Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

BigBrotherD , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
It should be noted that, during The YEM shenanigans, after the Trey/Mike two headed guitar monster (which, incidentally, reminded me a great deal of the '97 Virginia Beach Multibeast), and while Trey was back messing around on Fish's kit, Mike joined Page in Keyboard world and played some organ while Page attempted (considerable less effectively) to thump on Mike's bass. The end.
Score: 0
bobbyluv , attached to 2004-06-23 Permalink
The segue from Nothing>>>46 Days was one of the more awkward and biggest example of bad chemistry I think I may have ever witnessed (outside of Coventry).
It had some bad juju for sure. A tug of war, of sorts, between Mike and Trey with Mike giving up.
Certainly not with the results akin to the tug of war they had with Melt and 2001 from Holmdel '99, unfortunately.
Score: 0
flyfamousmandybird , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
If you chase Phish you get it. I believe there are 4 superwizards of sound that know how to play their four parts as a single sound and vibration which resonates from their collaboration. The sound seems as if its controlled by a supermind as if the speed of thought is faster than the speed of light and that their four minds are joined in one entity. All controlled by what is seemingly one super mind. They can do that on their backs while air bicycling or on trampolines pedestals or confronted by dangling dancers or right in each others faces and when they take it to that level, the whole audience the fan fire the energy right back into a frenzy.. Seeing the yem in Inglewood was tough b/c I couldn't see through the tears of joy. Watching mike step up and rock the lead gave me goosebumps. So good. A mini Walfredo, or at least that's what I'm calling it, is what I remember next. Playing each others instruments made me laugh better than most comedians and they made it look so easy. So easy that they almost appeared bored, and all the while a raging y.e.m. was being funked out. After Mike took the lead Trey walked up on him and I thought Trey was getting egotistical for a second when he quickly changed guitars while reverse hugging Mike, that is hugging his shoulders from behind and they proceeded to funk out on each others guitars for awhile. At this point I could barely see b/c of joy or hear through my hyena laugh and I was in ecstasy because the music was so on point. At some point during this song mike cranks his amp(finally) and I thought (yes, yes, yes, this is good) with every cell in my body. Holding off to the end allowed all that built up energy during the show to focus being California huge vibrations for long periods of a time may not be the smartest way to reduce manmade triggered earthquakes so I get it but I liked bend because mike played loud the whole time. Back to my point, waiting until the last 10 minutes caused a roar to emerge from the crowd , the back and forth interplay of the woo jam in dwd was revisited briefly and I completely enjoyed writing this from memory, pardon any errors in chronology.
Score: 0
flyfamousmandybird , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
If you chase Phish you get it. I believe there are 4 superwizards of sound that know how to play their four parts as a single sound and vibration which resonates from their collaboration. The sound seems as if its controlled by a supermind as if the speed of thought is faster than the speed of light and that their four minds are joined in one entity. All controlled by what is seemingly one super mind. They can do that on their backs while air bicycling or on trampolines pedestals or confronted by dangling dancers or right in each others faces and when they take it to that level, the whole audience the fan fire the energy right back into a frenzy.. Seeing the yem in Inglewood was tough b/c I couldn't see through the tears of joy. Watching mike step up and rock the lead gave me goosebumps. So good. A mini Walfredo, or at least that's what I'm calling it, is what I remember next. Playing each others instruments made me laugh better than most comedians and they made it look so easy. So easy that they almost appeared bored, and all the while a raging y.e.m. was being funked out. After Mike took the lead Trey walked up on him and I thought Trey was getting egotistical for a second when he quickly changed guitars while reverse hugging Mike, that is hugging his shoulders from behind and they proceeded to funk out on each others guitars for awhile. At this point I could barely see b/c of joy or hear through my hyena laugh and I was in ecstasy because the music was so on point. At some point during this song mike cranks his amp(finally) and I thought (yes, yes, yes, this is good) with every cell in my body. Holding off to the end allowed all that built up energy during the show to focus being California huge vibrations for long periods of a time may not be the smartest way to reduce manmade triggered earthquakes so I get it but I liked bend because mike played loud the whole time. Back to my point, waiting until the last 10 minutes caused a roar to emerge from the crowd , the back and forth interplay of the woo jam in dwd was revisited briefly and I completely enjoyed writing this from memory, pardon any errors in chronology.
Score: 0
phrench , attached to 2015-07-22 Permalink
phrench Listening to the second set again last night has prompted me to register and leave my first review here. Despite including only one true jam (and not a big one actually), this set is awesome. The opening ASIHTOS/Waves/Wingsuit combo is top-notch, a melancholy trip to remind us that the band plays great tunes, not just great jams, and they play them with style (Fish in particular is great here). The ">" between Waves and Wingsuit feels so good I think it should count as a true "->", even though the two songs are clearly demarcated. The eerie opening to Wingsuit emerges beautifully from the dissolution of the preceding Waves.

