Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Super_UK_Phan , attached to 2016-01-31 Permalink
Brilliant show! Very good, lively crowd welcomed Mike's latest lineup by keeping the feets moving and the hands clapping. As he mentioned prior to the current tour, Mike is clearly rocking from strength to strength, showing no sign of curtailing his creativity and passion for honest, ecstatic live music.

Still waiting for the official set list to be posted one week after (!?), but as memory serves, some highlights:

Get It, Get It: playful, jam-friendly new tune that Mike prefaced by semi-apologizing that the refrain in the title will/might stick in your head late at night. "It's not a good thing" intoned Mr. G.

#1 Crush (Garbage cover): slinky, droning bass line and Scott's monotone vocals made this a dark, infectious side-trip from the shiny-happy vibe Mike exudes.

Sugar Shack: the only direct nod to that Vermont band (along with 'Cities'). Fun to hear Mike own this gem.

Tiny Little World: this 'Overstep' standout exists for one reason, to allow Mike to pummel the groove from beat one, and he delivered - such fun.

Looking forward to his next solo tour (and to the posted set list)!
Score: 1
TweezingSpaceRanger , attached to 2015-08-12 Permalink
This is an incredible phish show. The whole first set is great (yes even the line works well). AC/DC Bag>Free is a great way to start a show, especially with the Martian Monster tease. Ya Mar is always great to hear. Sample is a good song. The Cities and Stash are the meat of the set and both have great jams. I especially enjoy Trey during the very beginning of the Stash jam (5:50-6:20). Birds is its usual self and The Line works in its spot. It's Ice has another relatively long and manteca like jam that I love, and Character Zero will always get the crowd fired up.

As for the second set, what else can be said? It opens with an excellent although straightforward rendition of Bathtub Gin (mu-tron!!!) and closes with the same thing to be said about Harry Hood. The NMINML shreds before welcoming the improvisational highlight of the night in a version of Twist that is competing with Fukuoka and SPAC 04 for my personal favorite Twist. Scents is an incredible song and it includes the intro, which I think should always be included. Overall, every song played in this set was jammed out to its full potential and concluded. It isn't often when Phish plays a set where they try to explore every song and complete them without ripcords. This is a must hear show.
Score: 0
Bwana , attached to 2016-01-15 Permalink
Bwana "Nothing I see can be taken from me..." Some thoughts on the first night of the Mexico run from my vantage point splashing in the sea for this entire show from Free onward...

The extensive, subtle, hidden yet obvious route they took to honor David Bowie (and I wasn't the first to point this out but definitely jumped on board with the perspective) was the entire Friday night show! Combined with the ocean-themed songs, the rest of the song selections had a very David Bowie-esque* mystique to them…

Set1

A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing > (welcome to the first time Phish has ever played on a beach immediately next to warm ocean water that you could be in during the show...)

*My Soul, (first since 2014 and who better to embody the idea behind these lyrics than >)

*Martian Monster > (Mr. David Robert Jones, the man with the soul of a space oddity)

Ya Mar, (apparently Gordon first heard this song as a kid at a tropical resort on vacation)

Halley’s Comet > (“what is the truth, what is the faithful lasting proof”)

Fuego > (“I’m a sailor’s girl, the best is yet to come”)

The Wedge, (numerous water references)

*Theme From the Bottom > (“keep what’s important and know who’s your friend” ~ Bowie a friend. Also the underground theme of death and darkness.)

*Free > (“I feel no curiosity, I see the path ahead of me…” Nod to Bowie’s acceptance of death and the artistry of his last album and timing of its release.)

*David Bowie (The man himself)

Set 2

*Drowned -> (“I ain’t seen a sign of my hero”, look closer young jedi… Plus the obvious death reference in this song.)

*What’s the Use? > (reflections of life and death. absolutely surreal from out in the ocean floating on my back and hearing this from under water...)

*Sand -> (“I would choose my own religion” very Bowie-esque. Also, the idea of the circle of life where death decomposing back into the earth provides for new life. And the obvious beach reference.)

*Ghost -> (out of death buried in the sand, the spirit rises… Bowie’s ghost is now free to roam…)

*Also Sprach Zarathustra > (…into the cosmos)

*Wolfman’s Brother > (climbing “on a stairway to the stars”)

*Possum, (The idea of "playing dead", captured in Bowie’s Lazarus video released three days before his death.)

