Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

tubescreamer , attached to 1999-07-04 Permalink
As noted, the segue from Ghost>Slave is an absolute must hear. Like none of its kind, these two songs merged together in lock-step. Don't be fooled, this is no segue from a normal kick-ass Ghost-- the nature of THIS Ghost, a wild and polyrhythmic psychedelic masterpiece-- utilizing effects rarely if ever used this way, is the onramp for the Slave To The Traffic Light that continues this tone and other-worldly sense of time. It winds its way up the mountaintop without ever letting go of it. It appears Trey gets so far out there that he loses track of time and calls Slave short by a couple bars. Trey goes on to play The Horse and Silent in his own world-- his guitar work is greatly different than normal for these songs where the expectation is complete accuracy. They could be taken as played wrong but he isn't off, he in his own world and what we get is a type II ending to Silent-- some incredibly in the moment guitar work.

What's the use is the perfect backwash to the super nova of the opening couplet.

As for Wilson, remember this is just under a week before the canonized Camden 7/10 show which featured some gnarly exploratory work-- this one goes much deeper, so deep that Trey gets lost in his own world again and forgets his lyrics-- THIS leads to one of the most riotous "CAN YOU STILL HAVE FUNN" sequences ever-- must hear. Put this part when you gotta get your day going.

Mike's song puts an almost happy breather to the madness and then plods into similar territory that ghost does, but doesn't stay long before the happy breather genre king-- Sleeping Monkey, appears.

Weekapaug is just a simple stroll, basking in the glow of what just happened.

Carini reminds everyone that the madness aint over yet.

Meatstick in 99 meant something else than it does now.

And a classy and choreographed firework show to Star Spangled Banner has the crowd in a ferocious bliss to close out the night.
Score: 0
PhishSticks12 , attached to 2014-03-02 Permalink
PhishSticks12 Loved the jamming in this. Mike's band was very fluid. Keyboards were unreal. Great show. I'd love to see again.

Venue was ok. There was a bar and quite a few of the people behind me were plastered drunk and shouting during the second set. Other than that all was great. The Ether encore really was a cool thing to hear having just listened to Overstep.
Score: 0
8thTube , attached to 1994-04-16 Permalink
My first show, 20 years ago today. Page's piano solos in Lizards and Coil, the energy of Jim & Antelope and YEM with the vibration... All of these songs became cemented as favorites thanks to this show. I went to 'better' shows later, and it's trite to say it at this point, but your first show is always special!
Score: 0
chrismcguire634 , attached to 1998-08-11 Permalink
chrismcguire634 This funk dripping Wolfman's is a lesson in communication, patience and booty shaking. The segue into Time Love's A Hero is the icing on the cake. If you wanna instantly have a good day, check this show out. 1998 is a great year for the phunk. Bootsy, Mr. Brown and Hancock would all approve this show.
Score: 0
chrismcguire634 , attached to 1998-07-28 Permalink
chrismcguire634 This version of The Moma Dance almost makes me not miss Black-Eyed Katy...... Almost. Unfortunately, 1998 is a year that is often eclipsed by the groundbreaking music made the year previous. It's shows like this one that remind me of the amazing and inspired "laid-back" groove approach that is seen all throughout this period. If ever I'm in the mood to relax, reflect, read or study, a show from this era fits perfectly. Anyway, check out this show and definitely take note of Moma Dance.
Score: 0
headyburritos , attached to 2013-07-26 Permalink
headyburritos Great show from start to finish, but then, when is a show at the Gorge not great? The first set got things started off right with some rarities and antics from the band, including the start of all the Wilson-Phish business. The second set is where the meat and potatoes is, and it's a close call between this show and the next night as to which one is stronger.

The opening Crosseyed is spectacular and jammy. The band moves nicely through the second set, playing many songs that have become staples in the 2013 rotation. Twist, Steam (!!), Waves, 20YL, Mango, Bowie - all great jams that the band has locked down in the past year or two.

I've always enjoyed Rocky Top so I was glad to hear that one again. The Character Zero to close out the set included some fun howling at the moon antics that got everyone in the crowd all jazzed up for what would turn out to be a great run of shows all the way down to the Hollywood Bowl.

The encore - what else is there to say? Hood > Fire ?? It's a dream encore, and seems like something they pull out for special shows like the Gorge. I'd never seen a Hood encore so that was a treat, and to top it off, they play a Hendrix cover that I'd been aching for! I supposed at the time, and still do, that they played Fire as a nod to the huge forest fires that were happening just across the Columbia River gorge, which many fans will remember as causing them to take a huge detour on the way south to Tahoe a few days later.