Farmhouse lifts the mood a bit, but still retains (at least to me) a nostalgic tone that suits this second set very well. Then who can resist Simple, especially a jammed-out Simple? It has already been remarked upon, and rightly so. A high-energy First Tube propels the set to a screaming end, and good night. Oh no, here comes Bathtub Gin as an encore; the band exsudes confidence, Page is having quite some fun, as does the audience singing along.

If you're mostly interested in titanic jams, the next show at Shoreline will probably best suit you, but this second set is extremely coherent and could stand on its own as some kind of concept album by some progressive band (and of course there is no lack of solos by Trey and rich interplay between the boys). I have played the first set only once, but it has already been noted that it is quite unique in its song selection. So, as a whole, this concert should be remembered as a high-density performance by four awesome musicians. I find its current rating of 3.85 or so quite unjustifiably low.
Score: 0
Shafiq , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
Iíve made no secret of it to everyone I know that 7/27/14 is my favorite show ever and the best one Iíll ever go to. Though I think Big Cypress tops it, the second night at Merriweather is the 2nd best show Phish has ever played. I donít think itís an argument.

There are two different feelings, though.

With Big Cypress, it truly feels like that is it. You always ask the band to play more, and that night/morning they left it all onstage in the 8 hours they played. It is a rite of passage into being a fan of the band, but be careful because it might taint your experience for all future shows to come. There isnít and wonít be any show like it to compare to. Itíll always be on the Mount Rushmore of Phish shows.

With MPP night 2, you still walked away really wanting to go to the next show. It was still in the middle of the summer 2014 tour. It was like, oh my god these guys might play shows like this at Orange Beach, Tuscaloosa, and Alpharetta, weíd be dumb to miss out. Though you also walked away thinking you could never go to a Phish show again and be happy (my buddy Dave felt that way after the first set!).

Though Big Cypress is on a level of its own and MPP2 is a standard 2-set + an encore show, both have something in common. Itís that you step away after listening to the show thinking, what in the world just happened???
You were there. You knew the songs. Theyíve played them many times before.

But they did it again.

Left completely speechless, thereís pretty much nothing to say in the moment because youíve never experienced anything like that. All you know is you are extremely overjoyed.

A year later, I have some thoughts to share that I couldnít muster up at the time.

That was the night where I realized the music in and of itself can leave you floored. It can take everyone in the room to another realm and take every individual on their own fun little journey. It wasnít the words, it was the instruments that were doing all the talking.

But this is also why people have a hard time explaining the band.

Not many people are well versed and fluent in musical language. We have to try to translate what literally happened to what figuratively happened.

I couldnít even begin to try to explain to you the modulations in that set. Nor could I begin to explain to you why they made me put my hands on my head. It just did.

Also, because music is subjective, itís hard to show someone a feeling. We understand love, we donít fully understand why a band going from A -> F -> A makes us go insane. Someone might prefer D major and you might prefer minor. But we donít speak that way.

At the same time, Iíd feel kind of nerdy if after the show people talked about how key changes made them put their hands on their head.

