a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation

Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-10-05 Permalink
After a day off following the two Seattle shows, Fall Tour went south to Portland to begin a four-night run that would cover over 1,100 miles and include crossing the Canadian border. The Memorial Coliseum was newly vacant as the Portland Trailblazers were in a new home that season.

The show takes off immediately with Chalk Dust Torture. Trey drops some creative licks and drives the intensity as far as is needed in the opening spot. The crowd is stoked. The 1st Ha Ha Ha of tour, and 8th overall, keeps the energy pumping. The Fog That Surrounds, the 5th in 7 shows, is standard but crowd pleasing.

Trey says ‘Thank You!” and starts to play The Horse. Silent In The Morning follows as expected. Cars Trucks Buses, the most played song of tour so far (6 in 7 shows), is up next and bounces along nicely as the Chairman of Boards takes the spotlight. Strange Design completes a Page trifecta of sorts.

Divided Sky is most welcome as we are finally getting some beef. Trey’s pause is not long, just about a minute. Normally Fishman hits the cymbal two times soon after Trey plays the note. For the first time, and possibly the only time, Fishman initiates his own lengthy pause for roughly 30 secs. Fortunately we had 6th row seats and could see the band enjoying the humor in that moment. Trey takes this D-Sky jam a little deeper than in LA.

The band comes to the front of the stage to play Acoustic Army to the crowd’s delight. Trey thanks everyone and acknowledges Fishman on lead guitar ( not ;) The 1st Julius of tour delivers its usual incendiary jam. Suzy Greenberg provides the one-two punch to close the set. Trey teases Julius in his first little jam segment. Trey immediately jumps on the drum kit and Page explores most, if not all, of his keyboards. At the end of Suzy, Trey reminds the audience about making a chess move after the break, and of course throws in how they are going to crush us in chess.

Also Sprach Zarathustra kick starts the second set in normal fashion. Runaway Jim has been enjoying some more time in the second set, although it wouldn’t happen again this tour until late December. The Jim jam is solid and Trey implores some sustain throughout that allows the band’s overall groove to be front and center.

The 1st Colonel Forbin’s Ascent of tour is quite a nice surprise. It would be the first of two this fall tour; the other would be in Hershey. The narration begins with Trey saying “this is less of the standard roller coaster ride that you might know about and more of a conceptual kind of thing. And what I want to talk about here is the concept of the matrix.” He goes on to state that “every matrix requires three things: a source of possibility, a source of energy, and a safe ground on which to stand where you can realize that possibility using that energy.” It’s one of my favorite Gamehendge stories and I highly recommend checking it out. Fly Famous Mockingbird is always a treat; I wish the band would untether it from Forbin and play it more. Everyone participates so beautifully in this song; Trey’s jam is spirited and Gordo works a nice little bass solo before the song winds down.

Scent Of A Mule comes rolling in and Gordo gets into the spotlight; his vocals are excellent. The Trey-Page duel is interesting as usual; Page wins! Fishman drops Cavern before the Mule ends. No cavern is complete without a little lyric stumble ;)

David Bowie emerges out of the Cavern ending. Immediately Fish and Mike lock into a Cavern-esque groove before settling back into the hi-hat intro. The jam has a quick pace right out of the gate and meanders along until they break it down to single notes. Things pick back up and Page is very active. Trey is lurking in the background just waiting to go off. Things get a little intense prior to the ending.

Lifeboy, the 1st of tour (15 song gap), is such a tender song and always works well when played after a crushing jam. Amazing Grace closes the set and that song combo acts as the anti-one-two punch.

While My Guitar Gently Weeps, another 1st of the tour, rocks out and concludes a terrific night in Portland. We had just over a 300 mile drive to the next show in Vancouver, BC, which would be my first and only show to date north of the border.

Worthy of a listen: Divided Sky, Colonel Forbin’s Ascent > Fly Famous Mockingbird, David Bowie

Score: 0
Icculus_55 , attached to 2015-07-04 Permalink
Kind of amazing that no reviews have been written for this show. Still can't decide my favorite night of the three but WOW was this an experience. The Shakedown opener was about to blow Soldier field away harder than the 1989 world series did to candlestick park. Liberty was a great song choice for the fourth of July obviously. Lots of gems in the first set, but the highlight was without a doubt Standing On the Moon. If I could pick one song out of that whole tour that Trey mastered the most it was Standing On The Moon. You can tell that the whole place was stunned. That changed my life forever.