*Shine a Light (“Angels beating all their wings in time … thought I heard one sigh for you … come on up, come on up now”. Bowie shining his light back down from the cosmos. Ah-ho!)

Encore

*Rock and Roll (“you know [all our lives] were saved by Rock ‘n’ Roll”… Bowie, Phish, the fans)

Probably more to it, but that's a start…
Score: 0
Icculus Phish.net Staff , attached to 1994-10-31 Permalink
Icculus [Posted a long time ago, shortly after the show, to Rec.Music.Phish and slightly modified from its original state. -charlie]

I know you have seen the setlist a zillion times, but here is the correct one. Long review to follow...[snip]

If any of you remember seeing a guy in front of will-call yelling "STEVE BILLINGS", that was me. Steve showed up after about a half-hour of yelling..and THANK GOD!!

The Frankenstein opener was no surprise, thanks to whomever it was that posted on the net several days before halloween that it would be the opener.. it was a strong Frankenstein, as usual. Sparkle was next and was fine.. nothing special. WHAT BLEW ME AWAY WAS THE SIMPLE!!! There was this great ending jam before Divided.. this really cooked.. Never heard any Simple even close to this.. Divided was definitely ok. Have heard better Divideds for sure. No signals. Nothing weird or special, if I recall correctly. Harpua was expected, but the Vibration of Death and War Pigs sure as hell weren't.. great to hear this!! No one around me seemed to get War Pigs, though..Sabbath was a bit too obscure a reference for most, perhaps.. Fun tease, though.. Also, Poster Nutbag wasn't eaten by Harpua.. instead, he was sent to hell!! Julius cooked as it always does.. Horse and Silent were perfectly straightforward, but Mike seemed to be into Silent more than usual for some reason (he was jamming at times..usually he just plays it..).

REBA was approx 15 minutes!!! Just an incredible Reba. You have got to hear it to believe it.. was a sortof DARK, HALLOWEEN REBA.. you'll see.. Golgi was the set closer, naturally, and was played without fanfare, like you've heard it played many times before.

Just before the lights went out to start the second set, I heard the beginning of Wish You Were Here. Then, the lights went out, and quickly I heard the beginning of Dark Side of the Moon (with "Money"), then The Heartbeats began.. everyone was freaking out, thinking FLOYD FLOYD FLOYD and screaming it, too, when, suddenly, the Heartbeats/Money crap was cut and the famous Ed Sullivan Beatles-intro came on.. Then I started wigging out (I never sent a postcard in, thinking that there was just no way that they would ever attempt the White Album, sticking instead with something cozy and mildly challenging like almost all Zepplin tunes).. What can I say?

The BEATLES WHITE ALBUM!!! Several tunes were jammed on, but unfortunately not Dear Prudence.. I was hoping that they would give us a version comparable to Garcia, but, alas, not. They jammed on Ob La Di, While My Guitar (in a HUGE WAY!!!!!), Yer Blues, Monkey, Helter, Revolution, and probably a few more. Otherwise, everything was pretty standard, with a few exceptions. The Dont Pass Me By was clearly arranged by Mike in bluegrass fashion, and was good! The Yer Blues really, really rocked. Birthday was not actually played.. Brad Sands came out for some cake, dressed as Fish. The highlight was definitely Revolution Number Nine, though, with Fish on vacuum and plenty of weirdness going on.. Fish disrobed towards the end, which I hadn't ever had the esteemed pleasure of witnessing before, though I know he used to play naked a lot back in the 80s. Just an incredible set of music, in general. There were definitely several mistakes made, but, all in all, the set was the most incredible set of live music I have ever heard.. the nerve it took to do the white album.. geeeezus.

Everyone was exhausted by the third set, even the people sitting still. I was still a dancing freak, even though I could hardly stand. I was by the tapers section, Fishman side, for this set (I was on the floor about 60 feet straight out from mike for the other sets).

Almost no one was moving around me during this set.. the Bowie was great, but certainly not excellent. Bouncin was standard. Slave was jaw-dropping incredible.. I thought I had heard the best version in charlottesville. I was wrong. Rift was disappointing, since I have heard it waaaay too much, and they just never wail on it.. it was still excellently played, of course.. what made me cheer up, though, was the segue into SLEEPING MONKEY!!!! AAAAHHH!!!! This was a SICK version, folks, just hysterical and great.. Poor Heart was standard, and good as always.

