Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Sanchez8484 , attached to 1994-06-18 Permalink
What can I say? This show is unquestionably in the top 5 shows of all time and might be my personal favorite. The whole band is on another level on this night, some of the most beautiful and stunning playing from EVERY band member in this show that leads to collective bliss. The way they build that snarling riff in Tweezer to full on HOSE, the MLB jam! good god maybe my all time favorite phish moment...it's all here. Only thing I can add is that even the version of McGrupp is stunning and the best I've heard- the way the band comes back in after Page's gorgeous solo is downright chill-inducing. Required listening.
Score: 0
RobotHeart , attached to 2015-07-24 Permalink
This was my first show, after a slow lead-up from learning about Phish because of Fare Thee Well, diving in with a list of "best of" jams and shows, and coming out the other side as the Phish fan that I am today. I can solidly say that it was somewhere between Blaze On and Cavern that I really started to fully get it.

To be real, I don't remember very much of the show, I just remember the experience of dancing on the lawn, watching the sun set, looking at the lights, and just grooving with the music. I had heard so much about how modern Phish was SO BAD - they can't jam anymore, Trey just ripcords everything, Mike isn't audible, Fishman is past his prime, Rage Side is now Age Side... but within a few minutes of the show starting, I realized that I didn't need to care about the grumpy musings of a 20+ year fan who is trying to relive their glory years. This was Phish, and this was good.

Let me be real - the music of Phish is intensely psychedelic, incredibly groovy, and immensely deep. It's an ocean. And the four guys standing on stage today have been doing it for years and years and years. They know what they are doing.

I would check out the Free and Reba from set one, but the rest of the songs are pretty standard. Kill Devil Falls stretched a bit, too, but not much. Standard ain't bad, but if you've heard a The Line, you've heard most of 'em. Also, as a side note, this was the first time I had heard this song and I do actually remember thinking, "Well... this is okay, I guess." The general disdain for that song might actually stretch beyond the grumpiest of grumps. I'll give Moma Dance a special shout-out for being the first song to get me really grooving and making me realize that it's all good, the moma dance eventually, gotta ride it while I can.

Blaze On is fantastic, stretching out for awhile before landing back in the chorus. Twist emerges from the space like an ooze, and it meanders around some delicious space before the Light comes out and cleans it all up. There is a perceptible I Know You Rider jam here, that even I caught while listening. (comedic side note: I thought "Free" was a Morning Dew cover. That's how much of their music I knew going in.) Joy was a great landing spot, and let us all ballad around for awhile, before we all got to feel good with the hood. I remember watching the glowsticks fly during the beautiful build and thinking, "Isn't that dangerous?" before picking up some that fell near me and sending them flying. Danger be damned, it looked pretty. Cavern was the icing on top of the cake, but it did cause a guy near me to get sad because "NOOO! IT WAS ONLY FIVE SONGS!" - something I got the significance of later. In fact, coming out of the show I realized, "Hey, that was... six songs. Isn't that good?"

Character Zero just about brought the whole place down. A Zero is a Zero, but a Zero is GOOD if you're ready for it. It's like a Tweeprise, except with less Tweeprise and more Character Zero. It's not going to change much show to show, but it's always going to burn the place down and it's time to dance, so GET TO IT!

If I were a spry 18 year old, I would have quit my job the next day and followed the rest of summer. However, I'm not, but I did nearly drive to LA. Someone had an extra on my way out they were trying to give away... if only.

