Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

AZ_Fluff , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
I wasn't a huge fan of the set list as it was pretty uneven and slow at times, but they did pickup the energy starting with Cavern.

The second set is where it's at though, they could have stopped after Fluffhead and I would have been satisfied. The Carini jam was what 3.0 Phish is all about, throw in a Tweezer sandwich and my appetite was satisfied. Piper -> Steam segue was bonkers and the rest of the set was solid if not above average Phish.

I am the Walrus had me absolutely floored - Best. Band. Ever.
Score: 1
panda , attached to 2016-06-24 Permalink
This is what seeing the Phish is all about, fun high energy first set with a touchy new balad called Miss You - we Blazed On to Blaze On and the fun was just getting started!

Second set started with a blazing Disease into a fairly standard, but fun Fuego. Twist is something that dreams are made of, they pulled no punches with that jam. Could have done without the Twenty Years later, but love me some Waste into the 2001 funk dance party! Number Line is usually placed in the wrong spot, but this was a nice breather before an always rocking Loving Cup set closer.

Never been a big Bowie fan, but most people were losing their stuff to Space Oddity and it was a nice risk taken. Can never go wrong with an Antelope encore either!!!!
Score: 0
panda , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
First set was a little choppy, though I thoroughly enjoyed my first vacuum solo ever. The second set is what the Phish is all about, great blissful Carini Jam into a spirited (albiet short) Tweezer into the first Fluffhead in a year and a half. Whilst Piper was OK, the segue into Steam was unreal! Velvet Sea was well placed for once and the Hood was uninspiring, but blissful. Love any non-encore Tweeprise these days and the encore was, well what I can say - it was one of my favorite Beatles songs and not played for six years!!!!

This band never ceases to amaze me and remind me why we've traveled long and far for that pheeling!
Score: 1
GhostPhunk , attached to 1998-08-01 Permalink
GhostPhunk My First Show!
Was there in time to have the "Ramble On" opener blow my mind!
I had seen Page & Plant in Milwaukee a couple years before and I was going thru a Big Led Zeppelin phase ;)
I was hooked on Phish right then and there!

The entire show is very well played.
I was a total Noob at the time... just soaking up the scene and awesome party.
Score: 0
The_Wom , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
The_Wom They played Waiting All Night and brought tears to my eyes. Heavy Things was sloppy. Carini was cool. Tweezer, Fluffhead, and Reprise was nice. Oh yeah, Divided Sky and Cavern were impeccable. I dug I am the Walrus. Great night until the $150 drinking ticket outside of my favorite place on earth.
Score: 0
dutchbug , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
dutchbug Beautiful, calm venue. Nice folks at the meetup. Show highlights were Reba and the slow Llama in the first set. Second set highlights are kind of obvious---C&P, DWD, WTU, Meatstick. A great night, and I left feeling satiated and relaxed but now, this evening, after a nap, I'm missing the band already and wondering what's going to happen at SPAC.

Some .net hate going on vs. this show...people are nuts. You show up to watch this band evolve. Maybe you didn't like the new songs, but these things take time to grow on you, and the band has to grow into the songs as well.