Second Set started off a bit slow with Bird Song but I wanted that song to be played so bad I didn't care. West LA Fadeaway into Foolish Heart put me over the moon. Stella Blue was unbelievably beautiful. One More Saturday Night was a great way to tie it all together. US Blues encore was a given but nonetheless a perfect choice to end the night. Not to mention fireworks!! Unbelievable weekend with unbelievable energy.
Score: 0
Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-10-03 Permalink
Phish opened the 2nd show at Seattle’s Key Arena with some ambient space prior to Maze’s intro. This Maze is on point and spirited! Next we get a trio of “first time this tour” songs that represent the essence of Phish..There’s some Trey-Page interplay in Guelah Papyrus, followed by some beautiful solos in Foam, and finally a rock ballad in Fast Enough For You.

“This is a little song that we’re gonna do for you about how you people are going to feel after we demolish you in chess. It’s called Blue and Lonesome.” Too funny! The band finds their groove in Free but it doesn’t go beyond the norm.

My 4th The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday caught me by surprise, but made sense once I realized today was the eve of Yom Kippur. Of course they had to play it so they could drop into Avenu Malkenu, “Our Father, Our King”. Gordo rightfully gets down on the bass before ending the song and finishing with TMWSIY.

Sample In A Jar might be Trey’s favorite song if he had to choose; crowd pleasing version as usual. The ending of Sample drops right into You Enjoy Myself, which was so smooth initially that it stumbles a little, but recovers nicely of course. Post tramps Trey jumps on the drum kit and Page steps up to lead the jam in fine fashion. Trey returns to guitar to finish the song properly. Gordo lays down an impressive bass solo before the vocal jam to end the set.

Timber (Jerry) opens the 2nd set. It was the first time played since it’s triumphant return at Sugarbush the past summer after a 258 show gap. This gap was only 6 shows and it still felt like a bustout, we were excited to get this only 6 shows into the 54 show Fall Tour. Of course, the band tore this song up.

The 2nd It’s Ice of Fall Tour comes out of the ending of Timber Ho. The usual Page breakdown occurs and doesn’t get too crazy. This song typically isn’t played in the second set. Sparkle is Sparkle and gets the crowd riled up. Harry Hood immediately drops next and the intro section is quite unique. The Hood jam sounds great and builds to a terrific climax.

The 4th Billy Breathes in six shows is well placed. Faht was really, really unexpected and happens to be the second to last one played to the date. Wouldn’t it be fun if Fishman busted this one out again. Sweet Adeline was also well placed. Phish was really being Phish!!

Oh shit! Split Open and Melt just started!! Enjoying the rare second set placement again. Things get dark real quick to my enjoyment. This Melt bangs around a bit and pushes the envelope. Squirming Coil closes the second set unlike the last time played when it closed the first set. The full band interacts well before leaving the stage to Page to wind things down. Which he does in fine fashion of course.

As a solo encore, Rocky Top seems the most unfair. I even feel that way about Fire sometimes since it is less than 5 mins typically. But Rocky Top is less than 3 minutes. Whatever, we have a day off before the next show in Portland, OR and the start of a 4 day run that will take us to Canada and finish in Montana. But I had a fabulous time in Seattle at the first two indoor shows of Fall Tour!!!

Worthy of a listen: Maze, Foam, Timber (Jerry), Harry Hood, Faht

Score: 0
gphishmon , attached to 2015-08-16 Permalink
For some reason my review got deleted. Just wanna say, listen to this show. At least listen to NMIML through the end of the first set and Disease through Twist. Definitely the energy sagged after that (Shine a Light and a standard Fuego with no extra jamming kind of let the air out of the balloon). But this is a very underrated show that gets lost amid all the monsters. BTW, I now think 8/15 is very overrated and that Mann 2, Walnut Creek, Cleveland, Nashville, and Atlanta 1, at the very least, all blow its doors off.
Score: 0
gphishmon , attached to 2015-08-15 Permalink
Finally got to listen to this one. I have to say, it's probably the most underrated show on tour, just as the night before may be the most overrated, even by me. Actually, the 2nd quarter this night stands up against its counterpart from the previous night, as does the 3rd quarter. The Disease>Slave>Light>Twist sequence has a lot of really good stuff happening! A long blissful hosiery jam in Disease with a brief key change to E and then back to A. A very strong, standard Slave. Some freaky jamming in Light, followed by a perfect segue to Twist. They lost steam after that, however; even YEM flagged with no Trey solo, just repetitive riffing and the Trey/Mike back to back and playing each other's instruments gag. The 1st quarter lacked the song selection I might have liked, but Undermind, Julius, and 555 were played well. NMIML through Possum have already been discussed and met approval.
Score: 0
Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-10-02 Permalink
I was excited for the first indoor show since the Salt Lake City Delta Center show in the beginning of Summer Tour. Indoor shows always bring a different, more potent vibe.