Antelope jammed really fiercely, which was incredible since it was soo damn late, but there was a little slip up when they all came back in after Trey's "Bid you To Have any.." line.. you will hear it on the tape. They caught themselves though, and finished the short set strongly. It was a great antelope, but I have certainly heard better. Amazing Grace was great.. hadn't heard that live since bender arena last year, and the crowd was very good.

The jam during the contest that Mike and Fish were doing was fun as hell.. I was one of the few actually dancing to this, ignoring the contest. A "Mounds" bar won (what a "joke".. corporate America would have been soooo proud). At the end of the contest, Trey stepped into the Jam the others were doing, and for a very very VERY brief time, played Mind Left Body. The jam ended, and the most spectacular Squirming Coil I have ever heard was played. I nearly cried. It was just soooo fantastic for "the Boyz" to let Page close the show like this.

I was literally FLOOOOORED by this show. I had difficulty walking back to the car. Incredible. Get the tapes.

THANKS TO IAN AT AOL FOR HIS TICKETS LAST MINUTE!!!!
Score: 1
BrotherOpener , attached to 2016-02-02 Permalink
I agree with much of Songchasers review! This show was funky and tight throughout. This is the chillest MGB I have seen. Robert Walter may be the missing third head of this musical Ghidra.

It is time to recognize that Mike Gordon has put together a strong and diverse song catalog. Their is enough good material for a multi night run (come on Mike, I know you love Portland!! How about a multi night weekend run in autumn 2016?)

Highly recommend catching this band while they are tearing it up. Thanks for reading. -Brother Opener
Score: 2
TweezingSpaceRanger , attached to 2000-06-14 Permalink
If you listen to the crowd before BOTT you can hear someone yell "N'Sync Covers!" Also, where can I get the soundcheck for this show? I've gotta hear a funky bitch with some spanish moon teases. This is a great show. The first set rocks and the second set rolls....phish wins
Score: 0
songchaser , attached to 2016-02-02 Permalink
songchaser HNPAY was performed and reprised throughout the first set.

First set was the tits. HMPAY was a triple decker cheesecake. Second set was sublime sweet and sour. Cities encore was the raspberry filling on top. What a show!

Gordo and the rhythm section were in the pocket all night. Robert and Scott were let loose and wild. The sound mix was excellent. We were "lucky" to catch the new MGB near the end of the tour where they have had some time to gel together. I suspect this is the band Mike has been waiting/searching for and will become a well known quality/quantity.

And it's telling that many of us were having the same thought, asking ourselves if this was better than Phish. Don;t take this as 'blasphemy' but yes, last night MGB were better than Phish. I do not generally like comparing, but on a quantitative scale last nights show was a 9.5. With Phish performing fewer and fewer shows per year, MGB is now the major project in Mike's musical life. As it should be. He's put together something special

To those folks seeing the last few shows of the tour you are in luck, Bring no expectations, wear your dancing shoes and prepare for a juggernaut.
Score: 2
bringbackthunderhead , attached to 2004-08-13 Permalink
Nigel and Gumbo really describe this jam well but I don't think it can be overstated how awesome this jam is...

To my ears it's a different animal than anything played over the next two nights and kind of explains/justifies/makes easier to swallow the horror show that would follow (not that some parts of 8/14-15 aren't incredible too i.e. Bag, SOAM etc).

The first three movements are really 2.0ish, cohesive and funky, yet thick and murky. Trey starts to build on a riff he's been repeating around the 24 min mark and a melody emerges from it that the band locks into and all of the sudden BOOM. It's like when it's sunny and raining. It's triumphant devastation. Intensely emotional and incredibly powerful. Absolutely must hear stuff. Essential Phish
Score: 1
Ari_DubLion , attached to 2016-02-03 Permalink
The band was so tight tonight. The crowd was chill but focused. The new lineup is much more rock, and eighties. I was hearing Duran Duran and The Cure a little, then "Looking For Clues" rounded out that sound. Yarmouth Road with a long dubby jam. I didn't keep a setlist, I don't know all the songs, especially not the new ones, but I heard Long Black Line, Yarmouth, Say Something, 555, How Many People Are You? Looking For Clues, Face, Sugar Shack encore
Score: 2
JosiahAtTheRail , attached to 1993-02-03 Permalink
A snowy night in Maine and a great first show! All the debuts were very solid. Still my favorite versions of Loving Cup and Lifeboy ever. Great fun hearing the "Water your team in a beehive, I'm a sent you" lyrics toyed with in Tweezer (which is very Wedge-y (check just after 3:00 and around 4:30)) and then full-on delivered in You Enjoy Myself, the band's sense of humor apparent from the get-go. The way Lifeboy materialized from the dust after the YEM vocal jam was so beautiful and it reaches a great crescendo. Needless to say, I was hooked.
Score: 0
The_Ghost , attached to 1986-10-31 Permalink
The_Ghost What a packed show. The birthplace of David Bowie. The sound of the place isn't great, you can hear a lot of people talking. While the set list seems great like, Fluffhead closing the first set, it was pretty mild it was not the amazing rocking jam show it would be with later Phish. I don't care for this Halley's Comet, early, short, and sang by Richard Wright.