Trey seemed to make a lot of errors during the composed portion of Reba, but then really totally turned things around when he started soloing. Let's face it---we're all getting older. The fans, the band. As you get older, life is not so much about perfection...it's about fixing all the messes you made. I got chills during that Reba and it was worth the price of admission.
Score: 2
waitingallnightsyousaidim , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
A big FOUR STAR from me I'll tell you what! Where was the song in which there is the lyric waiting all night you said I'm said I'm said I'm waiting all night you said I'm sorry waiting all night and I don't know why you waiting all night you left me this way???? I was... Waiting all night for it ha halook I try and add an elem element of humor to the review but the show had me asking when and where they will play it next in a way that had my brow furrowed in a way that was prohibitory to laughter
Score: 1
flatbrimtracksuit , attached to 2016-06-22 Permalink
What a night! Got to the lot and got free tickets in 10 minutes. My girlfriend got a nice lower (where we ended up). LOVED the venue, great sound. Indoor phish is the best, there's no place for the energy to escape.
Thought pigtail was an odd choice of opener, but then wolfman's kicked things up as we were treated to our first (but certainly not last) helping of funky slap bass provided by Gordo Corleone.
Ive been itching for another Daniel saw the Stone since the IT festival! I frequently call it for opener just because I think it is one of THE BEST tools in their arsenal for whipping up a high energy dance party. I was cheesing hard and foot stomping and finger waging. Great song choice!
The dogs was sweet to hear as well, we were in attendance for the debut, and had only witnessed one of the chilling thrilling tunes since 10/31/14 (fuse at alpine), so we were stoked to relive that Vegas magic in st paul.
After seeing the band 50 times (the gf has seen A LOT more) its tough to see a song live, thatcha haven't seen performed yet. Dear Prudence had me genuinely surprised. my girlfriend, who recognized it in 1.5 seconds, was overjoyed even more than myself, she was OBSESSED with the Beatles growing up. song gave me goosebumps. In fact upon first relisten (as I type this) the song made the hair from the back of my neck to the bottom of my leg stand on end.
this is the reason I see phish, when the emotional response to a song manifests in physical ways like "show chills" or shedding a tear at a beautiful moment, its encouraging that you are, indeed, in the right place.
Stash was sweet, people in our section shut up during the quite part, we danced the calypso while the band dug in. nice trey/page interplay, and a solid peak to end.
round room was the second song of the night that was another first for me, and more calypso dancing ensues
Horn! wow this set is packed with goodies! I delighted in watching trey's right hand attack the strings at the end
Uncle Pen was at the top of my "most common songs not seen live" list.
I got down so hard to this, at timestamp 2:30, the band transformed me into a chicken and I was struttin and peckin all over the row.
HTtM- page shame on you! if it's tour opener, and you're singing HTtM, you got one job to do, don't mess up the "ALL ABOARD FOR THE TOUR" line!!! ::looks down and shakes head:: (I kid)
This first set really blew me away! bluegrass and bustouts for tour opener?! in an undersold indoor arena, where the lowers are miracled out and there is six people (including us) in row 8?! yes please!!!
I could have left at set break, and it would have been still worth the drive!
the opening lick of mikes song woke us all up and the place is alive and grooving in an instant.
I didn't even care about them playing a 2nd jam (crazy I know) I just wanted a > into simple. I hadn't seen them play simple since Coventry and was starting to think i'd never see it played again! But the classic Trimurti was beautiful and the slapping from mike during paug shook my soul.
of course they blew it up with that bouncing
Ghost has always been my favorite song and I knew they would play it this night, it's a tour opener tradition these days, is it not?
LOVE LOVE LOVE trey's effect at 3:48, so dirty!
theme shifts from darker tones to major around 6:30 they build to a somewhat flat peak and turn on synth effects to return to the head. then they played the line, that's ok cause next I finally got my SIMPLE, YAY!!! my drought has ended and all is right with the world!!
the ending jam was wonderful and the > into I Found a Reason blew our minds once again
we were just listening to loaded on the way to MN, and felt like the band was playing it just for us! It was truly a magical moment, like phish was in our heads playing a show just for us.
we celebrated by dancing our asses off to Noman's, one of our favorite new tunes. Great placement!
7/23/03 was the last time I saw billy breathes (and the last of 2.0)so I am glad to share this one with my mate. that was only the 5th BB of the modern era, they should really play it more. this is the show that keeps giving!
Gin- jam starts out playful and bright. I love that sound page gets out of that little orange keyboard! that warm Rhodes tone is s enveloping.
I thought I heard a tease at 6:55, but can't place it (I was sure it was our prince tease at the time) we get our best peaks of the night and I am happy with treys playing before the coda.
encore was fun, we walked into a bar across the street, got a table, had a drink, jumped in a cab, what a night!
Score: 0
Feetoid , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
Feetoid I get it, The Line is a vibe killer and it looks like the Horn Farmhouse combo after a good Mike's annoyed people too but I thought Reba and Hood were great, Hood being one of the better 3.0 versions with a peak reminiscent of 90's versions. C&P through Meatstick, Mike's and Weekapaugh with that nasty Birds quote were all solid so I guess this was a "highlights" show to many because of all the jerky vibe killers. Maybe I was just in a really good mood but I thought the jamming in these "highlights" was the best of tour thus far. I attended both Wrigley's but for some reason I really preferred aspects of this show here, regardless of full set cohesiveness or whatever. The band seems to have ridden themselves of the early tour cobwebs and now they're playing tighter as a result or something. Anyways, can't wait till the Cali run those are my next shows, keep up the good work boys!
Score: 2
jessPHenry , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
jessPHenry So it was great to see our guys back at DEER CREEK, as the last time I saw them at this venue was back in '04 right after I graduated high school... the year of my "First & Last" show (or so I thought) -- it was a very bittersweet time of my life. Though they had been back to The Creek between then and now, I admit that I fell off the train with a broken heart for a few years and I needed to have my trust earned back...it took me a while to get back on the train but now I'm gone (but really I mean ON) and I'll never look back again!!