My mother, brother and sister in law came to Maryland that night and I didnít care. I had work the next day but I didnít care.

What I now know is that itís not worth trying to share my experience with people who donít share the same interests as me (itís a waste of energy), but that I should share in the groove with people who do. That will make me happier. That will make me present.

For those five hours, this was all that mattered and this was my escape from everything.

I walked in hoping for either something similar to Bomb Factory or Tahoe. By God did I get it, and by God was it everything I asked for and more.

The night before, I took a bathroom break in the second set during Sing Monica.

That night, there was absolutely no good time to get up from your seat outside of set break. From first note to last, you were captivated. The band was locked in. The crowd was locked in. The energy was unreal. It was a musical spectacle unlike anything Iíve ever experienced.

I have met people since then in the DC/Maryland area and somehow we get to talking about Phish. And somehow someone will ask if one of us went to that show. And somehow both of us start freaking out and talking about five Tweezers and a Reprise.

Itís something special. None of us who care will ever forget it.
Score: 0
RunawayJim4180 , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
RunawayJim4180 The Scene: Made it over to the Forum around 6:30, so I missed the .net meetup (again!), but someday I will make it to see all of you great phans. Shakedown was cool, hung out with some vendors and snagged a Fall 2014 t-shirt with the California Bear on the front. I was surprised at how full the lot was, a big difference from last year.
Was on the floor in front of Mike for the first set of this one, right next to Bill Walton for most the second set, then snuck right behind the stage for the YEM encore and snapped some amazing photos.

The Good: For a show that would count Number Line as one of the main highlights, you may scratch your head at why such strong reviews, but there was some serious heat throughout.
Martian Monster: I was Halloween in Vegas and will maintain that was the best Martian likely to ever be played, but this one really got the crowd moving to kick it off.
DWD: No time wasted in this one, straight to the point and a little uplifting groove to continue the momentum.
Heavy Things: This one is a keeper. Trey had a strong solo here and the rest of the set took off from there.
Axilla: Head banging fun!
555: Funkdafied!
Limb: This was awesome, reggae dance party eruption in the Forum. I looked around and was floored by the sea of groovy appreciation.
Ya Mar: I loved this song selection to keep the vibe going. Solid take and some fun antics from Trey and Mike (windmill kicks on the floor)
Fuego: Nice lead up into>
Walls of the Cave: This was the first time in a while I've seen the head banging Trey that we all know and love. This version absolutely smoked and was the clear highlight of the first set for me. Wow!

The entire second set. Every note is worth a listen, but standout versions of No Men, Number Line, and the Slave/YEM combo to close the show was beautifully played. Tremendous peak in the YEM and the crowd went ballistic during the Trey/Mike "duel" (if you could call it that).

The Bad: Some over zealous security were annoying, but the worst was the spun out blonde chick next to me throwing glowsticks directly at Mike, and hitting him square in the neck with one during Walls (and subsequently high fiving her friends like it some sort of accomplishment) I laid into her, only to be intercepted by her boyfriend (who looked like Odd Job from James Bond) telling me "Its her first show, relax dude" as if that's any reason to forgive her for being an idiot. I made my peace with him after he apparently told her to stop, only to see her fire another glow stick (big one this time, not one of those small numbers) which hit Mike in the foot. I stared into his eyes and said "I hope this show is her last" and walked away fuming. Friends, don't let shit like this happen and let it go. Its not funny or cool to throw things at the band, ever, Noob or not.

Finally: This was a smoking hot show full of the sharp, precision playing of yesteryear (someone pointed out 92-93, which sounds about right). Come for the first set Martian and Walls and stay for the entire second set. Thanks Phish!
Score: 5
bluewater42 , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
It has been exactly one year since the infamous 7/27/2014 MPP2 show and I have listened to this show no less than fifty times, so I wanted to take a few minutes to provide my own review of the show. I do not necessarily have anything additional to offer as far as critique of the music that has not already been said; rather my review is more of a personal account.

