all of it's brilliance.
First up we have GOLGI APPARATUS.
Mike is killer on the bass in this crisp opener. Now here is where the fun begins.
Now it says that the JAM was after the Golgi Apparatus, which is true, but for the review's sake we can consider it a jammed out Golgi Apparatus. Now how often were those?
There weren't any jammed out Golgi Apparati in Fall Funk '97.
Adding to this wonderful show was the fact that there was some stage banter during this Jam. How wonderful is that? You don't get that every day.
Next up is THE SLOTH. Absolutely beautiful rendition of this song, one of my favorites. Even though the name is Sloth, the song goes rather fast. Aren't you funny, Phish?
OH MY GOD THIS DIVIDED SKY. Seguing in from The Sloth, I was just stunned for a second when I heard this piece. Phish nails all the composed sections with an air of brilliant tactical work, and the result is soft sugar butter candy to the ears. Must-hear for any self-proclaimed Phish aficionado.
By this point my face is melted. This band is so good that I will take any song now. The next one, of course, is SANITY. The fast version.
Holy Schnikeys I get excited now just thinking about it. Trey takes a guitar solo near the end that is just absolute perfection.
Why doesn't this Sanity have the green or even red on it? Why isn't this whole show a signature version? Imma message the mods because this is some real babyback bullshit.
Next up is I DIDN'T KNOW. Holy hell this song is funny. A picture of Otis Redding? HAHAHA this band is hilarious!! I love Mike during this one, as he seems to be the one carrying the band through this song.
Next up is ALUMNI BLUES. I love this song!! I graduated from high school once so I feel the "Blues" as narrated in this song. I thought that this trip was over but WHAM BAM -> LETTER TO JIMMY PAGE. Damn! I know who Jimmy Page is so automatically this song is for me. I wonder why they don't play this one anymore, but this is clearly one of the best versions of this song. I love the Type 2 jamming that occurs about midway through.
And back into ALUMNI BLUES. Did I say I love this song? Yes. Did I say I love this band? Yes. Amazing version with a capital A, not just because it begins a sentence.
And segue into the LIZARDS!!! THIS SHOW IS SO GOOD!! One of the best of early Phish, I'd say. Almost as good as Tweezerfest 5/07/94, that's for sure. But this Lizards song with the Calypso beat is just melting my fucking face right now. Trey remembers all the lyrics this time, and the atmosphere is just sublime. Do yourself a favor and give this song a listen if you can only just listen to one song, or you are just lazy.
Next is AN 11 MINUTE WHIPPING POST!!! In 1989!!! WOW!! This song is the clincher to a perfect set. Shame they didn't play two sets because they are on fucking fire. I love the Allman Brothers too so it is an extra treat. Consider yourself lucky and a miracle that you are listening to this show, or happen to click on it on phish.net. OH ME OH MY!!!!
There is an encore!! How lucky are we? How often do encores happen?
First is CONTACT. I love this song, Mike!!! THE WHEELS ON THE CAR ARE THE THINGS THAT MAKE CONTACT WITH THE GROUND
YEAH!!! Love this encore so far. Page is killer on the keys right now. That is why they call him Chairman of the Boards.
WHAT!! DAVID BOWIE??? IN AN ENCORE?? HOLY SHIT!!!
This Bowie is so good!! The hose in the second part of the jam is absolutely incredible!!
So to close it off, I will say that this show (4/27/89) is my favorite show of all time, beating out the 5/7/94 Tweezerfest and the 12/29/94 show.
LivePhish you need to FUCKING STEP IT UP!!! GET THIS SHOW AS ONE OF YOUR CD'S OR ITUNES OR WHAT NOT. You need to make this gem of a show accessible to the mainstream public.
LISTEN TO THIS SHOW EVERYONE!!!
Score: 0
SimplePhishin , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
From the storm clouds breaking apart above the venue and the sun peaking out instead of storming, through the high energy first set that set the tempo (Sand, Bouncing, Saw it, Fuego, YEM......um, yes), into the second set that will surely be remembered and looked back on for years to come.....it just doesn't get much better than this.

The crowd was dialed in along with the band and from the moment Trey started dancing around the stage in set 1 phriends in the crowd began looking around at each other as if they sensed something magical looming. What the band delivered was something beyond my own and I'm sure everyone else's wildest dreams. I kept thinking to myself that I'm not this lucky to catch a show of this magnitude. At times all I could do was put my hands on top of my head and stare in disbelief.

Thank you, Phish.
Score: 4
LIVEdude , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
Thought I'd share an idea about the "theme" of last night. After a second listen, I recalled Trey saying at the end of "Fee", after they flubbed the last verse, that "it was all there, but not in the right parts". When you think about it, the remainder of the show, especially the second set, contained a bunch of things that were all there (and finished), but not in the right parts. I also think this may attribute to the array of "second set" tunes being played in the first set. Just wanted to introduce this for all you conspiracy friends.

