Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Slinky , attached to 2014-07-19 Permalink
Slinky I really have to agree with pretty much everything @solargarlic78 said. While I had an absolute blast on this run, this show will definitely fall by the wayside in my books.

To start off, I have to say that I was battling a headache all day. One of the guys we were staying with forgot to turn off the stove overnight and someone found it like that in the morning. I'm assuming that gas leaked in the apartment all night however...

1. I was the only one that had the headache

2. The apartment did not blow up upon wake n bake

Whatever it was, I was pretty much battling this thing all day even trying put down beers at Reggie's. Anyways, on top of that I was also in attendance at Pine Knob. I had a great time at Pine Knob despite the lack of improv because I had a lot of friends that I took to their first show and they were loving it so I in turn loved it as well. However, after they started up Wolfman's a few people around us started grumbling. One guy even reminded of how I would do a Phish show; let out a slight complaint while still dancing! When Yarmouth Road started up and I looked around the crowd, @mymomadontdance said "You can't tell me this was played at DTE too?!" being well aware of the streak that was happening. We considered that it could be a gag they were pulling, then I realized if that was the case, it would be the worse gag they've done (I may go back on that comment)

Nevertheless, this had sucked whatever energy I was clinging onto while trying to drown my headache with water. I was very happy to hear Bran & Robert as well as the rest of the set, but I have to admit my mood was killed and my mind went elsewhere. During Tube I noticed the girl I met that worked the beer tent last year just grooving 20 feet to my right with a friend. I took Free as my chance to go talk to her and stayed around and smoked with them until the end of Heavy Things and went to rejoin my group for the awesome Antelope closer.

During set break our group wandered around the grounds of the lawn and ended in the psychedelic chill tent in the back. I remember coming back from taking a piss and looking at the monitor in the distance and seeing the band take the stage. I came out running out of that tent to Carini, as I felt this could be the jam of the run! I allowed Waved to cut off what seemed like a typical go-nowhere jam, but was pretty much going through the motions as soon as it was aborted for Fuego. I loved the fireworks from Navy Pier as I didn't get to see them last year. While a lot of people loved that Harry Hood jam, I didn't find anything that amazing. Its another typical jam style that they've been milking since Fall Tour last year (perhaps earlier).

I love to see the band take new direction and do new things that you don't expect. This is why I lost my shit during the Piper -> Halley's Comet -> Wombat from the night before and The Wedge and Ghost jams in the Mike's Groove from the next night. The kind of things that, when its happening, makes you think NO. EFFING. WAY. This night, while I could see it being so much fun to the right person, did nothing to me personally.

Hopefully I'll go on to review the other nights giving them much more credit, I just felt like sharing my feelings about this one right now.
Score: 0
theghost , attached to 1998-07-24 Permalink
I loved this show. The crowd was fresh and enthusiastic...it seems like the wooks stopped in Austin and skipped this one. The venue was very nice...trees, brooks and walking bridges. It kind of reminds me of Blossom but perhaps even nicer.

It's mostly a Type 1 show but most everything is excellent. RJim, Stash, Taste, and Slave were particularly good.

I took a first-time friend to this show and hooked him easily.

Give this one a listen...it deserves more praise.
Score: 0
theghost , attached to 1998-07-26 Permalink
This was kind of a hangover show. The heat and the security were oppressive.

The highlights for me were the covers...all great straightforward versions. The La Grange was particularly hot and the Albuquerque was very nice.

The YEM was a long hypnotic version but never really hit the next level.
Score: 0
theghost , attached to 1998-07-25 Permalink
The Ya Mar was a sunset jam. When the sun dropped the jam turned dark. A great version.

The first set is very well played...everything is a sharp version.

The second set is unfocused and weak. The next night Trey was singing "too much of everything ain't good for nobody". You can draw your own conclusion.

