Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

lofus99 , attached to 2003-07-12 Permalink
I am here to sing the virtues of this most excellent show that is always overlooked because of her prettier sister, the next night's show. However, I find that if you take away the Seven Below, the next night is not as good as this show, despite the almost perfect setlist. I get why this show is frowned upon (most of my friends think I am mad when I say I like this show better than 7/13), but sometimes the highs outweigh the lows. For me this is true as I can easily overlook a downer song(or 2 or 3 or 4), whereas some people write of an entire show if there is even just one song that they dislike. Their loss, as this show is a smoker.
There are seven reasons why I love this show. Taste, Stash, Maze, Piper, Tweezer, Ghost and David Bowie. All have incredibly good jams with incendiary guitar playing from Trey, who was having an exceptional night. Right out of the gates Taste is very good. Interestingly at the end of the song, you can hear Trey talking about how amazing the stage sound is. That is always a great bonus for the band, especially a band like this one that relies on band interaction and hearing each other clearly. Advantage Gorge. On all of these extended jams Trey is engaging from start to finish. He kind of tells a story with his guitar on each one. And if someone told you that the jam vehicles for a second set were the four from this night, you would say that that was an epic show. And you would be right. Piper and Ghost being the highlights. Both with long exploratory jams. Tweezer is good, although just a standard 14 minute (or whatever) version but Bowie is very cool.
However, the other thing that this night has to offer, that lifts it to a higher place, is the amazing Maze. Just by virtue of possessing this version should make this show the winner of the two. It is something special. Seven Below was played only 35 times so far, with three notable versions. And only two of them in 2.0. So even though the next night was incredibly special because of that notable version (and if you have not heard the seven below the next night you absolutely must it is a delicious piece of improvisation), it was not that exceptional if you purely look at the numbers. However, Maze has been played 290 times. And as most of you know all of them are excellent. Do not think there can be a bad version of Maze. But there are only nine notable versions out of all of that 290 and this is one of them. There is a reason for that. You must hear it!
I think that because they were having such a great night, they chose to just have some fun and try out some new songs. This annoys a lot of people, I understand, but I think people often miss the point that the boys like playing new songs. It's fun for them. So all you haters should just suck it up and look past the set list. Because really, it's all about the improvisation and how they are playing on the extended jams. Get this show I say. But both nights are worth it.
Score: 1
spac_melt , attached to 2013-10-27 Permalink
This Slave should be on the jam chart. It's absolutely spectacular. My favorite from a strong year. This second set also includes top drawer versions of Tweezer and Golden Age. GA in particular is a rhythmic juggernaut. Fish is out of control, and precise at the same time, leading the jam in all kinds of new and exciting directions. I also prefer this Tweezer to Hampton's boring-at-times-to-my-ears version. This is another killer Sunday Show, and the perfect warm-up for the show of the tour in Reading. The Worcester--->Reading run is perhaps the strongest 4 nights put together since '04? '03? '98?? Great, great stuff.
Score: 0
gphishmon , attached to 2003-02-22 Permalink
Arguably the best show of 2.0. The whole show is filled with creative, sparkling, devious, wicked jamming, starting with just the third song Piper. We're already in Type 2 territory as this jam changes keys to segue into Weekapaug, played at an insane tempo, meaning just right (slow Weekapaugs have become the norm in 3.0), finally completing the Mike's from the previous night. WOTC is jammed balls-out -- God, I wish I'd get to hear this one sometime.

The second set starts with a jammed-out Tube. This tune was built for a jam, but when's the last time you heard one go past 5 min, let alone 11? Just as they seem to be ready to go into a new theme or a new song, BAM! they're into the closing section. Bathtub Gin -- what more needs to be said? After nearly 40 minutes of awesomeness, I'm sure lots of folks needed a bathroom break, and Friday provided just that, going on for 9 soul-sucking minutes to make sure everyone who needed to got the chance to go before they brought the energy back with a raging Bowie.