This second set is a keeper. The first set is... kind of a keeper. It gives musical context for the second set, at least.
Score: 0
unoclay , attached to 1989-05-11 Permalink
unoclay I was not at this show, but met a fellow on tour who was telling me about it. It was his first show, he told me to look it up, and that all he can recall is that they played Foam. He was pretty certain about this, so perhaps we can confirm "Foam" as part of the unknown list.
Score: 0
Jayrizzledizzle , attached to 2016-07-22 Permalink
Talk about a band that knows how to sandbag and keep people salivating over what we all know they're capable of. I think these sets are planned to be straight forward song fests but as a musician I know for a fact there are on and off days. Im new here, but seems to me, they try very hard not to fit one description and always strive to be as diverse as possible. All about middle road: it takes as much, if not more musical talent to write a good, moving, song that lasts 4 minutes as it does to noodle around for 30 jamming on it (and I love improvisation). I haven't been around long but I've come to see these types of shows are gonna fall somewhere on the tour, the question is when and where will it happen so I can generally avoid them, cause I don't go to see phish for radio tunes, but I think I understand why they sandbag the jamming like this: it keeps us frothing at the mouth! Maybe they want to feel more calculated these days. Doesn't matter. I'll be there whenever they hit the road again.
Score: 2
GIANTSteps , attached to 2016-07-19 Permalink
Overall, another very solid show for SF. The boys love this venue and it shows. Always high energy, always LOUD, and almost always elicits the dark, spooky side of things - this show was no exception, giving the monumental 8/19/12 throwdown a run for it's money.

I'm surprised that only one other reviewer noted the tension/release jamming that really defined the flow of the entire show. All of the first set "jams" i.e., Theme, Cities, Maze, SOAM just built sooooo much tension that the room was just about to burst at the seams. I have the hardest time explaining that beautifully perfect yet somehow almost uncomfortable tension - like you're at the starting line of a race ready to explode at the sound of the gun. Yeah, they relieved a little pressure when Trey NAILED the 2nd peak of Maze, but otherwise they just let everyone sit on the built up tension and anticipation during set break.

DWD opened the 2nd set with more tension and the place was wound so tight and in such a frenzy, setting the stage perfectly for the flow that FINALLY came during Fuego>Ghost>SASS>Light. Night turned to day, the air got fresher, the room bigger and the vibe oh-so free and easy. Phishgasm. This is why I keep coming back.

No Quarter lit the place up like an early victory lap and you certainly can't get out of San Francisco in 3.0 without a Fluffhead - goddamn right!

Standard Bug and punchy First Tube nightcap made for a really solid show.

Highlights are well documented; probably only Ghost will be sought out and have high replay value. This to me is more one of those "had to be there" kind of shows with great ebb-flow/tension/release, no real lows, a couple legit bustouts, the ever-loved Fluffhead, and 100% really good music.

4.5/5 rounded up to 5 due to an amazing 2nd set that lands in my personal top 5 sets for shows attended.
Score: 1
Feetoid , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
Feetoid This was a killer show. I was in the lawn and the initial stunning sound and look of the place kinda reminded me of a show at Deer Creek. The low attendance factor on the other hand was reminiscent of Usana Amphitheater '03. That said the last time I was here in '14, dead center right behind the pit, never setting foot on the lawn; it was like I was at a completely different venue now. Looking back on both, I liked this lawn experience better. Perfect mellow slope, great view, sound and vibe.

Being originally from the midwest (I attended Farm Aid '98 and many a show in "Farmland") the opener was a little weird for me in a land of palm trees and no farms but it was well played. 555 heated things up. It's dark ending seems to be a great vehicle for the band to get warmed up, much like at Wrigley 2. Ghost was one of the best-and longest -1st set renditions I've heard (brought me back to 10/31/14 a little). The Ass Handed that followed (my first live) was when I knew this was gonna be a great show. Big jam already in the 1st quarter, check. A little humor afterwards, check. My favorite band on point, check.