The entire show was brilliant, with bust outs and wild set construction, not to mention snappy and responsive jams/segues. This is as good as anything in the last 10 years, easy. After a murky 1st set on the 26th, with obvious disappointment from the band, they brought the thunder for the rest of the weekend. After thousands of hours of music created, they just still find a way to make it fresh for themselves and, subsequently, the fans. Be on this show ASAP!

Here's to a killer show! Thanks, Boys!
Score: 4
lysergic , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
lysergic Wow, what can I say? This show is the real deal. I feel very fortunate to have been in the pit, center stage. The best part about this show, IMO, was how much fun the boys were having on stage. They started out free and wild and continued down that path, getting looser and looser. By the time HYHU emerged out of the NICU jam it was clear anything could happen. This wasn't a night where one or two songs stand out above the rest, it was a whole package. At set break my friends and I were already blown away. Then... well the setlist speaks for itself. This was a very special night. Thank you Phish!!

Highlights: Fishman jumping on top of the piano to take a bow, Trey's song request from the drums, the impromptu synchronized walkoff to close the second set, the jam from nowhere at the end of NICU, the fifth Tweezer, and of course Henrietta butchering Jennifer Dances
Score: 5
Runaway_Sean , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
Between the bustouts, tweezer all night and the realignment of songs this is truly one not to miss.

I have heard some fans mentioning that the band is getting predictable with set II opener being a huge jam (carini, dwd, fuego, etc.), set I closer being somewhat the same type selection (antelope, bowie, etc). This totally broke that cycle...curtain and yem in the first set? slave mid second set? NICU late second set?

I will take what I can get, when I can get it, but it was nice to have them change things up a bit...just my opinion..

It was almost as if they took a step back and wanted to remind all of us that they are in fact the best band on the planet and don't we forget it. I got the same feeling from them on 11/1/2013 AC after they received a lot of heat for the Wingsuit debut on Halloween.

Great to see the boys having fun up there!! Can't wait so see what the rest of tour brings to the table.
Score: 2
CavernMan , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
CavernMan Even just hearing the AUD now, it's clear that from the first note that this show was an unconstrained intermingling and eruption of the energy, humor, skill and passion that's always defined Phish at their best (and what the hell, even at their worst).

It's not just the incredibly delivered second set - it's the whole show! Not a sloucher of a tune anywhere - even the 'Fee' flub is made fun, and made up for with 'The Curtain With'. A rippin' '46 Days' that centers on some classic Trey rock god guitar hero soloing, a '555' that shows how well & quickly the song is maturing to fit into strong sets, then… c’mon… seriously? Look at that. WTF? A hot burning 'Sand', 'Bouncing' over to a metal 'Saw It Again' feeding perfectly into a metal 'Fuego' and then just that little 'YEM' that everyone’s been hunting since SPAC. If they had walked away at set break, this would have been a worthwhile show and everyone could have floated on home…

But of course they didn’t – and the rest is most definitely now history. No need for me to hash over what other reviews say about Set II – just reiterating the point a few others made – the 5 stars are for THE WHOLE DAMN SHOW! If you’re just sitting down to this, do yourself a favor and listen all the way through.

Congratulations to those of you who got this right down under your skin and into your retinas there in person. Surely you’ve emerged transformed! A congratulations to all of us for being smart enough to be fans of this band beyond description. Couldn’t find a night like this anywhere else – that’s for sure.
Score: 4
ihadadog , attached to 1989-01-28 Permalink
I was actually at this show, although I thought it was earlier than 1989. There weren't many people there, but it was definitely rocking. I had never heard the band before so any Phish songs were unknown to me. They definitely played Fire by Jimi Hendrix and Good Times, Bad Times.
Score: 0
davisnafshun , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
Let me begin by addressing the first set: Good. The Fee was nice as an opener, the megaphone being a special treat. Fuego near the end was a good jam and the You Enjoy Myself always spectacular.
But that's not why we are here: The Second Set.
When Phish performed 5/07/1994 at the Bomb Factory in Dallas, Texas, the result was dubbed Tweezerfest. This performance nearly rivals that historic show of more than 20 years ago, but I would argue that most Phish fans do not understand the gravity of the situation.
THIS IS 2014 PHISH!!! This is unbelievable!!! This 7/27/2014 show will go down as one of the most unexpected, most exciting, and most enjoyable shows IN PHISH HISTORY!!!
This Tweezer segue-fest encompasses 6 songs.
Also the first Jennifer Dances in 15 years!!
I Saw You Around Bustout!!
First Hold Your Head Up in over 170 shows!!
This proves the boys can show the unexpected and still rock the fun train, both of which happened tonight.
Save this show.
Score: 1
hughie46 , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
first set started off with fee and curtain... enough to intrigue to say the least. 46 days reached a pretty huge peak and brought the first touch of heat to our faces.