I considered myself lucky to get a ticket to the previous night. While that was certainly a good show, missing this one was a pity. One of the classics.
Score: 0
DARKH0LL0W , attached to 2014-10-18 Permalink
DARKH0LL0W I had a blast at this show.
first set
I really liked wolfman's, and gin in the first set, i thought kdf, cavern, the line and sugar shack were solid, and who can complain about lawn boy

the second set
i thought DWD>Golden was ok, i loved Fuego through backwards line. The Sand would be a highlight at any show, And thought the bold as love was great. Meatstick was solid, and fit the mood of the crowed, Zero was standard, and is over played.

this show is not for most phans. It reminded me of 93,but with more sound effects. some songs are shorter then most versions,but I find myself listening to the second set often. This was great live experience, witch did not translate to the webcast as well.
Score: 0
Rollings , attached to 1994-05-22 Permalink
Rollings My first show. Capacity at The Vogue is 1150 making this their second smallest crowd of the year. (Ottawa was #1)
This show has it all - 1st set has a Demand > Sloth opener, Peaches > SOAM, and a positively perfect Fluffhead. The 2nd set is just pure bliss. I was enthralled. There's a soundboard of the 2nd set that circulates but the Robert Ward tapes are where it's at if you ask me - pure, crispy goodness.
Score: 0
LucyDarkstar24 , attached to 2014-07-03 Permalink
This was my first show ever. Now everybody is saying how it wasn't a stand out show and it was boring/dull. This was a perfect first show! They were consistently tight throughout the whole show; yeah some songs were meh but some songs were kickass!! The Bathtub Gin>Limb By Limb was most definitely the highlight of this show. There was a rocking groove that kept the energy going the whole time; Limb By Limb got way more experimental than Bathtub Gin and the combo of the two turned into this spacey jam that was mesmerizing. It's great to see them play new songs as well because they are putting themselves out there and they are trying new things. Anyway, the highlights of this show personally are "Wolfman's Brother", "Maze", "Bathtub Gin", "Limb By Limb", "Tweezer", and "Tweezer Reprise". I know that they play Tweezer Reprise almost every time they play Tweezer but let me tell you...when Mike played that very first low D and it sustained for decades THE WHOLE PLACE JUST EXPLODED! The ground shook with fury and intensity, people began jumping up and down, people were screaming and losing their shit, and the energy at this point in the show was way past 11. My whole body went full numb when Mike played that D again and the whole venue just exploded into full blown Phish ecstasy. This show was amazing (even though it was pouring the whole time but it added a badass element to the show); but not as amazing as the next night.
Score: 0
AaronDJH , attached to 1992-07-22 Permalink
My first Phish show. Was just a young buck, so dont remember much other than the music blew my mind because it was like nothing else I ever heard. Over 20 years later, still getting mind fucked by these guys. Good news is I dont have to leave the show for little league anymore.
Score: 1
chooglincharley , attached to 1992-03-20 Permalink
chooglincharley great show!

the Reba is one of the best and should be considered "noteworthy"

Brother is solid

Fluff>Maze is spectacular

Great Mike's Groove

Standard, but solid Hood

All around, this is the quintessential 92 show in my opinion

I'm glad KF recognized me hounding him about this Reba and Fluff>Maze to include it as replay.
Score: 0
tsatsawassa , attached to 1989-05-11 Permalink
OK, so I was there. I was a senior in high school and I won tickets from WRPI without knowing who this band was at all. I was underage, but they let me and my buddy in. I sat at a table right in front of the band drinking Coke. I actually have proof I was there, because I asked for the poster the band put in the window, which I still have to this day. I actually just emailed Kevin Shapiro today with a picture of the poster to see if any other copies exist. There's a date hand drawn on the poster and a Pauly's Hotel logo affixed to it, too.

I had no idea what any of there songs were when I went to the show, but I can tell you one song they played. Trey told this whole long convoluted story about the song Divided Sky before launching into Divided Sky. Someone in the bar was so sick of his long story that they told him to shut the f*ck up. I seriously doubt that anyone knew who the band was at the time, and I am assuming most people were there just to get drunk. Phish had the trampolines and there were these pitchers of beer on the floor in front of them. I remember watching as the pitchers almost toppled over from their bouncing on the trampolines.