Highlights from this show include:
Camel Walk

Golgi>Slave

Melt the Guns ->DEG-> Sneakin' Sally

Jam > AC/DC Bag

of course
David Bowie

Skin it Back > Icculus

Alumni Blues
Score: 0
The_Ghost , attached to 1983-10-30 Permalink
The_Ghost Greatest Phish show ever. The boys really peaked in 0.0. I know I was blown away as a toddler to know that this music was being made.

It was a hazy late Autumn day. Leaves of many colors littered the ground and filled my little brain with vibrant colors. Everything was new to me then. I was so excited and impatient for Halloween. I was going to get to dress up and get free candy. It was literally a dream come true. My mom was taking me to see her friend Kristy. Kristy was super cool, she gave me some candy and then told us about the best Vermont beans to be had. They were at UVM caf. We all went down there and these guys started singing and one of them took the vacuum cleaner from the back and made beautiful music with it. Kristy looked embarrassed by the whole thing, but I never knew why. My mom told me that the red headed guy tapping on the table was why Kristy was my aunt. I never understood what she meant. I just remember that it was a beautiful day and it is my first memory.
Score: 0
phan440 , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
This was a great show but lets reel it back a bit people.

>>>>>>>"This show is on par with Big Cypress, Great Went N2, 12/31/93"

Complete nonsense.

It was a great show but might not of even been the best show of 2015. Epic Tweezer, Light, & Blaze On. The rest was just solid. Not groundbreaking. Sorry to downplay peoples assessment on here but some of these comments are crazy.
Score: -1
Hashley , attached to 2016-01-27 Permalink
Hashley What an amazing evening! I really dug meat, even though we were there to see Mike as him self. The crowd was very excited for the show and the people all brought good vibes! I threw beans on stage early from a coffee shop he visited once (and that I work at) from playing Flagstaff before and I tend to bring them to phish shows across the country so.. he grabbed them upon playing and gave an appreciated whiff! Then rocked it out!
Kimock was great on the drums and the little flute he got for his daughter sure brought on some extra musical delight. Great show overall and I got my poster signed!! Love it!
Score: 1
AustinTxNate , attached to 2016-01-23 Permalink
Great show, and Numbers is a pretty cool venue. Not a fan of the 8pm show time, and the club could use a few more people taking tickets as the line was 100 people long, and barely moving at showtime.

Most everyone missed the Daisy Hill opener, but we made it in halfway through Say something. Really loving Cruel world, and different world is an awesome acoustic jam.

Highlight was the epic Sleep to dream. They did a great job of taking the repeating bass beat and going darker and louder with it. The sound reminded me of Gary Numan or NIN. Awesome stuff.

Funny story.. I was outback with Johnny Kimock and Craig Myers during setbreak. Johnny went in after a cig or two, and Craig stayed for a bit and chatting with myself and a couple of the girls in our group. We chatted about Rubblebucket and SXSW shows, etc, before he lost track of time and ran in.

Mike and band were already on stage. Mike was making up a song about how Craig must have quit the band, he forgot his responsibilities, and doodle doo, as Craig runs up on stage! Too funny.

Mike was signing my poster, and I apologized and told him that he can blame Craig being late on me, as we were out back chatting during setbreak. He gave me a look that I will never forget. LOL. I still love Mike, and I'm happy to take one for the team. Craig you owe me. :)

Great show. Slight edge to the Austin show, but great show nonetheless. Well worth the 2 1/2 drive.
Score: 1
Login Register