Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Bob_Loblaw , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
Bob_Loblaw This show was straight fire. Phish played to the advantages of the Venue which would be the supreme lighting (Stars? HOLY SHIT!) and the energy level. The venue sounded like the Spectrum where the place just gets insanely loud with fans. The setlist seemed to be comprised of a lot of songs involving audience participation (Twist, Fuego, Character Zero, Hood, Etc), my ears are still ringing! Everything was played very well and Trey seemed to be in the fore front and very much in control (Not as common now a days). One of the most solid first sets this year. Really enjoyed myself.
Score: 0
fracai , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
fracai What a great one-off show! Things started out hot. When Trey first hit the stage he was jumping up and down. I could tell he was ready to bring the thunder.

The 46 Days/Tube really got everyone in the Forum going. Train Song?! Okay! Don't hear that one too often. I actually caught the last time it was played at BG last year. Mike sounded really good on that one, good job Cactus. I have to say, the first set had some notable jams. I feel it's safe to state that we were all surprised by the first set Ghost which, albeit not going into any mysterious territory, was a message for us all that the band had a lot in store for us. The two jams of the first set that were hard hitters were Its Ice and Gin. Really patient playing and very extended feeling. The Divided is also a near perfect version. I really feel that Trey was in more of a good mood than normal tonight and was excited to see where he could take everything. Set break!

I was prepared for all out chaos from the top, but I believe the band eased into the set rather than cook us alive from the get go. 555 and Number Line were completely solid and well played, I'll take 'em like that any day. Disease is where the Forum could feel the band really start to stretch. The jam is something to listen because it fizzled into really dark dissonant territory with a giant climax provoked by Kuroda's use of the ceiling lights in the stadium. For any first timer there that night, I'm very happy for you. How many bands successfully bring on such a big silent climax such as that?! The crowd was roaring. The jam flow stayed very steady and ended with a nice major flavored rock out segment. Transition into...Fuego! The seque into Twist really made this version sparkle. Trey is really liking his Echoplex. After the welcome Bouncing breather we find ourselves with the Maze/Bowie hat intro. Trey used this opportunity to enter psychedelia for the last time of the night and freak us out with the Echoplex. (I'm liking this thing too). Solid Zero closer; feels so good.

The boys returned onstage with a blissful and drawn out Hood with more use of the starry ceiling lights. Ahhhh. I actually prefer Zero and Hood in those spots rather than the other way around. Grind capped off the night with a very humurous and impressive performance.

Fall tour has been very interesting and I can't wait to see what they have in store for us at Chula!
Score: 1
WasteMyTimeWithYou , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
WasteMyTimeWithYou This review does not have the benefit of downloading and listening to the show again on fresh ears, just my experience and what I heard of the songs last night live....

The Forum: Very cool venue, parking prices (~25) is the only negative I can say, but hey - It's LA. Easy in and out of the lot and venue, no complaints at all... but hey, I've heard a lot about those ceiling lights that look like stars... where are those? I don't see anything special about the ceiling... what the hell?!? More about that later.

1st set: 46 Days opened with fire out of the gate, instant energy boost to a crowd that was much larger than many people on .net were expecting in LA. Tube most people saw coming('on a freeway to LA'), but no one is going to complain about that, standard Tube, nothing wrong with that. Train Song seemed to just suck some of the now building energy right out of the room, not sure what happened, just was not well received... and then Ghost hit. Did I pass out and wake up in the middle of the second set?? A 4th song of the night Ghost? I loved this song placement, and wish it went deeper than it did, but still a really fun Ghost, got the place moving again. Sparkle was Sparkle, like it, love it, hate it, you know what you are going to get... but it is fun and fast and everyone had a good time bouncing around to it. Sample came next and now everyone was having a blast. Really nice sample, Trey seemed to hit is all perfect, just like he would hit Divided Sky. Sky was amazing. Bliss is the only word for a nailed Divided Sky, and that is what we got last night, I was wrong to assume it would be my highlight for the 1st set. The Line: What can I say about the Line. I enjoy it, but don't love it... I have NEVER seen a mass exit to the bathroom before on this scale. It was to the point that it seemed disrespectful to the band. As if to pay the crowd back for making them heard The Line, they bust into a nasty version of It's Ice. PAGE CRUSHED IT. Is there anything anyone else can do at this point in the tour to take tour MVP away from Page? I don't think so. This version, at least watching it last night was amazing, Page got up, I got down! KDF: I love that they took this song out of the opening slot, standard KDF, lots of fun. Bathtub Gin was amazing. They will credit this song with a 'Low Rider tease,' but tease is a bit of an understatement, they pretty much went full on into low rider for a minute. Crowd went crazy, awesome way to end the set.