Funny story from the show was that I had long hair and played drums with my band; so I exuded the whole 'I'm a musician' vibe, although I was just a coddled white punk on dope from the 'burbs (Guilderland). I was milling around between sets with the band and someone came up to me to ask how long our band had been together; in other words, this person thought I was in Phish. Trey and Fishman looked at me with a little bit of hilarity when I told the person that those guys are in the band, not me.

I was so blown away by the show that I asked the bartender for the poster in the window because I knew they would become big. I thought they would end up at the (then known as) Knick arena in five years. I was wrong, it took them six years. I also distinctly remember that Mike was outside after the show by himself and it was raining. Someone had ripped down one of their other posters and it was outside on the sidewalk getting wet from the rain.

I bought a copy of their Junta cassette that night with the pink Fishman on the cover. I still have that, too.
Score: 2
Shae_Dougall , attached to 1990-03-17 Permalink
Shae_Dougall Unfortunately, the recording that circulates only captures the first set of this show. Admittedly, as I continue my journey through Phish history, shows like this can get a bit tiring, even though they're not bad by any means. In my previous review, I mentioned how 1990 has been rather paint-by-numbers to this point, and this show is a pretty good example of that.

Everything about the set screams "STANDAAAAARD!" All songs from Golgi through MSO are interchangeable with any other generic performances from the era, with the exception of Bouncing which has an uncomfortably unfamiliar ending and a questionable ->. Divided Sky and Lizards are solid, and Antelope provides what would be probably the major highlight from this one set recording. Apart from Bowie, Possum, and YEM, it was really the only tune they were consistently slaying during this time period. This Antelope has some crazy note-bending tension from Trey in the final buildup and is an enjoyable listen as usual. Overall, though, this show is nothing special and I wouldn't particularly recommend it. 2.5 stars.
Score: 1
Shae_Dougall , attached to 1990-03-11 Permalink
Shae_Dougall This show isn't the greatest Phish show ever played, but it definitely is the best one in 1990 to this point. In a winter where the band was clearly not bothering to be particularly creative in the jamming portions of their songs, this hometown show perhaps spurred them to try some new things for the first time in a while.

The jamming in Weekapaug and SOAM is top notch and the Bowie does some unique, dark things that we simply don't hear very often in the early days of this band. I'd recommend them all, in addition to a hilarious (impromptu?) Roll Like a Canteloupe and Harpua. Everything else is paint-by-numbers-1990, but some of the songs are finally starting to round into form (Reba, My Sweet One), and that's interesting to hear as well. So, of all the shows before the big spring Colorado tour, I'd recommend this one the most. The entirety of the show might not be to everyone's taste, but the highlights are more than enough to make up for it. I give this one 4 stars.
Score: 0
unclepen15 , attached to 2003-02-15 Permalink
Not so much a review of the show but its worth noting that Aaron Ralston (dude from 127 hours) was in attendance at this show. On the infamous day he descended into the canyon in Utah, he mentions in his book that he was listening to the second set of this show on his portable cd player.
Score: 0
Wilcs , attached to 1989-12-15 Permalink
I'm going to review this show not because I was there, but because I managed to stumble upon this show and never knew they played this venue, and I cannot believe how cool it is that the boys once played this venue that I love, and I bet a lot of people don't even know what it is, so I'm going to set the stage a little bit for anyone who might care to read this. This ain't your typical phish venue, and this ain't your typical review. Hope you enjoy, and if not, whatever, you suck.

= = = = = = = = = =

Its a cold day in the Ukraine. I've never been there, but I hear it's a little chilly. But you're OK. Cause you've escaped. You're tucked inside a warm, cozy, homey, inviting restaurant. A place that can hold about 30-40 people, max. Old wood paneling. Red and white middle european tapestries and random art on the wall. Gorgeous blonde waitresses...

There's no kitchen staff.. just a few bubbies/grandmas in the back, just doing their thing. And their "thing" is to make the most bomb-ass goodness you've ever had. Stewed meats so tender you don't even need to chew, mixed with piles of delicious, fresh from the garden vegetables, in a sauce that hits your belly and makes you feel like Icculus himself is giving you a hug from the inside-out. And then there's the pierogis....with onions and sour cream of course. Just do it.