My first Phish show was Atlanta 1998 and at the time I was not really into Phish, but went on the road with three of my friends for the experience before I left for the military. The show was pretty good and totally different than any other show I had been to. I remember calling Crackliní Rosie off the first few notes and walked away with Prince Caspian being one of my favorite songs from the show.

From there I didnít go to another Phish show until the two 2013 MPP shows, followed by 2014 MPP shows and the Birmingham show sitting with the same friends from the 1998 show. To prep for my return to Phish, in 2013 I had started making my way through each and every Phish show available via the fromtheaquarium YouTube channel, although I knew I would not be up to date on the current stuff.

Fast forwarding to 7/27, I remember thinking to myself that the energy was much different than the night before, but really had no idea what that meant. Starting off with the flubbed Fee followed by Curtain really set things off on the right course and I was happy to just have those two songs regardless of whatever came afterwards. 46 Days through Bouncing were pretty straight forward, although I really enjoyed Sand and liked the way things were flowing. I didnít recognize Saw It Again, but really enjoyed it and when it > into Fuego, I wasnít all that thrilled since Ďeveryone got a Fuegoí. Closing out with YEM in the first set was huge and made me wonder what the second set was going to offer.

Starting the second set with another giant, Wilson, was big since it carried the momentum from the first set into the second. Followed by TweezerÖI was sure it would be a good set, until Tweezer was cut short and -> BOTT, which I do really like, but not if it means Tweezer is minimized! From there, we all know what happened next, but being there on that segue roller coaster for the next 17 songs was sensory overload. As someone previously noted, the Tweezer > Waiting transition was perfection and gave everyone a breather before taking off again hitting a string of fan favorites, to include a very well done Catapult, a strong Slave (I always want Slave to go on for hours), funky DwD, extended NICU with what sounded like hints of HYHU. Fishman adding his personal flare to the not-so-fan favorite Jennifer Dances was perfect and the synchronized Been Around was just a picture-perfect end to the set.

The encore of Boogie was great since it was the first of the tour, although I wish they would have done something like a Frankenstein since thatís what that second set was in my opinion. Tweprise was such an amazing end as the entire place raged, folks popped confetti, and the boys knew they just killed it. Walking out, it was hard to remember what had happened in the first set and it honestly felt like I had just been to two different shows, knowing I/we had just witnessed something extremely special. It was an amazing experience and one I continue to relive via the audio and video of the show. Hereís to MPP 2015!
Score: 0
samsaraa , attached to 2015-07-24 Permalink
I just wanted to get a couple things clear, the 2nd set reads like this:

Blaze On >
Twist >
The Wheel Jam >
Light >
I Know You Rider Jam>
Joy
Harry Hood >
Cavern

E: Character Zero

The reviews that mention that these jams were "I Know You Rider esque" or "similar" to The Wheel are just wrong. These are straight up, out and out jams of these songs and there is no other way to describe them. Im not sure that the band could honor The Grateful Dead in a more respectful manner. In classic Phish form they have done the songs the ultimate justice without stepping on the toes of The Grateful Dead themselves or their faithful fans.

Kudos to the boys for once again keeping us on our toes and making us always pay attention. I, like many others, thought it was a foregone conclusion that they would bust out a few Dead tunes in light of the fact that Trey just played Santa Clara with the Fare The Well band a month earlier and that they were playing at, literally, the house that The Dead built. Well done gentlemen, we'll done. You have once again blown my expectations out of the water and reaffirmed that you just never know whats gonna happen at a Phish show.

Respectfully,
Samsaraa
Score: 4
Bradford33 , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
Bradford33 Thanks N00b100!

Finally somebody mentions the need for Tweezer -> My Friend!

I only caught the second set on stream and I wish I could have heard the first.