All in all, a great show to kick off leg two of Summer tour! They only get better from here...
Score: 0
DaReba , attached to 1992-11-22 Permalink
The boys played Ithaca a lot at the Haunt. I do believe this is their only show at Cornell and as a Dead Fan its pretty cool to hear them play here. they for sure know the legend of Barton Hall 5/8/77 . if you're not a Dead fan listen to the second set and you will be.
Buried =Oh Kee Pa=Suzy all were high energy.
You can tell Trey is pumped when he starts the Fee verse without the mega phone at first and remembers half way then the band backs off as he sings the verses. nice fee into maze which they've done a few times.
This MAze starts on fire. Trey strums alittle harde and Fish is drumming with purpose. Page's solo is deep and dark with him and mike feeding each other. The whole band is on fire . Their sound is hug then trey comes thru with a sick display of guitar work. He is loud piercing and locked with Fish. Page adding accents and the maze chords makes this a classic!
I love old Reba's becaus ethe song is sooo strange for its time. This is a perfectly played orchestrated part. Trey is loud and clear and those wierd chords are out front and his atonal genius is front and center
Score: 0
SoularT , attached to 2013-10-29 Permalink
Great show. Some highlights:

DWD: This has become one of my favorite DWD. Such a patient jam with so many discoveries along the way!
YEM: Instrumental jam just clicks. That's what I like right dere! Vocal jam's a lotta fun as always (not the best vocal jam i've heard musically, but the other jamming makes up for it and this is truly a spectacular YEM)! Definitely a must listen.
PIPER: Great jam that combines the tightness of a 73 jam with the spaciness of 97-98 with a Segwe into a nice BDTNL!

This has become one of my favorite shows to listen to!
Score: 0
SoularT , attached to 2013-12-29 Permalink
What a show. Every note was perfectly placed. The band flowed from one song (interestingly none of which was a cover) flawlessly. And went to some dope-ass places in the process.

First set is beautifully executed. Again, every note feels perfect. Also, "The Line" is a wonderful song. I really dig that song! Anyway, such beautiful, cohesive, group-mind playing in the composed sections of every song. And the jamming - most notably in "It's Ice," gives us a taste (a delicious, filthy, wonderful taste) of the balls out, raw, blissful, stuff that's coming in the second set. Walls of the Cave closes it out, and that song is absolutely beautiful, as always. First set kicked ass.

Second Set was some of the most pure, filthy, weird, blissful, unified, and delicious playing I have heard in a while. The DWD speaks for itself. I will be listening to that DWD for the rest of my life. The last Carini of 2013 is, IMHO, the best. Paige and Trey weren't taking any shit from anyone in that thing jam. Holy crap I love you guys. After Carini, one song floats boldly and smoothly into the next (and who doesn't love a Possum encore?), culminating in arguably the best show of 2013 (I said arguably doe)

Can't wait for summer 2014. It's a great time to love Phish.
Score: 1
Hopoff_Rolldown , attached to 2014-04-05 Permalink
Great show, as noted above. Drove from Maine for this one and glad I did. Band was locked, Mike was smiling, the venue intimate and the crowd came to boogie. I won't miss any future chances to catch these guys play; Here's hoping this incarnation keeps at it.