Now imagine this goodness is not in the Ukraine but in the middle of New York City, tucked inside a nondescript building in the East Village. (And for those of you unfamiliar, the East Village ain't even the same zip code as Madison Square Garden, up-town a few miles. That place is a mega-mall compared to the EV. Shit gets real here. Or at least it used to...)

So you're sitting at this little gem of a restaurant (that you have to actually walk through an office building to get into)....it's December. December 15th. December 15th 1989. It's a Friday. It's cold as shit...Average temp on the day was 28 degrees. Low of 16. (holy shit the internet has a lot of random info out there.)

Everyone is looking forward to christmas next week.

But not you. You don't care about anything except the plate of lamb goulash you're about to bury your face in.

BUT WAIT.

There's some music starting up...

and waddya know...there's a little function room in the back of the restaurant.... Think, community meeting hall. Or a function room at an out-dated church or temple...

A band is playing. A bluesy band. A bluesy, traveling-sounding band. With a sick harmonica. Interesting.

And what's this now? "Take the A Train?" That song my grandpa used to play on the piano? What band would play such a song? But a sick, upbeat, jazzy version with a ripping solo by every member of the band?

You ask the waitress..."What's going on back there?"

"There? Oh...um...The fish!" she exclaims.

"The who?"

"No, not The Who, the fish!" she says. She shrugs and walks away after refilling your water (she's on her A-game).

You're a little intrigued, but far more fascinated by the steaming hot bowl of borscht, stuffed cabbage smothered with gravy, kielbasa, and kasha varnishes you just ordered. Food for 4, for 1. Standard.

So you eat. And you drink (cause it's BYOanything and you came prepared).

But that music...that music keeps getting weirder and weirder...and then you realize....it's also getting BETTER AND BETTER.

Is that guy saying "Golgi?" As in the organelle found in most eukaryotic cells that was identified in 1897 by the Italian physician Camillo Golgi and named after him in 1898?

You eat a little more. You pack it in. Cause you're at the Ukrainian National Home and that's what you do.

But now you have to see this fish for yourself. So you head back to that little function room, and HOLY SHIT! There's like 200 people crammed in there. They must have come in through a separate entrance.

And holy shit! This band is awesome. They fucking rock. Sick jam after sick jam. And their fans? They are pretty OK too. I am hooked on the fish!

-----------------

So I wasn't at this show,but I love this restaurant and love this band and can only dream of both co-existing at the same timeplace in the space- time continuum. I'd like to hear from someone who witnessed it firsthand. To think that the guys I have only seen at massive amphitheaters, arenas, and stadiums once played the tiny function room at one of my favorite local restaurants really makes me happy...

And I LOL at the Contact banter.
Score: 1
babaskate , attached to 1992-03-14 Permalink
My first show - what an experience! I just got into the band the previous fall and missed the Port Chester show, so the anticipation of catching them for the first time was huge. NYC was still a relatively new place to me coming from Long Island and I was so confused on how to get to the venue (even though it was so easy to get to from Penn Station). Vague memories of the color red, Fish's crash cymbals during Cracklin', and John Popper. I remember being so pumped and yelling like a little girl at the beginning of the Jim opener where the people in front of me were asking me to chill out - youthful exuberance I suppose. Back in the early GA shows, set breaks were always interesting trying to move through the crowd sitting on the floor, reconnecting with friends.

Re-listening to the show now brings a lot back - these early shows were so different and felt so raw, you can hear how young the band is at the time, even though it's 8 years into their career.
Score: 0
hardua , attached to 1993-03-14 Permalink
Imagine yourself in the summer of 1993. A dude you know gives you three soundboard tapes from the spring tour, set 2 of this night, the Crest Theatre and middle Roxy. Mind freakin' blown. I saw the two nights prior to this and there's no way I would have been prepared. I didn't even know there was another Colorado show but it was '93, the dark ages compared to today in terms of the availability of information.

Set 2 is the ultimate example of the awesomeness and weirdness of this band. Set 1 is amazing as well, better than advertised.

This is the only show I wish I went to. My buddies and I to this day can't believe we missed it.

1993 is a huge year. Check it out...
Score: 1
Login Register