Trey especially is on point after FTW, and the rest of the band is keeping pace. So excited to hear them get even better as the tour rages on.
Score: 0
thinktankted , attached to 2015-07-22 Permalink
thinktankted Bathtub Gin is hilarious on several levels...Lyrically, of course with, people on window sills and kings climbing gates, purple humpback whales and jesters with sad tales...brilliantly non-sensical. Typical Trey picking words that sound good together, regardless of their meaning. Then there's the musical humor going on, from the Page intro, which sounds like the mutant child of Gershwin and Cage, to Trey's big-top inspired melody line that Fishman chimes in on....there's a lot to giggle at there. Make no mistake, it's totally on purpose...it seems like my favorite musicians are always closet comedians and cut-ups. With all that silliness, the song, at it's heart is full of space for the guys to throw down some serious jamming that really shows off their 30+ years of building musical "conversation skills."
Score: 1
luminous90 , attached to 2011-08-12 Permalink
I agree with a previous poster. This show is VERY underrated. In some ways, the festy crowd was nice, because many people left after the first set, which made it way easier to get close to the stage in the second set. In fact, this is probably the closest I have ever stood to the band for an entire set (but then again I've only seen about 20 shows).

While there may not be one jam or song that stands out, this was one of those shows that was consistently good nearly the entire night. A good setlist and a good flow. It deserves a better rating than slightly less than 3 1/2 stars (which it has as of the time of the writing of this review).
Score: 0
BeAFractal , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
I'll preface this by reiterating what a at least one other expressed: this band is on fire, and having a sustained peak that rolls along. I wasn't at the Bend shows, but saw half fall tour and New Year's, and at Shoreline they picked up in the same zone they were in in Miami.

The first set didn't seem to cohere to me, but Waiting All Night was as beautiful as I've heard, DWD got short shrift, and the last halves of Limb By Limb and Walls of the Cave were the real deal.

When I went back in at the start of the second set thinking Trey had brought back Dancing In the Streets. During the last half of Backwards Down the Number Line there were moments that brought to mind a spinning top that occasionally levitated in a pirouette. After one of these little flights, the stranger who'd been dancing on my right and I looked at each other and both said "WOW!" in that instant. High fives all around, my friends!
Score: 0
raidcehlalred , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
No Man's has infinite potential, and, when realized - and realized again and again - we'll be treated to some truly inspired sets. As it was, how great to see Carini ripped for Tweezer (and such a cool and thoughtful rendition at that). I was really interested to see where the set would lead; the segue into MFMF was as excellent as it was surprising. Back in the day I used to love the tune as a show opener. MM* took that spot here - more on that in a bit. This Friend was unfamiliar - the friend of a friend. A slow and patient intro; it works so well with the ideas which preceded it. At the same time, the song has enough history that you're left with a residual, if not visceral, bite. Such cool effects; it was like hearing the tune submerged underwater. And how best to carry on the set? Roggae the absolute perfect choice. Trey's playing is just so, so 'right.'

BDTNL.

Trey certainly plays well - as usual - the tune simply lacks that bit of mysticism. Some might complain; it could have been Caspian. Some might complain. A chill and dark Timber might have been perfect. But who is to say.

Thankfully there's the Slave.

Truly one of the 'new' sets (with newer and new songs) that really evoked some of the old vibe. Will be so cool if this is the climb towards the new plateau.

*Anything from that set is welcome. But it would be great to see a Cat / one of the other 'stiffer' zombie grooves at some point.

Love the absence of the Reprise; as if we need any more reasons to be excited for the next show.
Score: 0
louster200 , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
While listening to this stream last night I have to say that I was just beside myself by the energy coming from the place last night. I like what Bend and Shoreline both did with the comparison in the type of shows.

Bend had the killer jams (Twist, Hood) and Shoreline had the nasty segues and songs that never tried to take too much or give too much. The songs in the second set were exactly what were needed to be played. No more or less.

Carini had direction into Tweezer with a great segue and then almost flawlessly Tweezer's 'jam' section peaked and died down into My Friend My Friend. Oh! and the first set Fuego > Walls segue was beautifully set up by Page.

Last year's 7/25 was a segue fest that made it a 'pretty good' show. With the fire 2015 is bringing this year's 7/25 was another excellent show.
Score: -1
Login Register