...and the FLACs are now up on etree.org! Go get 'em.
Score: 0
DaReba , attached to 1995-06-28 Permalink
The guy above who reviewed this show is right. There were a lot of suburban high schoolers there. I was one of them. I had just graduated High school. My best buddy calls says he's got 'goodies for the mind'( it was my first time for TWO things this night ;-) ) and tix for phish. do I wanna come? I had maybe 5 Phish tapes at this point and a bunch of Dead and at this point still thought The Dead was where it's at.
Jones Beach Amp is a pretty place to see a show . you looking at the stage look right into the ocean behind the stage. but the security there has gotten worse over the years. These shows were probably the last where you could drink in the parking lot there . I think they have stopped serving alcohol altogether there or was never allowed. It didn't matter to me I was doing just fine:-)
the Axilla at the time seemed to me out of place with the mood because people were still coming in. Foam hit that sentiment perfectly . It turns out to be 11 minutes long. Some real good examples of the band listening to each other here. There's a general rule to the band that the quieter they bring themselves in the beginning of the jam the louder and crzier than jam will get. Its not a hard and fast rule but I've yet to come across a jamm where Trey will bring the band to silence and the jam doesn't end on fire. This Foam is the band stretching out .and by this time everybody was in for a dramatic Fast Enough for you. One of my fav ballads in all of music. the sun was going down but it was still sort of light outside so the lights were'nt a factor but you could still see the water behind the stage and the song fit perfectly.
Trey's tone is sorta muddy and whiny but sharp and definite. Like a saxaphone. My mom always said saxaphones sound like a man begging and here Trey's guitar sounds like a man begging.
REBA! From here on in this show is classic material. Filling out this setlist on j-card was a pleasure! the orchestrated part is played perfectly. the crowd was into it and it was getting dark so chris could play some too! the staggered chase like part right before the jam was perfect and then the jam and guess what happens he brings the band down low. It almost sounds like the 6/23/95 reba and tis because of the decision by Page to use the rhodes in the beginning of the jam.
the waterloo 6/23/95 reba is amazing. This is ok. by itself Its fantastic to start this show for reals. No whistling
PYITE. Another good sign. Every time I've seen a PYITE it was a great show. solid. By the time Stash started it was almost dark and the water was reflecting lights.
Again flawless written section. Very creepycomputerrock I call the written part of Stash when its played loud and Trey's guitar tone is how it is on this tour. Trey immediatley gives the jam a theme . No real noodling. Trey and mike just see who can rock that theme on its ass. They get into an atonal groove with Mike repeating a figure and I just remember hearing air and thinking "what song is this?!?" then Trey throws out the theme again in another key and Mike takes that and gets you atonal latin rockin. PAge and Fish are laying that flying building of metal sound they perfected in '94 and then Trey screams us back into what we know is Stash! Then its Fish who loses it on the toms. Its like a robot falling down a mountain and we're in atonal rock space again until Trey screams us back in by holding a notes for almost a minute while Mike tries his best to pull us back into that robot falling down a mountain and Trey finally stops pushing pedals and delivers one of my favorite endings to Stash. operatic . scary. AWESOME. One of the best Stashes ever!
Then Fluffhead. its dark at this time. Im off to the right side of the amphitheatre right next to the water. Me and my friend had dance our way to an open area. So happy we did. This was my first religious experience at a concert
Every time they said Fluffhead my head floated into the water lol
By this time the crowd was super pumped and the powerful pills part even on listening to the recordings had an extra oomph to it.
TheFluff's Travels starts out s little sloppy Trey makes up for it though. He nails the Chase parts with Page ( who never seems to flub these parts lol) I remember somehow Chris lighting the friggin water behind the stage , on purpose or not it made this song feel like its own universe. The spotlight on PAge for a solo then the madness befor Check it out lol Jones Beach is a very cozy place. At this point it felt like we were in a jazz club in the downtown NYC . This was really page's show especially when you hear the Gumbo in the second Set. He kills all his solo on Fluffhead though. He sounds amazing. During the bundle of joy you feel the crowd wanting to just explode. Wipe those Fluffballs off your head!! we went bananas. Fish let us know from the start they were going to rock this one straight with his high-hat which they did. On tape its an alright jam. The Clifford Ball Fluffhead is my fav. In person it was outstanding then right into Chalkdust.
the last two songs took up 30 min . you should almost see this jam as a continuiation of Fluff's. Trey again goes right at it. he was quick with the themes and Page was just perfect as rythm piano laying a backdrop that trey just was bouncing off of wrapping around. we danced pretty hard. The band was on fire.
Second Set. Sample into poor heart is an opening you can live with after that first set. What follows is a MONSTER TWEEZER. clocks in at 30 minute with a DAve's Energy Guide in the middle. the first since 91. and a cannonball jamI had no idea at the time though. I just thought they were having the time of their lives on stage. I had moved closer aand to the middle. The whole place was bumpin' on some real positive energy lol Page went to his clav early . You could hear how funky they COULD get (and will 2 years later)
keeping with Trey's moaning guitar tone, he takes us down a slow groove in the beginning and Mike says I've had enough of that lol they clumsily follow Mike and then basically stop playing, while they figure out where all this is going ;-) this is literally jamming. I was definitley in the right frame of mind for this. It made sense and flowed a lot more when I was there. on tape its a disjointed, clumsy,music experiment. Fish drops a beat at the 13 minute mark and something resembling a song springs up with Trey coming up with a sick lick it almost sounds like they are about to go int Free but trey and fish hit on something and the band follows. Trey strums the guitar like the beginning of Llamma and fish kicks a quick beat and they ride this as they should because it was cool. It gets into 97 territory then into a a sick (what I now know is ) Dave's Energy Guide. I'm pretty sure this is the part of Tweezer I remember flowing lol .On tape its sorta similar to the stash jam in the first set. from DEG it gets weirder .then into a Cannon ball where try actually sings some words.
The Gumbo I remember being all Page. he killed the end. the crowd was jacked
This Sparkle made sparkle my favorite song for years.
High Energy Suzy.
The Sweet Adeline was awesome. The only other thing they could've done tonight was switch instruments
Score: 0
dave78 , attached to 1997-08-09 Permalink
To the previous poster who claimed this show is no way special. What this show has that many (most?) of the summer '97 shows lack, at least in spots, is flow.