two sweet, well executed songs later they played a sand that to my ears seemed ripe with flourishes. page getting quirky, trey adding flairs, the type of phish clockwork that foreshadows a huge jam. & unlike the other sands of this tour to my ears, the band didnt seem to be chasing a theme or sound. the groove calmly and self sufficiently swelled and broke in a finish. nevertheless, sand finished at an ordinary length and was still sick.

saw it again and fuego paired were a lighthearted nudge against fans reminding us of two things: the band still fucks with us, and the band is still doing it for us.

to follow that up, an awesome and perfectly placed set closing yem. only the second yem of the tour, and felt earned after spac's crippled composed section.

and thats only the first set.

as a bar setter for what a first set to an epic night should be, it can almost stand alone in signifying what this night was. rarities, risks, jokes, phishyness in its essence was radiating from the music. and, the songs happened to be fantastically executed and placed.

for the second set, i will let the merits of experience assure you of most of this sickness. anyone that has listened to the original tweezer fest, or any goofy/segue-infused show for that matter knows the thrilling nature of this type of playing. last night, not only did phish play a set with five tweezers and circulate the stage instrument-less like poorly synchronized jesters, but they did it in an era where they don't tend to and certainly don't need to. the band may have proved itself 20 years ago, but last nights second set is a thesis for the argument that the band is still alive, toying with ideas, and most importantly playing for fun.
Score: 9
unoclay , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
unoclay As posted to the forum last night:

2:01 AM, 28Jul, just home from Merriweather Post

It must be a thing this year; when phish play an epic show, you are then required to drive in a proportionally voluminous rainstorm. Barely missed wrecking my car in a pileup, i was swerving through deep rivers of accumulated highway water. Unexpected swaths of flooding and the resulting turbulence had smashed 3 others just before i swerved through; it was fine, i held the wheel, i kept the hand steady. It was close but not so much. The force was with me tonight. The rain was beyond. Liquid slamming down. I saw 4 or 5 lightning bolts slashing down to ground, all of them directly located in the general direction i was heading. Something awesome and humbling. And so appropriate, somehow. A capstone to a night.

The show should be called The Free-zer, or the Merriweather Post Freezer. Obviously that isnt everything one might mention about the show; the Catapult, the spirited goofs, the feeling you forget and forgot again. There was something tangible in the air; I’m not kidding; when the set started with Wilson i turned to Wenger and relayed what was coming down the psychic line, “Opening with Wilson? Something big is coming.” I don’t say dumb stuff like that lightly or often. Air. It can tell you things. Objectively, it definitely could have been a trickle down sensation from the approaching storm; perhaps my gut instinct came from subtle atmospheric pressure drops, or whatever. Crisp summer-yet-sweaty-air pockets. The goofs in Fee relaying some sense,a hint?, of a set to come. The Wilson; i dont have anything statistical to back it up, but it just telegraphed a vibe of calm-before-the-roller coaster. And then it all went off.

Man, this was One of Those Shows. It called to mind 7/11/00. I know, im on sacred ground here, but its like that sort of show. Like a goofy modern Roxy. The electric guitar from redhead guy might not be as fast or flashy, but all that Phish is in there, still, and when it erupts out, you get a thing like a show we saw tonight. The kind of thing where the cosmic goof, the band’s own laughter at themselves, is as important as what or how they play. The high water mark, perhaps, being, the I’ve Been Around march around the stage. For real. It might have been the best part of the show, the guys in a line. I still generally reject the idea of televising phish, but absentees should seek out the video of this part, or set, even. The band in a line, old friends in music and comedy, pranking Fish and then marching like goofy stageshow actors. Like I said, it might have been my favorite part of the show. It’s pretty tough to say.

It’s not Randalls or SPAC; it’s part of the hopeless schizoid cannon of phish. A smaller subset than the ‘forever jammin’ sorts of shows--almost the rarest kind of gig, in fact. 1 in 50? 1 in 75? More? There’s no one big gag to latch onto; no Tuck or Woo or Page’s House or Moby Dick or anything else; the Free-Zer transitions are really it, a willingness to T2 and be ridIcculus and all that sort of thing. The Jennifer Dances. The moment when he’s got nothing, then ‘takes a request from the drummer’. Yes. Yes, they remember. They just like to keep the suspense going. They know the jokes too. It’s pretty damn obvious.

Merriweather FreeZer, the truth, the kind of thing.
Phish 2014. It is oh so real. See you on the road.
Score: 16
Login Register