Not sure if it’s the sound difference or Kuroda’s lights for both sets but indoor shows, outside of festivals, seem to carry more intensity. It’s more authentic Phish to me excluding festivals again ;) This next run of shows were my first and only Phish shows to date in the Pacific Northwest. Fun crowds! Interesting venues!

Fortunately I had a friend to stay with that lived just below Seattle. It was a special run of shows for me, all the way through Spokane. Having a driver, that could roll the most impressive fattie while driving, for the Seattle shows allowed me to enjoy tour with a little more spike man.

Opening with Poor Heart was an interesting call but paid off with immediate energy; Trey’s solo had some extra mustard. The 11th Wolfman’s Brother ever didn’t go far post chorus but you can feel the potential. Rift shows off the band’s dexterity and songwriting so well.

Night Moves was a clever way to further discuss the “vicious chess match” between the band and audience. Stash, like the Shoreline Reba, was a great choice to follow the chess interlude. The jam becomes a driving force of pounding and relentless tension-building energy that finally releases around the 11 min mark.

Acoustic Army provides the yin to the yang of Stash and gives us a moment to catch our breath. The 4th The Fog That Surrounds is a good pick me up but doesn’t flow as well as the earlier versions played in CA. Theme From The Bottom is a another new tune for the fans in the region and is a solid version.

Tela was an unexpected treat that allows Page to be in the spotlight and is executed well. Fishman starts the David Bowie hi-hat intro just before Tela ends. The extended intro is spacey before the song kicks in proper. The band does not rush the 2nd Bowie of tour. They eventually pick up the pace and intensity before ending the song to close the first set.

The 1st Wilson of tour opens the 2nd set and a fair amount of the Northwest crowd knows to chant . It’s an average version that gets the show going again. The 5th straight Cars Trucks Buses immediately follows and keeps the set grooving along.

The next three songs were all firsts for Fall Tour. The 3rd Bathtub Gin of the year stays within the confines of the song’s structure. Llama provides a quick burst of rocking energy. Simple was finally getting away from being played in Mike’s or after Sparkle. This version breaks down to spaciness allowing the band members to goof off a little before Page starts the 4th Keyboard Army of tour. Gotta love Phish being Phish!

This version of Slave To The Traffic Light is worthy of a listen. The jam literally starts from nothing as Trey and Mike start playing single notes. Page joins in softly and then we hear Fishman’s vacuum subtly for about a minute; unprecedented I believe. The build is so patient and never fully peaks before the ending, but that’s okay. Check it out!

Hello My Baby is a great a capella choice for Phish. The crowd eats it up! The 1st Lizards of tour, and 3rd Gamehendge song of the night, is a great late 2nd set choice. Page is in fine form as is Trey.

Run Like An Antelope is really fast paced compared to the first two takes of Fall Tour. They are not wasting any time and get right down to business. Trey plays a repetitive riff and Page fills in nicely, Gordon and Fish are laying down a solid groove. Trey starts exploring and speeds the pace but still maintains some repetitive riffs. And we have lift off! The ending groove is drawn out a little longer than usual which is always nice.

A Day In The Life always makes me smile. Phish is one of the better cover bands and they obviously respect the cover song. Add in the CK5’s lights and you have a show stopper!!

Phish really knows how to captivate an audience. The show was inspired, playful, humorous, and full of energy. The song selection was typical, repetitive and fresh. I was looking forward to the next night of Fall Tour at this arena.

Worthy of a listen: Night Moves, Stash, Tela, David Bowie, the whole second set!