The Sloth was much cleaner than when I saw it last summer at Alpine -which was nice- and the Martian Monster that followed featured some slicker than usual sample triggering from Page imo and great effects from Trey if I'm remembering correctly. Another great song for the band to mess around with and loosen up to. Reba's beautiful jam got me dancing/frolicking all over the lawn without a care in the world. The Ass Handed that followed got me thinking that this was the band's new musical way of saying "we know we just killed it haha". I could be wrong but whatever, at this point I was in heaven. Honestly another Ass Handed after that Tube wouldn't have bothered me cuz it was a juggernaut; best version I can remember seeing live and by now I'm kinda addicted to the big jam> ass handing . Then again I'm kinda insane so I can see why they let the gag go, for now. To me the Wolfman's funk fest > California Love tease felt like a huge fu** you to LA considering this was already a waaaay better show. That and they obviously left "of LA" out of the lyrics being in Chula Vista and all (not sure if I even heard a city quoted). Wotc crushed as the set closer and just like that I felt like I was back at BGCA and as if the Forum had never happened..

2001 was a stunner (I was thinking Pyite). I rarely get an extended version so this was special for me. 46 Days was also unexpected but it was a filthy, dark monster much like BGCA 2's Fuego coming in at set II's #2 spot. Ck5's new light rig seems to really shine at this moment of a show with its slow screen spreading action. Piper was a slow cooker for a change, crushing Sleep Train 2014's version and both it and Twist got me exploring again. I used my buddy's section 204 ticket to go on a solo "get closer to take pictures" mission and just be the dancing social butterfly I am. It sounded/looked great up close- I made some new dancing buddies along the way- but naturally BDTNL had me quickly dancing back to my friends in the lawn. Just like at Wrigley 1, I love this middle/late 2nd set placement. Pure euphoria. Then they took us back into the darkness with Carini, excellent pick guys! Next up is a Hood with an almost 1.0 era caliber peak. I've seen Loving Cup a lot (including festival 8's best ever) but it's gravy at this point so whatever.

Sleeping Monkey was a welcome cool down as I'd been dripping with sweat since Reba and the Ass Handed Tweeprise WITHOUT A TWEEZER EARLIER was just the cherry on top (Festival 8 Mike's without a Weekapaugh came to mind). A new friend now in my lawn crew I'd met at Harrington's Pub post BGCA 3 said something like, "best 3 minutes of your life!" when they started it. I was blasting off my flare copter slingshot like crazy at this moment, perfectly boomerang catching it for a change. Of my 7 shows attended this summer this was my 2nd favorite, barely behind BGCA 2 and just ahead of Wrigley 2. In my top 10 all time for sure. What a blast; tight playing, jams riddled throughout, again great vibes from the crowd, total dance workout, asshanded for sure. F***in juggernaut of a tour closer, 4.5+ out of 5 for sure. I'm sure the low attendance factor will keep it from climbing above 4.3 but whatever. In closing all I've gotta say is that Dick's could get Shafty > Asshanded or some shit at this point so look out!
Score: 1
dogfaced , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
ADMINS***** QUESTION? Show was awesome as always. when they went back into "ass handed" for like 10 sec I was sure you were gonn mark it as a tease....question is if that counts as its own song and "Jennifer Dances" counted in 14' (literally half a verse and fish saying dont remember the words to the song) Why didnt "In a Hole" count at Dicks in 14'?

Becasue they talked about it and just played the chorus... I just wana know the diffrence between these examples please, Thanks! ( Yes I know its petty , I also use you guys to track my stats and feel I got stiffed on a bust out :) ..)
Score: 0
theghost , attached to 1997-07-25 Permalink
theghost Surprise, surprise. It was brutally hot in Dallas and this venue always seemed to feel extra hot compared to other Texas spots. So to my surprise, Fishman comes out in a three-piece suit and hangs up his jacket on a coat rack that had been set up. He proceeded to play with the vest still on for quite a while. I think he took the vest off eventually, but still played the show in dress shirt and pants. I suspect nobody wanted to get anywhere near that suit at the end of the show.

The clear highlight for me was the Gin to the end of the set. Great stuff! The dual drums didn't do much for me. I don't think he knew the grooves too well and the whole set felt disjointed rhythmically. A worthy but failed experiment IMO. The next night was better but it still might have been better without him. I mean no offensive to his playing...it just didn't gel properly.