Set 2: I like 555 a lot, but I don't like the placement as a set opener. Not enough energy to set the pace for a big set. Mike drops bombs in the version as should be expected from 555, it is a very solid version despite its placement. #Line: Most people were disappointed to hear it, but they put a little extra mustard on the Allman brothers style jam and by the end it had everyone dancing. After 2 songs, not sure where this set is going... I have been critical of how often they start second set with DWD, but when it hit last night, it announced the start of 2nd set. 555 and #Line were set 1.5, now set two hit, and it hit hard! Nasty version of DWD! Halfway through the song, right at the perfect moment, CK5 won the night and hit us with a blast of the twinkling stars in the ceiling of the Forum! What a moment. They light up the whole room, but instead of seeing everyone dancing to this epic DWD, I looked down to see everyone staring at these lights with HUGE smiles, it really was a special moment, and I hope a Utube video might emerge that will do it any justice. Amazing. Fuego: Maybe it was just impossible to follow the act of that DWD, but Vlad didn't quite impale me. Solid enough, nothing noteworthy. Same could be said for Twist, a ton of fun, as Twist always is, nothing to write home about. Bouncing: I love the placement. You know it is time to slow the set down, Velvet? Nope! Bouncing! I love this song, and I like seeing it in 2nd set, very well played. I enjoyed it quite a bit. DB: I love this Bowie. I love them all, but this seemed like it had something extra on the back end. It went to a lot of different places musically ( as the song is designed to do). Really good version. They follow it up with Character Zero to wrap up a real mixed bag of a 2nd set.

Encore: HOOD! This Hood was huge. It was not rushed at all, had all four band members hitting it hard and together. I couldn't help but think of 'HollyHood' in LA last summer. This jam didn't get to that scale, but where as HollyHood was a re-visit to Tahoe Tweezer, this Hood was all its own. Again CK5 hit us with the star lights, with the band in a really cool subdued ambient jam, all the stage light were off, such a cool effect. Figured a big Hood like that would be a stand alone Encore, but Grind closed out the night, very well sung harmonies. Always fun to the the barbershop Phish.

Highlights: The star lights! I think many bands would have overused the effect, but CK5 nailed it. They made for two really special moments that I will never forget. If Phish ever goes back to the Forum, GO! There is no way to describe the effect that those lights had on my experience at this show. Musical highlights include It's Ice, Gin, DWD (must hear), Bowie, and Hood. Nothing groundbreaking about this show. The big songs went big, no song ventured into uncharted territory, nothing went 20+ mins, all that said 4/5 stars for some really special moments, some big jams, and a great venue.
Score: 1
helping_phriendly_wook , attached to 2014-07-13 Permalink
helping_phriendly_wook There was certainly a message the band was subliminally conveying to us Northeasterners.

That we would get no more shows till next year
We just didn't know it then.
All in all, the performance itself was mesmerizing and well worth the trip for me and my sister. A truly epic summer finale
Score: 0
Fallopian_Dude , attached to 1999-07-25 Permalink
Fallopian_Dude Love the Left Toe -> Whipping Post. I was jogging when I heard this show for the first time. While I had glanced at the setlist prior to pressing play at the start of my run, I guess I had forgotten the song sequence by the time I got going. So when they hit that transition I was totally floored! It put a big smile on my face. Must have been a good one :)
Score: 0
jsauce , attached to 1997-12-11 Permalink
This is, *ahem*, this is the best first set of Phish ever, if not the best single set of Phish ever. A lot of people talk about 12/6/97 or 12/7/97 second sets, and, yeah, they're GREAT, but this is superb. Basically flawless. The only thing I can think of that would even come close is 11/22/97 second set.

There, I said it.

The opening 1-2-3 of PYITE, DWD, and Maze...WOOF. I would try to offer song-by-song analysis, but just go listen. I will say that it offers standout, single-best versions of PYITE, DWD, Maze, Limb by Limb, Waste, and Loving Cup. it's also one of my Favorite Drowned *and* the debut of Roses are Free!!!

Let me stress this: The Limb by Limb...in as much as any serious Phish head would try to label this... it's my favorite stand-alone song performance, my favorite 10 minutes of Phish I've ever heard. And, friends, that is saying something. There are two peaks where the entire band comes together in a way that's still unbelievable to me. I must have listened to this set 100 times.