While there isn't a single song that can lay claim to being an all time great, the yang is that every song is played somewhere between well and great. It's not like anyone's off at all. There are no flubs here.

Ghost>Taste, Reba, Foam, and Slave were all closer to great. PYITE, Crossroads, Wilson, Mike's, Simple were just good.

Scent was incredible from up close, pungent from afar.

Slave was perfectly placed. It managed to capture the energy of the whole night, then build it back up into an excited, celebratory Weekapaug. (during which Trey took the time to point out how much fun the place is, 2nd time playing there)

But back to flow: The opening song of each set was a perfect stage setter. The goodness of Wilson as a second set opener requires no explanation. (breaking into a surprising Foam makes it all the better)

Theme on the other hand has always struck me as a strange, low energy opener. But at Alpine Valley? It was perfect. 40,000 very happy fans piled high, kinda sunk into the show just before the sun went down. The mellow opening, complete with pauses practically begs you to look around and smile while acclimating to beat. There was that x10,000 in the pavilion. The song itself was played very well. The people were happy.

So was it the greatest show ever? Of course not. But it's certainly special amongst many good and some mediocre summer '97 Phishing.
Score: 0
DaReba , attached to 1994-05-08 Permalink
I love Jim openers. After the night before I'm sure this was a nice light groove they could lay into . It sounds beautiful. The crowd is pretty quiet.
but once the JAm start all you hear is Fish flying all over the place and Page's fingers buggin out like this is a third set from the Bomb Factory. Trey is content to just ride the train typical of the 94 sound. I've been trying to come up with a name for it .SonicTrain Rock. FlyingBuilding Funk. This is a great example of it. Santana famously called trey a hose watering the phans. He sparys all over this one and the bend is as tight ( but loose) as you could get. Great opener. The crowd level is markedly different.
When Fish starts Foam there whistles from those in the know but its obvious its not a northeast show. You can hear a pin drop during the orchestrated parts . Once page starts to jam its like they're at the Blue NOte. or in Europe. Page finishes and Trey rightly brings the band to complete silence lol hilarious. they come back and they just sound so
pretty. The end is fantastic for Foam.
Again though the place is quiet in between songs.
Axilla gets the place rockin. Was the first song I ever heard Phish play live 6/28/95 but it was part two, which I like better because of the line "The weapons in they're hooves revolved!" so dramatic and detailed.
Very interesting Mike intro to DWD. Trey takes rock star status . Instead of laying into the flying hose of music frame they get into in 94 his guitar is clearly in the forefront of this jam and we benefit. Trey goes nanners. Lets us know who's who and what's what. The crowd shows love and they take us into bouncing that gets recointion from the crowd
Stash is starts and it was cute to hear the 20 or so people who clapped during the song!
This stash jam starts like none I've ever heard. I remember hearing on a 93 tape trey remarking how he liked that the audience was nice and quiet. The band immediatley takes trey's theme and you can tell we're going on a ride. Mike and Trey shine here but the band is bouncing off the walls . They show why they are the masters of tension and release. Fish doesn't go nuts but uses his cymbals to gently push the song. Mike has a bass episode in the middle which is fun. you forget what song they're playing and then an atom bomb is dropped or more like sprayed on you the last like 2 minutes and you here stash in there. and then "MAybe So, MAybe Not".
laid back 2001 starts the second set. The crowd you sense is finally giving the band some spiritual energy. Its repaid with am Antelope.
Trey lets this one come to him. Riding that 94 SONICTRAIN . when he takes the jam over its with a purpose with Mike. They both are trading licks and its awesome. Trey and Mike are in the same octave its almost like two basses while fish keeps the beat steady and dance worthy. Then they turn left. It gets to that computer funk jam. Repeated figures over Fish. Ear candy for Antelope fans. Mike teased something you could tell ( Mystery Achievement Isee lol) then trey changes the rhythm and then back to running. at about 10 minutes in I had earvisions of the Campus Club 3/31/92 BBFAntelopes From mars. If you ever heard that Antelope imagine that crazy franticness without the band stopping to say the words of BBFCFM. At 12 min you're on a Guyute type ride back into the Antelope theme but on steroids and crystal meth. Its ice and fee are cool the rest of the show could be its own classic set on paper
Julius. You know trey is going to murder this after what he did to Stash, Antelope,DWD. This period to me is marked by how Trey recognized how large their sound had gotten and that if he just sat back and was a gentleman about it they could take the top of your head off.