Score: 0
KosherMakisupa , attached to 2013-07-27 Permalink
HELP!!! I was listening to this show today and came across something....

Go to 50:09 maybe a little before..... Right in the middle of this most epcot 2001 jam there is a very interesting riff that Mike lays first and then at 50:18 the whole band goes into the riff together... THEN at 50:35 Trey plays it for sure..... Listen and tell me you don't recognize the riff utilized for Martian Monster.... It's undeniable and I want to know more. HELP!
Score: 0
Rudy2Shoes , attached to 1998-08-06 Permalink
A nice, sweltering ATL afternoon in early August.. my best friend's birthday and my 1st show.. to start, a GREAT Oh Kee Pah –> Suzie, followed by a SOLID rendition of Roses are Free. Roggae & Beauty of My Dreams follow then... Vultures makes it’s appearance in a perfect slot and is performed quite beautifully, the energy is palatable from the get go.. you can tell they are locked in and on a mission tonight... Train Song and Billy Breathes fill the air until a 1st set of highlights kicks into high gear... I'm speaking of course of the AWESOME run of a spot on / killer / face melting Fluffhead, followed by a GREAT Moma Dance! Then.. Fishman with the Vacuum in the 1st set?... YES PLEASE! HYHU –> Cracklin’ Rose –> HYHU with a first set closer of My Soul.

Wow. Just let that soak in... a perfectly played & executed first set of phantastic playing that saw phourteen songs / yes 14. For the years to follow, especially after the millenium show (Was there too), this became unheard territory, you'd be lucky to get a show w/ 14 songs in the 2000 - 2003 Phishtory Phase, however, I digress...

Very nice and the best first set I’ve ever heard. By the way, I’m a first set fanatic.. I LOVE 1st sets of Phish shows.. don’t know why, but I bet it has something to do with this first show in ATL.

The 2nd set starts with a roaring Birds of a Feather with Phish locked in and popping energy at the seems.. then an awesome version of Wolfman's Brother follows, and lasts a good 14 - 15 minutes, musically running the gammut on styles and eventually settling into a great groove, as above mentioned "Floyd-esque" type groove.. which disolves gorgeously into Talk, which I might add is performed quite nicely - the best TALK I've ever heard, and then here we go - a ragging NICU –> Prince Caspian (my personal fav performance of this as they are simply ripping tits with this one! ~ a MUST listen) –> The Mango Song (YES - very nice...) is just Glorious, all capped off with a great Down With Disease.

Then, a PERFECT AND ONLY cover of Van Halen’s “Runnin’ With The Devil” followed by a spirited YEM w/ Runnin’ With The Devil teases in the Jam...

Literally, my favorite show I’ve ever been too for a number of reasons... Mainly, how the guys were playing. EVERY band member is locked in and stoking the coals of the phire on stage.. they are definately a band beyond description on this phine Atlanta night! I'm lobbying.. no I seriously contend that this is a perfect candidate for the next Live Phish Release... this is the best show I've ever seen.. by any artist.

Please – release this nugget for the phans ears to enjoy... I definitely enjoyed myself and think everyone else would too!
Score: 0
DriedupGoliath , attached to 1999-07-15 Permalink
DriedupGoliath This show is insane. I love the zippy warp speed Ghost here, a great example of the playing style. A bit of an old school feel in the first set from Horn on. The You Enjoy Myself is great and features more of a traditional rock jam than the typical YEM jam.

Once you get past the dance instructions in Meatstick, we embark on a 10 minute happy little jam, with some really cool work from Page. The Melt is the centerpiece here, 30 minutes of improvisation, including Kung. It would have been excellent for the "Jam" to come back to finish Split Open and Melt, all that time later, but they were probably a little too far out at that point to even make that attempt. In my mind, it's a top 3 jam of '99, behind the 9/14/99 AC/DC Bag and 12/2/99 YEM.