LISTEN. NOW.
Score: 1
ShaggyDre , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
I love reading all the reviews, many of you are really good are capturing the essence/vibe of the show. It's funny, though, to me, the moment I knew this was going to be a special show was when they played a song that nobody is mentioning in the reviews - Horn. I don't know why, but I literally got goose bumps when this song started. To me, it's such an old school song and rarely played. And this version really resonated with me and I felt like the crowd really got it too. When Trey plays the solo after the main lyric, it seemed like you could hear a pin drop. And nobody ruined it with a loud yell or anything. And the band got real quiet and Trey played his notes so delicately and the crowd seemed real dialed in at that moment. To me, this is when Phish is at it's best and I though the small venue allowed us to experience that moment.
Score: 1
DarkTsar , attached to 1993-03-21 Permalink
gave this 3 stars... a solid effort..twas a fun time indeed... central coast phish is ALWAYS welcomed. The Ventura Theater is a funky room with pretty whacky acoustics. Back in those days the band was very raw and full of power! Even a sloppy show, by today's standards, was just so much fun back then because HELL I was 22 and a fresh convert from GD tour! It was nice to talk with them out on the street after the show.
Score: 0
phunky58 , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
This was a very enjoyable first set imo and I rarely say that. Song selection was top notch. For me the must hear material came in the form of Drowned-->Theme without a doubt. Ive been waiting for drowned to open the 2nd set for a while now and man this version was well worth the wait. And if that wasn't enough they follow it up with a type II theme. Prob one of my fav versions in a long time. Fall tour is picking up some serious momentum and this show is definitely evidence of that. Can't wait for what's to come.
Score: 0
Renaissance , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
Renaissance Other 'noteworthy' jams. Theme, MFMF, and Mike's Jim Groove. Everything else was pretty damn good too. And the song selection...damn.
This is a great show that I will likely revisit often. The whole band was on board for this one and everybody had there special segments, like Fish on the marimba or Page doing Horse. It's great when everyone has their turn with a spotlight solely on them. The overall looseness and flow of the songs combined with the tightness in the execution made for a lot of very special moments. Almost every song has one, and more than a few have several.
Score: 0
okeepaphan , attached to 1998-11-09 Permalink
okeepaphan When I listed to this Gin jam, around the 11-15 minute mark, I keep waiting for someone to go "Heeeeeey Macarena". Trey's licks sound like the lyric portion. I'm doing the dance now in my desk.

set ena pol and a hena macarena
h and a so onapeeda
set en a pol an a hena macarena
Hey Macarena!
Score: 0
zda1994 , attached to 2011-12-29 Permalink
This was my first show. At the time, I had known a decent amount of Phish songs, but not necessarily the most well-known ones. For example, I knew Show of Life very well but had never heard of Antelope before. At the time, I absolutely loved the show, and it inspired me to get into Phish, and by the time I went to Jones Beach 2012, I knew or was familiar with nearly every song they played hat run. But this show is the only Phish show I have attended where some songs were genuine surprises. The Sloth, Back on the Train, Moma, Antelope, Lifeboy, Guyute, and Hydrogen were all completely new to me.

Anyway, as for an actual review of this show: it is what it is. And it is a pretty boring, standard show. Definitely the highlights were YEM as the second song (my second song ever!) and the flawless segue from Chalkdust to Hydrogen. But overall, the show is very 2011 - no real type II jams, just tight and fun playing. I would give this show two stars, but it was my first show I am giving it three.
Score: 0
Renaissance , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
Renaissance One of my favorite shows happened last night. I flew down hoping to get my mind blown and was a little nervous after Tuesday's show that it might not happen in So Cal. So happy to say I had nothing to worry about. MFF, SOAMelt, and Walls closed out a ridiculously high energy and tightly played 1st set with a psychedelic bang. Drowned was a treat and got pretty dirty leading into the highlight of the night for me, which was Theme. Mike's Jim Groove was ridiculously good and the encores were excellent. I compare this one with Reading, which was my favorite show that I attended in '13. Can't decide if one is better than the other, but both are excellent from top to bottom, and that's all that matters. This is one show that will definitely get replayed many, many times.

Now on to BGCA and Vegas!
Score: 3
misterphish , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
First off, I am NOT that arrogant.... I was a HS teacher and the kids named me Mr. Phish because they thought my tour stories were unique. One day they started calling me Mr. Phish and it just stuck (I hate wasting space, but I had to throw that in here). I just listened to set I.. yeah I have been couch surfing.... life happens and we can't see 20 shows a year anymore, but I am going to LA and Chula! Cant Wait!

I think this might be the best show of the run so far. I really liked the Eugene OR show, but they seemed more on tonight so far.... especially Page! That Jesus left Chicago was pretty sweet; Page was going a little falsetto at times... really liked that.

The SOAMELT had a really nice jam at the end of it... the second set looks hot on paper... I saw that Mikes>Runaway>Weekapaug? I cant say I have seen that combo before!

Off to Set II.... see everyone in LA and CV! $30 4 gram Homegrown.... thats me! LOL
Score: -2
jozeph78 , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
I'm not gonna lie. I almost posted my first review, a negative one, for 10/21.

I am not a hater, but that show was not good to me at all. Even the CDT -> Ghost that many enjoyed, I couldn't get into. Maybe it was the lack of energy form Trey all night, maybe it was the flubs, but for the first time every I found myself not enjoying a Phish show. Even the boys joked that things were amiss.

And that's perfectly fine.

Of course I would have to watch 10/22. I knew they would not let us down and let us down they did not. From note one it was clear they were on a mission to crush it. Tonight's show was STFU and play. No banter. Agressive Trey. Funky soulful rocking good time.

This is why we love The Phish. The misqueues of 10/21 just give you an idea about how difficult what they normally do with ease is. It makes them human. It's why us fans have such a special connection with the band, because we've lived though good and bad with them. And it's easy to laugh off the bad when the good is as good as this show.

Cheers.
Score: 1
Login Register