This was a good show, but not up to par with the rest of the tour, with the exception of the Gin.
Score: 0
BigTunes , attached to 1995-06-22 Permalink
This was my first Phish show and I loved it. I still do and it holds a special place in my heart. After obtaining a few shows on tape, I knew to expect the unexpected. Before that show I thought the vacuum was a joke. My next 3 shows I wondered why fish didn't play the vacuum again. There was so much activity onstage and in the air that I never thought to count the number of songs. I didn't even realize that tweezer was so long because I thought it was multiple songs strung together. I was 17 years old and stone sober too. I was also impressed that these guys rocked While My Guitar Gently Weeps. Even the Beatles had to recruit Clapton to record that song. I remember the excitement of submitting cassettes and waiting months for a copy of this show (it was 95 and the Internet was in its infancy). I spent the last 21 years bragging to fellow phans that I was indoctrinated with Fleezer. This week I will relisten to this show for the countless time. All I can say is that phish were playing to the audience and I loved it. Disclaimer, this critic loves the long type II jams. Enjoy in context.
Score: 0
Whoscounting , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
One thing I enjoy about the west coast seams to be the chill aspect of go with the phlow. I don't know if it is because of the Dead or what but there is no rush and everyone seams well tenured. When the music starts its a different story. There is still plenty of fire depending on how the bands feel. Last night I think they felt fine. The Farmhouse chill opener was a little scary but now that I look back it was a fine start especially since everyone decides to go in one minute before the band takes the stage. LOL. As far as a review. I am always thankful to see Phish. PERIOD. I am thankful. Unlike some I like Phish no matter what darn form 1,2,3... I enjoy each era for what it is. No comparing etc. I just enjoy. There are shows in every decade that I can put as a 10. Once again just thankful we have the scents and subtle sounds that are PHISH. A show in Beautiful San Diego? How can you go wrong. Everyone was very friendly. Very Phraindly actually. Really enjoyed the scene. Is dope basically legal now. Even as it is not in Ca it appears cops nor the people really give two shits. As it should be. All and all another one under the belt and we went home with a smile. Sucks when its over. Thank goodness for downloads in Apple Lostless sound. As far as the actual music, I must put some headphones on and be analytical in my mind but never to a review as once again, I am thankful the boys play. Have a good week you all. See you at Dick's for a guaranteed great show. Have you been let down yet at Dicks? I bet not.
Score: 0
piper1011 , attached to 2016-07-22 Permalink
What's ultimately sad about this show and this tour is that a show like last night's gets a 4.3 and a show like Brooklyn '04 gets a 4.0, as if that show is even in the same planetary system (if not universe) as this one.

Chalk it up to 3.0 v 2.0 as you like, but all that means is 2.0 > 3.0. I think people are afraid to admit a band in decline. But that's just a fact of life. Michael Jordan doesn't play in the nba anymore and that's the way it is. Phish will always be a good time (I hope), but the phish community in fighting over any negative critique of the playing or the band is like arguing over whether tiger's golf game is what it used to be.

Doing so doesn't diminish the incredible legendary accomplishments, and I fully appreciate the yearning for the past, but at some point you just need to call a spade a spade and accept reality. The reviewer of this show does that, and that's why it's a good and honest review (though not nearly as bling as this post, admittedly).
Score: 1
piper1011 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
What's ultimately sad about this show and this tour is that a show like last night's gets a 4.3 and a show like Brooklyn '04 gets a 4.0, as if that show is even in the same planetary system (if not universe) as this one.

Chalk it up to 3.0 v 2.0 as you like, but all that means is 2.0 > 3.0. I think people are afraid to admit a band in decline. But that's just a fact of life. Michael Jordan doesn't play in the nba anymore and that's the way it is. Phish will always be a good time (I hope), but the phish community in fighting over any negative critique of the playing or the band is like arguing over whether tiger's golf game is what it used to be.