There's a kinda tease of Crosseyed at about 8:10 of Split Open and Melt, didn't see that noted anywhere.
Score: 0
NiceGuyGroovin , attached to 2015-09-06 Permalink
Did anyone else hear the 2001 vibes from page starting to come in towards the end of Carini? I started going crazy when I heard this and then steam came in, first time hearing that one so I a little dazed and confused. Next I got caught up in the Piper, melodically jamming along, and before I know it my suspicions were confirmed when the unmistakable keyboard and drums dropped in to set the rocket ship that is 2001 into orbit, then I really went nuts in the dancing.
Score: 0
BroMcDudical , attached to 1995-10-21 Permalink
For the most part EducateFright said everything I would've review-wise. Just wanted to add a bit about the GTBT>Tweeprise to close the first set. First off Trey rips the solos, I think Jimmy Page would be proud, and the end jam morphs from pure rock hose to classic phish tension release. After the second or third release its actually mike who deviates the bass line from the more standard GTBT type riff to the E F# G A (the Tweeprise baseline a whole step higher (I believe it's normally in D)). Man, mike never abuses his harmonic power as the bass player in jams but when he recommends a course of action like that it always seems to be a great call (most notable example is probably the great went Gin). Sorry getting off track. Anyways, you see Trey look over when he hits the G giving the nod of approval and they're all immediately on board. Seamless transition to the end chorus of Tweeprise and the crowd goes wild. And it's in a different key! give these guys some credit they're true musicians. You can tell because Trey can't play the normal tweezer reprise riff at the end (although I suppose he could've on the low e-string). Gold. Also, acoustic army reminds me of when Zeppelin would do like going to California (and some other of their acoustic songs). Love seeing the Zeppelin influence
Score: 0
Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-09-30 Permalink
My first visit to Shoreline Amphitheatre was earlier that year in June prior to starting Phish's Summer Tour. I caught the Friday and Sunday Grateful Dead shows which ended up being my final Grateful Dead shows, and the last Dead shows at this venue and for the Bay Area. Appropriately the last song I heard Jerry sing was Brokedown Palace.

Shoreline, unlike the first three venues of Fall tour, is a traditional outdoor shed with a pavilion and a lawn. While I was on the lawn for the Dead I was in the pavilion for Phish.

Trey teased Call to the Post prior to the set opening My Friend My Friend. This song perfectly highlights the yin and yang of Phish. The 4th consecutive Cars Trucks Buses starts underneath the ending screams. One can't help but groove along with this song while Page displays his talents.

Trey welcomes everyone to Shoreline and explains why there is a chess board at the back of stage Page-side. The band plays a lot chess on the bus and people kept asking when can we play some chess. So they decided to play the audience in chess during this tour. They chose to start the game in SF because there are so many incredible chess players living there. White Rabbit fits the mood appropriately. Page and fan Pooh start the game with a few moves each. Going forward, the audience will decide their move at setbreak and make it at the start of the second set while the band will make their move at the start of the first set.

Reba was the perfect call to get the show back on track. The composed section is played much faster than normal and has a manic pace. The jam is full of activity; soon after starting it strays nicely away from the groove for a little while before coming around to a screaming finish. Uncle Pen follows and keeps the mood upbeat. Soon after the song ends Trey starts Antelope and just as Fishman starts his hi-hat intro Trey aborts into Horn. Obviously they had a game plan and in hindsight it made sense. I enjoyed hearing Horn as we only got one during the 22-show Summer Tour.

Run Like An Antelope starts up again and gets past the 10 second mark ;) The intro doesn’t depart from the norm and jam moves along strongly. It reaches a chaotic segment where the band stretches a little before picking things up to close out the jam. The ending segment/chorus is typical.

The band comes to the front of the stage to play an acoustic song. Trey says "We wanted to send this one out. This is the last place, that personally myself and I know two other guys in the band, saw Jerry alive and we thought this would be a good opportunity to play one of his favorite songs 'cause I know he's up there listening. This is for you Jerry!" They play Blue and Lonesome for the first time since the 1st MSG show during the ‘94 Holiday Run (28-show gap). They close the first set on a high note with Sample In Jar. While the set was less than hour a lot of interesting things happened.

Runaway Jim opens the second set and Trey implores some scratching effects in between verses. The jam doesn’t get out of hand and gets fiery toward the end of the song. The Fog That Surrounds comes next and Trey plays some intricate riffs. Another solid version.

If I Could is up next and nicely fills the ballad role albeit a little early in the set. This would be the 1st of four versions played during Fall Tour before the song became somewhat of a rarity, which is a shame. Scent Of A Mule comes rolling in and the duel is entertaining; Page wins!