The dust in the lot was like a thick fog...never seen so much dust.
Score: 0
AbeVigoda555 , attached to 1986-10-15 Permalink
I've been on a kick over at phish.in the past week, just tearing through the early '80s stuff, and I have to echo the other commenters who've said that this show really shows the four gelling into the Phish we recognize today. I just wanted to add (because it looks like nobody has yet) that there is a very definite tease of Zappa's The Gumbo Variations in Mike's Song. It was probably on Trey's mind since they did Peaches earlier in the evening. :)
Score: 0
Weezy , attached to 1991-08-03 Permalink
Great show, bundle joy actually. Phriends and Phamily in a Phield. Although it was very hot for the first two sets during the day, they rolled in a tanker truck full of water and sprayed us down, lots of phun, dancing, phrollicking, and just celebrating with the band and the Vermonster Phamily. Camping scene was laid back, with a some local music setting up and playing after hours. This show really marked a turning point in the bands history of free shows. Phantastic memories of days of yore but I am never going back there and I couldn't if I tried because I come from the Land of Lizards...
Score: 0
flysurferrosa , attached to 1993-07-24 Permalink
This was my first show, 21 years ago today, whoa! Phish.net reminded me and invited me to write a review - so here goes!

I'll review the show based on listening to the recording over the years, since I was too young to contribute a constructive review based on that experience alone.

The show opens with a raging Llama! WOO! Divided Sky and Guelah Papyrus I consider litmus tests as you can judge the energy in the venue during the two quiet parts and I think these results came up positive!!! I wasn't aware but the Mango song was a bit of a bust out...A powerful Stash starts some exploration that continues later and the coil wraps the first segment up beautifully.

Set two wastes no time getting serious. I absolutely love these earlier versions of also sprach before they got all super space funk jam, these are more short, tight, and to the point, but still full of that groove. And the one-two punch of Also Sprach into Split Open and Melt is just perfect, like they were meant to be played together. The Split gets dark and deep and scary and totally awesome psychedelic. Fiery and scary beginning to the second set. Fluff is solid, the ending is bursting with joy! The Maze is downright sinister, with a nice Also Sprach tease - they're just playing in and out of whatever they like on this July eve in Mass...Glide is great, then sparkle, but it's all about this freaking Mike's - this is a complete monster - even if you sleep on this show don't sleep on the mike's - it goes all over the place and eventually hits yerushalayim shel zahav before entering the Weekapaug...This sandwich is the magic of the night - check it out. Some nice fishman purple rain action, Daniel saw the stone keeps the energy high and Good times bad times potently caps an incredible set. And who doesn't love a free bird encore?

So that's my review of the show based on listening over the years. What follows is a more personal account from the experience.

I was 12, so there's that. My memory is foggy, rather groggy, but the things I remember without a doubt (and will never forget) are:
females with hair under their arms, and still hot, who knew?
glass pipes, with a strange new smell. Asked my dad if it was marijuana, he said yeah, I asked how he knew what it smelled like, he said "I was in 'Nam! I know what the fuck it smells like!"
I remember the drummer playing a vacuum cleaner, to a beautiful purple rain, with neat lights, and lots of lighters (more lighters!)
I remember the melody to divided sky, even though it would be months until I heard it again on Junta. These are really the only things that stuck with me, and a huge sense of wonder at the gap between the only other Phish I'd heard (A Picture of Nectar) and this live experience - my mind was blown, to put it lightly.
Score: 0
CincyTwist , attached to 2014-07-19 Permalink
I was unable to attend night 3 of this run, but I was more than satisfied with this show capping off my trip. Brian and Robert was rough, but I was hoping for either this or a Frankie Says bustout so no complaints. Tube>Free>Roggae was slow, thick, and fun. Antelope jam to close set one was customary fire.

Carini as a second set opener obviously had everyone's expectations up only to be ripcorded into Waves (though the Carini jam is still very much worth listening to IMO). Twist had some great moments and a brief section of tension that almost seemed like it could have gone type ii. Light was a lot of fun, with Twist-esque wooing in the intro and chorus. Fireworks from navy pier during the jam added some great visuals to what became a nice type ii excursion. I was totally expecting for the jamming to be done, but the playful interplay in the intro of Hood signaled that we were about to get another treat, and it definitely delivered.