Anyway, let's get down to the nitty gritty about this show...

Things got a little crazy with the weather delay, so we found ourselves marooned out in the lot for a little while...but not as long as we thought we would be.
Before the quoted 90 minute delay had elapsed, event staff came cruising around in golf carts to announce the gates were open! It turned into a mad dash to get into the venue and we all got crowded up at the front gates. But security was cool and got everyone in pretty quickly, even though they were tearing the tickets!
*Helping Friendly Hint: take a photo of your ticket when you get it so that if it happens to get torn at entry, you don't risk losing your download code.

Once inside, the first two merch booths were immediately sold out of posters but the one closest to the stage had a few left. I feel that the poster situation would be a lot less stressful and there MIGHT be enough to go around if it were legislated that each person can only buy one poster, cause you know they're just selling their extra posters online for an inflated price.
I missed the first two songs of Set I, but I was one of the lucky ones and got a poster then made it to my pav seat just in time for the start of Camel Walk (all us camels with our poster tube humps on our backs).
I had a spectacular pav view of the stage, but really I don't think there's a bad seat in the house there.

Soon after it began to rain a bit, but I don't think anyone on the lawn minded...it had been quite warm and humid outside all day (97 degrees-ish) so it was an inevitable cool break from the heat. Also it was nice that the venue allowed us to bring in sealed water jugs.

Of course both sets were fun, but the second set + encore was my favorite of the night. It just seemed to have a beautiful message built into the song selections.
The older I get, the more I hear the Universe speaking to me through music...

I'd like to point out that I think the new light rig is AWESOME!! What used to be the best light show in the business has now been elevated to a whole new psychedelic level!

I admit, I've become a "do-no-wrong" sort of fan over the past few years, but somehow I still always find myself pleasantly surprised and excited by the new cool stuff these guys throw our way....CAUSE IT WAS ALL RIGHT!!!
Score: 1
timrpow , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
timrpow This show began much in the way that the previous show had ended- with great flow and firmly rooted in the foundation that warm summer shed nights demand drippy muddy funk. I had almost no problems with the first set. The opening Wolfman's, Your Pet Cat, Blaze On, Waking Up Dead, and Llama had Mike's pulsating bass, Page's clavinet chops, and Trey & Fish holding everything else together. Devotion to a Dream gets a pass due to those first five songs. Reba brings us back with precision and then a really, really patient Trey doesn't dive in with his mid 90's esque soft Reba solo until at least eight measures into Mile's plodding bass. I agree with someone in the Mann1 live show feed posting that Trey is laying back during some of the solos for others to step up during jams, and this Reba jam allowed Mike and Page to start painting first before Trey stepped in with his brush. Now- in my opinion the highlight of the show is the Mike's Song jam. Trey again going low profile and Page stands up while we get down. Crunchy Mike's Songs are something rare to be found nowadays. This reminded me somewhat of the 2014 Mann Mike's on 7.9.14- due to the funk factor alone. Horm and Farmhouse chilled us out a bit, but then a nice Weekapaug to close the set left us with high hopes for the 2nd frame.