Finally we get the first Mike’s Song of tour. The first jam is sinister while the second jam ends up plodding along until Page starts playing Keyboard Army. Upon conclusion Mike initiates the start of Weekapaug Groove. The jam is more of a full band groove with little Trey soloing.

Toward the end of the song Trey moves to the drum kit and Fishman emerges wearing a cape to sing Suspicious Minds. The night before Fish debuted Cryin’ which was hilarious. But this song was light years better. Hence why it stayed in rotation. The best part was he ran around a bit then stopped at the front of the stage in dramatic fashion to open his cape and expose the lights on the inside. Of course the band played Hold Your Head Up to end the shenanigans and slickly dropped into Cavern without stopping to close the set.

The encore began fittingly with Amazing Grace and closed with a rocking Good Times Bad Times. Page thanks the crowd and wishes Trey Happy Birthday. All in all a great night, and a fine finish to a 4-show CA trek to start Fall Tour.

The next two shows would take place at Seattle’s newly renovated Key Arena. Fortunately we had Sunday off to complete the roughly 14-hour drive. As most of us know the vibe differs between outdoor and indoor shows; both have their perks and their drawbacks. Shoreline was the second to last outdoor show of Fall Tour; Compton Terrace 10/11/95 was the last. I was excited for some indoor Phish!

Score: 0
OrangeSox , attached to 1995-09-28 Permalink
OrangeSox Spaceman_E's first show makes it special enough for me to revisit. The tapes sound fair, definitely listenable, with good instrumental balance and clear vocals despite some crowd interference.

Cars Trucks Buses has a great Page piano solo, definitely a large notch hotter than the previous night's debut. I find the first set very enjoyable, accounting for the approach to the flow of song choices during this era. What i mean to say is that Billy Breathes in the three spot doesn't diminish the Jim or the Mule, which provides another Page piano showcase setting up a nice free jazz moment before the duel, all executed without fault.

Stash features appropriately great dissonance to its jam, giving the set another solid highlight. The segue out of Fee to Fog isnt all that special, and Fish has some problems with his lines in Fog, as seemed to often be the case with that song. Acoustic Army before Slave doesn't do much for the energy meter to end the set, but the Slave is well executed nonetheless.

The second set definitely has a couple of strong jams in Tweezer and Antelope but overall it's a little thin owing to the inability of set's construction to build much momentum. The first set is a better listen than the second on this night, thanks especially to a really solid first half. This show received three stars from this guy.
Score: 0
Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-09-29 Permalink
The LA Greek Theatre is a very nice venue nestled in the hills of Griffith Park. The drive from the prior night's show in San Diego was a short 130 miles for the 3rd Fall 1995 show.

AC/DC Bag opens the first set with a pace faster than they played in Sacramento's 2nd set. It's an average hot version that ends normally and transitions nicely into Sparkle which gets the crowd moving and yelping. Divided Sky seems appropriate for this venue and the placement in the set is spot on. There’s a minor hiccup post pause and the jam segment is solid but not extraordinary.

California didn’t get any summer shows and the band is interspersing their new tunes throughout this 4-show CA run. Strange Design is well placed after D-sky as is the 3rd straight Cars Trucks Buses. You Enjoy Myself is most welcome in this odd slot of the set. Tour had been progressing nicely but was lacking a little in the beef category. The band got their groove on and we did too!

Sweet Adeline makes the crowd smile and laugh. The first Suzy Greenberg of tour allows Page to show off his skills and closes the set. “We’re gonna take a 15 minute break, don’t do anything I wouldn’t do” might be Trey’s favorite set closing statement.

The band opens the second set with a spaced out intro for Also Sprach Zarathustra before dropping into it. Maze immediately follows and this first version of tour is smokin’. It felt really good at the time and I’m thinking we have a couple more months of this nightly routine. Oh yeah!

Free brings things back down to Earth and plods along like other ‘95 versions. Ya Mar brightens the mood in the venue. “Play it Leo!” (sidenote: I forgot about how Mike used to scream at the end and spout nonsensical words; how I miss some of the little things they used to do)

Split Open and Melt is one of my favorite songs to dance to at a show. I love how disjointed and abstract it can get. My body parts move in all different directions at the same time. This version gets a little dark but doesn’t go off the deep end. The 3rd straight Billy Breathes is played and I have to say I’m not disappointed since I needed a breathe after Melt.