Cavern cool. YEM!! the crowd is still quiet while they are playing but this is a different quiet. This is rapt attention.
This is BEautiful music. Trey changes the voice on his guitar for the solo during the orchestrated part. Never heard him do that before.
Very interesting jam. Again Trey brings the band to silence then he hits a pedal and we get a nice little funk groove. but thats about it. HAlleys is short and sweet.
GTBT one of their best covers. lots of energy. if you'd been listening to them in 93 you know they tear this apart so I'd be pumped to hear what they are gonna do to this song on this night. They did not disappoint. At one point Trey and Mike let us know they are of one mind. then trey and Fish let us know. then trey and Page's organ and then back to all four bouncing around your brain. sick . 3 stars cuz crowd level was weak and some sloppy stuff
Score: 1
DaReba , attached to 1994-04-15 Permalink
Llama openers are always a good sign. You don't need to look too hard to see if the boys were pumped. Its the upper west side of Manhattan!
A First set Hood three songs in. the crowd gave the well deserved love throughout. The crowd gets to clapping and Fish gets to tapping then off we go!! worth a listen to hear Fish's cymbals at the end but trey beast as usual and makes us feel good about Hood.
Classic Wilson!! for sure the first time the crowd chanted Wilson. You can hear them wanting to do something after that crazy Hood. its awesome to hear the claps, then a few wilsons, then the whole crowd. I was at the Letterman awning show when they played Wilson on Broadway and had people screaming Wilson in midtown manhattan! pretty crazy. This is almost as interesting only cuz I wasn't at this show lol they lay into this Wilson though. The crowd is very into it and then
ChalkDust! always a ride. After what we just heard you're pumped to hear hat they do to this song. for good reason. Trey, after bringing the band to a halt lol takes this song in place nothing resembling Chalkdust at all for about 2 min and then you're like whoooo hooooo!!! pretty sick . good insight to the control they had over all their songs at this point. bouncin and ice are cool and you accept them after the set they've just played
This Disease is pretty much where they take the song this year . If you listen to the DWD at sugarbush at the end of summer tour its pretty similar in that they get to that one big sonic music train where fish's ride and bass drum pulse a solid frame for page and trey to dance like charged stardust in outer space. Great ending by trey. You can just see him smiling head back spraying the crowd drenched in lights. Awesome set closer.
Maze is a great Second set opener. They should do it more.
Page is ready. That hammond is so thick and luscious. Fish is just a beast this whole show but he shines here. creating a pulsing shadow for Pages murky organ to creep in Mike is glued to Fish. Trey is living out his Bob Weir fantasy. i love his rhythm geetar work here. The chords he throws out are perfect. before you know it you're out somewhere and don't know how they gonna bring you back but Trey throws out some chords they catch it and its on Trey's guitar moans and Trey wrangles it and its back to classic '94 rockTrain Phish. again they just become a sonic train barreling into your ears and mind. Then Gordon takes over for a sec and you realize again this is a song and not the sound of my brain hitting my skull! wish I couldve seen the lights. cuz this gets bananas!!! SONIC ROCK OPERA. BEAST METAL TRAIN ROCK when trey finally plays those classic maze jam lick at the end your kneck is soar from the rockin' . if not you were just stuck still in place at what you just heard. You could hear the NYC crowd in awe of these guys. People are laughing giddy like this is thi ish!!
I love If I could but here after that maze you're lik eh until the end of Oh kee Pa and the horns come out, "Straight from Gamehendge!!" according to Trey lol and the crowd goes nanners.
The rest of the show is standard GCH set fare. Lovely. I 5 stared it because they showed up to NYC layed it on the line and blew the roof off the muthasucka . They coulda stopped at maze
Score: 1
lsdane , attached to 2005-04-27 Permalink
lsdane What can be said about this Foam that would do it justice...hard to imagine. Following the temporary demise of Phish, none of us knew if/when/how we were going to get to hear so many of the songs which had become so intrenched in each of our (and the collective) psyche(s). This 54 minute Foam, planned or spontaneous, answered those questions with resounding force. The GRaB Trio turned the relatively rigid structure of Foam into the most supple and pliable of materials, slipping in and out of its grasp with a nimbleness and vision the song might never have seen before. This is a testimony not to what Foam could be, but to what it is, regardless of whether we or the other members of Phish are aware of it, regardless of whether it is ever played with such gusto and abandon again.

This is a Foam for the ages. To call it a 'must' listen version is to miss the point. It doesn't demand your attention. Your attention demands it.
Score: 0
Login Register