Doing so doesn't diminish the incredible legendary accomplishments, and I fully appreciate the yearning for the past, but at some point you just need to call a spade a spade and accept reality. The reviewer of this show does that, and that's why it's a good and honest review (though not nearly as bling as this post, admittedly).
Score: -3
ThomasFunkyEdison , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
ThomasFunkyEdison I'd like to start off, for context's sake, by saying that I'm from the east coast and just completed the full west coast run, all the way from The Gorge through Chula Vista. I also made an 18 hour drive (round trip) in 1 day to see the Hartford show a week prior.

I will first start off by giving my honest thoughts about this show in a vacuum, and then provide some overall thoughts about this show in the context of my tour experience.

First Set:
- Farmhouse opener may not be a crowd-favorite, but it's an OK one for this reviewer since, well, I live in a farmhouse. They continue with another mid-tempo song duo in 555 and WITS (the slower version which they seem to have brought back this year). For these first three songs, only about half the crowd had made it to their seats, likely the result of an earlier ticket time on top of an over-bearing, slow-as-molasses bag check line. This may not have had anything to do with the slower song selection but perhaps it did.

- Ghost gets things going a bit, with some good soloing by Trey, similar to BGCA. Now I'll never complain about a Ghost in any position, but it always stings a bit known it wont go much past the 10 minute mark given that it's one of my favorite jam vehicles. Despite staying within Ghost proper, it definitely infused some much-needed energy into the crowd.

- Ass Handed follows. This is classic Phish to the max and without question my favorite of the new songs debuted this summer. It's funny, non-sensical, and has an unexpected riff of power chords at the end. It shows they're still having the same ol' fun they used to have, and if nothing else provides a good minute of smiles for the crowds (I mean, c'mon, it's pretty funny).

- The Sloth and MM continue the set, and keep the energy and dance grooves rolling. The Sloth is a nice treat, not seen by this reviewer since 2011. Martian Monster is probably my favorite post-fuego new song. It has a smooth, driving tempo and Page's work on the clavs always gets me moving. That said, it's curious to me that they've shrunk it down to a mere 4 minutes the last few times theyve played it. I don't think I'm wrong to say that many (most?) of us thought for sure it would be the next jam vehicle, so to continue to see it shortened and in the first set is a little disconcerting.

- Reba follows, and is, well, Reba. Very nice jam to it and the composed section was well-played from what I remember. Ass handed is played again, and it's every bit as good as the first.

- Tube is where the show really got going for me. Like everyone else here, I love the fact that it was finally jammed out a little bit. Trey had some nice stylings on the Supa Puss and all 4 of them brought it out to a really nice peak at the end! Some really wonderful, unexpected stuff right there. Wolfmans continued the energy with some nice funk and some California Love teases. I leaned over to my GF after the first few notes of the tease and said, "I think thats a California Love tease right there." After Trey started singing the lyrics it was pretty clear that my ability to call Phish teases made her underparts tingle just a little. WOTC was a nice way to finish the set.

Overall I think this was one of the stronger sets of tour. It's an odd feeling to put a first set in the conversation, but I guess that's just how this tour was for a lot of us.

Set Two:

- 2001 is a great way to start the set. It's a little bit jammier than most 3.0 versions but still rather tame. Ive come to temper my expectations about ever hearing a 2001 that compares to the stronger 97-99 versions, but I'd be lying if I didn't say I felt that excitement about the prospect last night, given its rare position in the 2.1 slot. Despite staying within the box, this 2001 delivers a solid 10 minutes of boogying before moving on to....

- 46 Days. Always a great rocker to help strengthen the mood. 2015 saw some standout renditions in MPP and Magnaball. This one stays within the box, but rocks out for sure.

- Piper. "OK here we go!" I thought as the intro started to build. Piper featured some wonderful playing by the front man and some great full-band interplay. Around the 10 minute mark it seemed as though they were going to take it deep and finally give us west coast folks some type II delight. Unfortunately it wasn't to be and the band went into a pretty abrupt > into twist.