Hold Your Head Up indicates Fishman is taking the spotlight and he delivers one of his funniest covers with Cryin’, complete with a vacuum solo. Page comments “that wasn’t too bad.” A Day In The Life closes the 2nd set similar to Sacramento. And as I stated in that review “Still new to their repertoire from Summer Tour and a full Phish assault, CK5 included.”

Chalk Dust Torture fills the encore role and successfully ratchets the mood up one more time, getting us amped for the 350+ mile drive back North where Phish will headline the Shoreline Amphitheatre for the first time! And celebrate Trey’s 31st birthday!!

Score: 0
Man_From_Mars , attached to 1995-09-28 Permalink
My 1st birthday show in San Diego at the Embarcadero Center is admittedly one of the weaker shows of Fall 1995. This is mainly due to both sets being short in length although not short in energy. The band played well for the 2nd show of their mammoth tour, but we were left wanting more especially after driving all night from Sacramento the night before.

Cars Trucks Buses was a fun opener and not a surprising call as the band likes to play new songs with frequency after their debut. Page shows off his chops and the crowd is pumped up. I wonder how many people were at last night’s show, not that many I think. Runaway Jim follows solidly and under normal circumstances might have been the opener. The Jim jam builds patiently and the tension is finally released near the end. Billy Breathes is next and we get another new tune repeat from the prior show’s second set. This was fine by me as we had a long road ahead of us and I took the opportunity to soak in this delicate number. Trey takes a moment to introduce the song by name afterward.

Scent Of A Mule is worthy of a listen for any fan of the Page-Trey duel. The full band is engaged playfully as Page takes over to challenge Trey to the duel. Trey responds with most of his effects leaving Page to reply in kind humorously. The song concludes normally by getting the crowd feverishly clapping along until they can’t keep up. The Stash is hot and gets menacing. A solid version all the way until the end!

Fee is always fun to hear and is a real crowd pleaser. The outro jam into The Fog That Surrounds, another repeat from Sacramento, is very short. A beautiful transition but Fishman can't recall the lyrics once he starts playing the drums. Some fun banter ensues as Fishman is encouraged to start the song over. This version is a highlight in the set like the night before. At the conclusion they tease Fish with a few HYHU quotes.

I wonder if the prior fun distracts the band and inspires Acoustic Army next. A nice choice for this small outdoor venue on the water in San Diego. Nice placement in the first set for the first time. Phish being Phish is always entertaining. Slave To The Traffic Light was like a birthday present for the first set closer; another song that was typically played in the second set. An ultra patient build ensues toward a never ending climax. A short yet satisfying first set!

Theme From The Bottom is a song that is near and dear to my heart. This version is well played and serves the set opener role effectively. Poor Heart immediately stirs things up with lots of high energy. You gotta appreciate how much they can accomplish in just over two minutes. Don’t You Wanna Go? I always wanna go and never understood why this was the last time played, and at the beginning of a tour. I think this song is a lot of fun and I enjoy the train horn sounding jam. They seemed to enjoy singing it as well. Oh yeah!!

Very happy to get my favorite song Tweezer next, the ultimate birthday present. This version delivers a driving jam and would be appreciated by any Tweezer enthusiast. Some great tension and release occurs to everyone’s delight. The jam breaks down to near quiet as Keyboard Army starts up. One of the great things about about this song is watching the band members migrate to Page’s keyboards. More Phish being Phish. The transition from Tweezer added to that vibe unlike the night before where the song followed Billy Breathes.

Amazing Grace is a great a cappella tune and I’m bummed they stopped singing it. It seemed to take on special meaning to the band and the fans. The song is lyrically appropriate throughout; “and Grace will lead me home” seemed to strike a cord as Fall tour was wrapping up in December near my home.

Sample In A Jar picks the energy right back up and the crowd is pumped. The first few notes of Run Like An Antelope are always a welcome sound. The intro is playful. It doesn’t take long for this Antelope to get going and the band is firing on all cylinders. This is why I’m on tour!

While the second set felt short it somehow felt complete. Obviously the setlist flow contributed to that. The Fire encore was fitting as it was short yet sweet. “See you next time!”, as in tomorrow night at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles. So my birthday show wasn’t the craziest show ever but it did bring a lot of energy!

Score: 0
Login Register