This was my first review, so I apologize for any redundancies or being overly positive.
Score: 0
shotllama , attached to 2014-07-18 Permalink
In the second set, I knew this would become one of my favorite shows I've attended. It brought me back to when I didn't know all the songs (e.g. I had never heard Wombat before), when the band tried different things and sometimes it got sloppy and sometimes it was transcendent, and when Page takes over and absolutely kills it. It had elements of 97/98 spacefunk and great jams (which apparently the kids are calling "2.0").

I've only seen 2 shows since the reunion, and I haven't listened to that many since the first breakup. This was the first outdoor show I've been to in 15 years and this is the 20th anniversary of my first phish show. This show reminded me about why I love Phish so much -- the whole is light years beyond the sum of the parts and when the rocket ship takes off you have no idea where it's going to go.

Awesome show. Glad I was there; hope they come back to Northerly every year -- I'll be there.
Score: 0
ivebeentheretoo , attached to 2014-07-19 Permalink
This show was not bad by any means. It wasn't great for sure, but the teases and late set jams made it fun.

The first set was really cool to see. Funky opener (devotion to a dream broke up the funk fest but it was still cool. Yarmouth, B&R, and wingsuit showed the softer side of the band. While not a dance party, it is still nice to have a breath of fresh air from the rager friday night. The set ended a little haphazardly, building energy to deflate with roggae and heavy things, only to rebuild with antelope.

Set 2 was full of missed opportunities. Carini, Fuego, and Twist all should have gone somewhere, and 20yrs deflated the fun from light very quickly. Harry hood was excellent, and cavern was good.

The encore was the absolute best I've ever heard as well. It was perfect in that it had barbershop quartet, a slow emotional song, and a rocker to send us home. If every encore went that way, I'd be a happy phan!

My real gripe with this show is the odd set list that seemed to have more potential than what was delivered. If 20 years later had been ommitted, devotion to a dream followed wingsuit, or other little changes, the flow of the set would have pulled me in more. I really liked this run, more than the other shows i've streamed or watched live. It was no randalls run but it seems like it was "average" phish in a tour when average is fantastic. I can't wait to see more next year!

But also, there was a sesame street tease at 4:32 in waves!
Score: 0
n00b100 , attached to 2014-07-20 Permalink
n00b100 Set 1: One of the better first sets of the tour, nicely balanced between big rockers (the set-ending WOTC, a fierce-as-usual Maze) and relaxed tunes (Ocelot, which is Ocelot, and a never-unwelcome Tela). The set peaks in the middle, first with a crazed Mule that combines the wacky Marimba Lumina antics of the 7/14/13 version with the rhythmic goofiness of the 8/5/13 version before giving way to the band bellowing away into their mics and a fine finish, then a Type I "Classic Gin" Gin that verrrrrry nearly goes Type II when Page drops into a minor key near the end, only to be sadly ignored (still a fine version, though). Certainly worth a listen before the main event.

Set 2: A pearl of a second set, easily a contender for the best of the tour (which has had some really nifty second sets even *outside* the 7/13 mega-set). Mike Hamad on Twitter (aka the man behind those Phish maps that are insanely cool to look at even if you don't have the slightest idea how musical notation works) noted that the set-opening Disease made a move from the key of A to G, which it usually doesn't; that makes sense when you consider the direction this DWD goes, heading for bright spaces not unlike, well, Gin and bursting into a really pretty groove, Trey busting out some sharp chords, Fish holding things down fantastically well. I *guess* you could argue it "goes nowhere", although I'm never really sure why that's a bad thing, as though something this beautiful absolutely needs to dissolve into space or dive into darkness or reprise DWD 12/29/13 style to be worth listening to. I could have sworn I heard a Linus and Lucy tease in there, as well, which is all the more reason to like this Disease.

Winterqueen (in its now-usual jam landing pad spot) and Theme come next (more on that in a second), then things really take a turn. The band fires up Mike's, and it's a typical nice 3.0 Mike's (I mean, yeah, second jam, sure, but have you ever been listening to a 3.0 Mike's and been like "man, I sure am sad I'm listening to Mike's Song?"), then in comes The Wedge, and it's every bit as good as you've heard, dancing from a light Page-driven melodic jam to something sharper and funkier (always a good sign when the woodblock comes into play) to a more muscular driving jam (as Mike goes to the meatball effect) to the already-famous Paradise City/Roll With The Changes clavinet-and-guitar-god hose segment with head-shaking ease. It's not as purely adventurous as some of the other big-time 2014 jams, but it's ridiculous ass-shaking fun from start to finish, the modern equivalent of the 12/3/97 Drowned, and all the better for opening up a previously "closed" song.