Now C&P set the place off with jumping madness, as we all lost our collective sh*t. Friends was weird, I thought it was more of a joke song and to me sounded almost atonal- but I wouldn't put it past the boys to write something like that on purpose. DWD brought us back and shape shifted into What's the Use, then finally into the last good song of the set- Meatstick. For the record, I have a weird relationship with Meatstick. I haven't heard it at a show since Big Cypress, so for me it was a moral victory to finally hear a song that brings back such memories.

The real sticking point with this show will be the 4th quarter. The Line, Tide Turns, BDTNL, and Dem Bones let the air out of the 2nd set and it ends in a whimper. I notice they roll off stage around 11:06 and come back on around 11:10 or so- so I tell my crew we might get a two song encore. Dear Prudence and Hood help to put the show back on a respectable pedestal, but far far FAR removed from those funky first set memories that all seemed so distant.

To sum it up- listen to the first set, all of it. For me the highlights are Waking Up Dead, the slow Llama, and that crunchy clavinet Page driven Mike's Song. The second set had a few moments, but just no great flow- as Mann1's second set was so BIG on the night before.
Score: 3
redworm , attached to 2016-06-22 Permalink
redworm For me this is a phenomenal *tour opening* show. Between the bust outs, rock solid playing, an incredible energy that circled the Xcel Energy Center, it was really a special night.

What pushed things over the edge for me was taking my best friend since first grade to his first show. He is true lover of music who respects what the band is doing on stage. He is a piano player, so seeing the look on his face when Page (who was on absolute fire and has been the whole 2016 summer tour) would take a solo or began leading in a type 1 jam was really enjoyable to watch.

Hearing Pigtail to open was a nice surprise. That nice little bouncy tune got things off to a really nice start. Wolfman's is always a pleasure to hear even if this was a fairly standard, but great version. I love bluegrass and Daniel Saw the Stone is one of my favorites. Keep playing more Thrilling, Chilling songs! The Dogs is a nifty, driving song, but probably one of the weaker from the 2014 Halloween set (IMO). Well played Undermind led into Dear Prudence. We had heard them soundcheck this one earlier in the week so it wasn't a surprise to hear it, but it's such a gorgeous song and it really set the mood for the rest of the evening.

Things got stepped up a notch during Stash, which like Undermind, was well played which was great to hear this early in the tour. I love Round Room. Mike's tunes are so distinct. Horn rocks. Always. Again, I always welcome bluegrass with open arms. Halfway to the Moon showcased some really phenomenal work from Page and the Duluth line in the song garnered some nice cheers from the crowd. Walls of the Cave is a great set closer, but I'd love to hear it to open a second set sometime soon!

The second set got going right away with a full, traditional Mike's Groove. The creativity they've shown with the sandwich in recent years has been neat to hear, but Hydrogen is such a pretty song and hearing it has almost become a novelty. Nothing wrong with Bouncing here at all. I always get a kick out of how thick Ghost sounds in person…even if this one didn't go "out there" just hearing that riff puts a smile on my face. The Line is The Line. I don't love it, I don't hate it. It holds a special place for Trey clearly, so he can play it whenever he damn pleases.

Simple brought back the energy in the crowd and that segued nicely into I Found a Reason. I'll admit that it took me a few bars to recognize it, but once I did it sunk in how cool it was to hear it. No Man's is one of their strongest newer songs and I thought it was very well placed in this show. Billy Breathes is possibly my favorite Phish ballad and getting my first one in a sort of "hometown" show with my best friend there nearly put me to tears. Wasn't expecting a Gin this late in the game, but it was more than welcome. It peaked very well which has been a characteristic of Summer 2016.

Slow Water in the Sky is my favorite Water in the Sky and Zero was my friend's song that hooked him on the band a couple years ago so he was head banging like his life depended on it.