- Twist again provides an opportunity for some deep space exploration. If it's not evident from my review already, let me say that the reason why I travel so far across the country to see Phish is for the long, deep jams. Sure, I love seeing old friends, meeting new ones, catching some bust outs and new songs. But I can stay within a 100 mile radius of my house and do that. Twist again stays within the box and doesn't quite deliver that *punch* that I've been hoping for this west coast run.

- BDTNL is next, which all but states that this will, for me, be a jam-free summer, which is disappointing to say the least. I do like numberline, but after seeing 23 renditions (most in the second set) it's one that I can do without for a while. It takes me a few minutes to accept the fact that there won't be much type II until 2017 for me, after which I was able to just enjoy being in San Diego surrounded by friends seeing one of the greatest bands alive still kicking it and having fun.

- Carini was carini. It felt too little too late for me as far as this show goes. Generally when I hear those notes I go ballistic, knowing what could possibly come from it. This one again stays well within the box and doesn't quite deliver for me. Well-played, however.

- Hood was *wonderfully* peaked. Loving cup was a good ending to a good summer.

- Monkey > Tweezer Reprise/Ass Handed Reprise was really really really fun. The perfect way to end the summer.

In a vacuum, this show is very solid. It had some great setlist choices, a longer-than-average Tube, California Love teases in Wolfmans. When put in context of this tour as a whole, it was standard-faire, pre-2012 3.0 Phish. At risk of sounding overly negative, this summer was disappointing to me. As far as risk-taking and jamming, this seems to be the first step in the wrong direction since the return. To me it has been a steady increase every year since 2009. Each tour brought something new to the table and the band members seemed to become more comfortable dipping into the ethers. This summer seemed to fall flat in all regards as far as improv and jamming goes.

That's not to say I didn't have an ABSOLUTE BLAST this summer. Phish is playing well, their peaks aren't telegraphed from a mile away, and the setlists were fresh. That said, there were so many shows (I'm looking at you Mann and BGCA3) with weak, weak second sets. For me to *really* get into it, I really do need at least one long-form jam to hang my hat on. Last summer it came on my first night of tour (MPP1) and continued through Magnaball. Shows like MPP2 don't seem as flat when you've just had a show like MPP1. This summer that never really came for me, unfortunately. It was the first time in my relatively short career that my mind wasn't *blown* at least one time. It seemed as though every time they miiiiight attempt some long-form jam it was cut short for something else. There were some definite highlights (SPAC Moma/CDT that I wasn't there for), but I could probably count them on my fingers with a few left over.

That was all said to say this: had there been at least one or two *incredible* jams or shows, a show like last night would have been the cherry on top. However, all things (re)considered, it fell short of what I could have hoped for overall.

I give the show a solid 5.5-6/10.

Thanks for the good times this summer everyone!! Be safe out there.
Score: 1
FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
Last night was my 175th show and 13th of this tour. THE VIBE was the best I have experienced since Hampton in 2013. Everyone was grinning ear to ear all night long there were 2000 people in the lawn ar best, 90% of which looked and acted like we could be best friends. I really had a great time and after what was a lack luster tour for me personally, last night really reminded me of why I love this band. standouts of Ghost, Reba, Tube, Wolfmans. Trey didnt miss a note all night. If you like 1.0 type shows this one was smoking!!!!
Score: 1
FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
Last night was my 175th show and 13th of this tour. THE VIBE was the best I have experienced since Hampton in 2013. Everyone was grinning ear to ear all night long there were 2000 people in the lawn ar best, 90% of which looked and acted like we could be best friends. I really had a great time and after what was a lack luster tour for me personally, last night really reminded me of why I love this band. standouts of Ghost, Reba, Tube, Wolfmans. Trey didnt miss a note all night. If you like 1.0 type shows this one was smoking!!!!
Score: 5
Login Register