And then, rather than take a break from jamming before going into Paug, the band launches into one of 3.0's best Ghosts. I wrote about it in the jam chart entry, so I won't go into it here; suffice to say that it condenses the best of 2.0's jamming style without indulging in the worst of 2.0's jamming style, making for a unique and exciting jam. Weekapaug enters out of the jam's end in yet another great Ghost -> Paug segue, and this time we get one more very nice piece of business as the band slides into a Ghost jam just as neat as you please (I still think it's Ghost -> Paug -> Ghost Jam -> Paug, darn it!), makes way for a surprising Stash tease, and nicely closes a tremendous set. First Tube and Zero (I mean, c'mon, people, it's Zero) end the show with energy to spare.

So, a quick thought here. Now, my personal feeling is that there's nothing wrong with where Winterqueen and Theme were placed - it's not the first time two non-jam songs have been placed together, nor will it be the last, and they established a more relaxed mood before bringing things up with Mike's (taking an audience down and bringing them up is a move every rock band does in a show, y'know). But here's how show perception (often) works - I bet that if they just went into Mike's after Disease and moved the WQ/Theme segment to after Paug, then closed out with First Tube, this show would be a good deal higher rated, at least another tenth of a point (which is a big deal with such a tight rating scale). You know why I think that? Because there's a very similar show to this one that also features great jamming in a strong Mike's Groove, and that show is 6/23/12, which slaps a Bouncin/Julius/Slave combo platter at the end of a fabulous Groove that segued into an equally fabulous Seven Below. Perception's a funny thing, isn't it?

Anyway, final thoughts here: a super show from a very interesting tour so far. This one'll be earning multiple relistens.
Score: 0
DaReba , attached to 1996-10-25 Permalink
Tube opener for Second set is pretty funky but you can hear how they are not there yet. still a little awkward , but fun, with the funk. Some of Billy Breathes material getting worked with Prince Caspian following

NOt a big fan of the song but this version is a bluesy rock progressive music display of talent. liked it a lot.

Timber Ho !!! Fish lets us know what's what from the get..

TMWSIY!! classic song. First since MSG NYE run. very pretty

Harry is a great ender. but a so so second
Score: 0
sislane , attached to 1995-12-11 Permalink
WOW!! I was taping, entire show was OK, then the encore came. The Civic Center exploded with energy! Sound & lights completely changed! One of my most memorable songs played by phish, most likely because Warren Haynes was on stage. My taping buddy Dave Minor (RIP) almost fell asleep, the encore blew him away. Great closing!

Scott
Score: 0
dscott , attached to 1996-07-25 Permalink
Not bad for a 50-minute shorty. Very energetic and crisp performance. Highlights include a charged Sample, a deft mid-jam segue from It's Unfinished into a frenetic no-nonsense Antelope, and a patiently euphoric Hood. Decent audience recording, taboot.

The brief Eurosets opening for Santana were hit and miss. This one is in the former category. Not a must-hear, but an enjoyable listen if you happen to make its acquaintance.
Score: 0
Clodd , attached to 2014-07-16 Permalink
Clodd Fun show. Mike's groove and Tweezer-reprise? double sandwich second set (page musta been hungry). This show was had less big jams and a bit more songs which I personally don't mind. Yes there have been more repeats this tour Wolfman's, Ghost (inside mike's) and of course fuego songs (which are growing on me).

Anyway much has been covered. The boys usual thing is to avoid repeats and try to be new fresh and innovative as possible. Well, ironically by relaxing and not worrying about the repeats they are in a sense doing something new. I had a great time. Lots were kinda beat, especially post-show when they forced everyone to shut down, pack up and leave.

.net loves bacon
Score: 0
Login Register