It was high fives all-around after this one. A show that ultimately will probably be forgotten once the tour is wrapped up, but one that I personally will never forget. I really hope the band comes back to the Xcel Center soon. A multiple night run on a Midwest fall tour would really be a treat.
Score: 0
DividedSkywalkerNYC , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
Gorgeous night in Philly. Fading sunshine. Low humidity. Phanatics splayed over the slippery lawn. Skyscrapers gleaming in the distance. And then...Wolfman's kicks us off with a fierce initial jam. We're off!

I'm allergic to most felines but I will make an exception for Your Pet Cat as I dig screeching, oddly. Blaze On didn't burn as bright as MSG but it didn't disappoint. Too early to tell on Waking Up Dead (a Mike original?), but I can say that the half-tempo Llama was a revelation. Devotion to a Dream has a tent preacher vibe that isn't for everyone (I say “Amen”) but the subsequent Reba, while also at a slower tempo, delivered. A few band-sync issues marred the opening of a Mike-Horn(!)-Farmhouse-Weekapaug set closer and there were no MSG 12-31-95-style flourishes, but the spirited playing sent me happily up the hill for another round of $8 meatballs.

Hard to top the choice of Crosseyed to lead off the second half and the Type II jam was electric, sequeing into...a new song! Okay...If you like Fishman on lead vocals back-to-back, this was the transition for you. Another jerky opening threatened to derail Disease but it relaunched intact and also morphed into Type II territory. Then, in the most inspired transition of the night, DWD landed perfectly into a lugubrious What's The Use => Meatstick (more beef for me). A little touch of group Japanese singing can enliven any gathering of 10,000+ people! 4th Quarter was a bit of a downshift to The Line and Trey's new R&B pleaser Tide Turns, and an above-average Backwards with TAB-Betts overtones. Dem Bones Set 2 closer was a quirky, delightful denouement.

Beatles tunes are always welcome in the encore and Dear Prudence proved stirring, although not as a turbocharged an ending as a scorching Harry Hood to dispatch us into the dark Philly night. A few intro hiccups and clunky new song debuts aside, high energy interspersed with much shredding.
Score: 1
malachi , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
malachi Crosseyed thru Meatstick was straight fire.

Slow Llama was nice nice very nice.

The Line is straight cheese tho IMHO. There's always a heated debate on the Kush Bush chat when this comes on about whether Phish or Trey knows a lot of people dislike this song and then there's the folks that love this song. Nonetheless, it's not one of my fav jammys. It's actually kind of jam band cringe worthy for me personally. If others love it that's cool I'm not judging. Please don't hate me for not liking the song The Line. We're still pham.

One other thing, I like Mike's Grooves to be really ">" worthy, like with a Simple or Hydrogen involved, but that's just me. I think of Mike's like I think of GD's Help>Slip>Franklin's. I don't mind them mixing it up but when the Groove stops and they play two ballads and then go into Weekapaug like we've been Mike's Groovin' the whole time seems a little dishonest musically. Like going from the end of Farmhouse to the Weekapaug "blap" is kind of a stretch dance wise. I'm not being critical just expressing my personal Phish listening aesthetic.

The Hood encore was an awesome way to close out the night.
Score: 2
malachi , attached to 2016-06-29 Permalink
malachi Crosseyed thru Meatstick was straight fire.

Slow Llama was nice nice very nice.

The Line is straight cheese tho IMHO. There's always a heated debate on the Kush Bush chat when this comes on about whether Phish or Trey knows a lot of people dislike this song and then there's the folks that love this song. Nonetheless, it's not one of my fav jammys. It's actually kind of jam band cringe worthy for me personally. If others love it that's cool I'm not judging. Please don't hate me for not liking the song The Line. We're still pham.

One other thing, I like Mike's Grooves to be really ">" worthy, like with a Simple or Hydrogen involved, but that's just me. I think of Mike's like I think of GD's Help>Slip>Franklin's. I don't mind them mixing it up but when the Groove stops and they play two ballads and then go into Weekapaug like we've been Mike's Groovin' the whole time seems a little dishonest musically. Like going from the end of Farmhouse to the Weekapaug "blap" is kind of a stretch dance wise. I'm not being critical just expressing my personal Phish listening aesthetic.

The Hood encore was an awesome way to close out the night.
Score: 4
Login Register