Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

SkyTrainWand , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
SkyTrainWand This show kicked SO much ass.

My first time ever at Deer Creek and it was a blast. We're still pretty early in the tour, but Phish seems like they're on another level this year and it's the reason I drove like 650 miles to see them.

The doors were delayed by about an hour b/c of an incoming storm that only happened for about 15 minutes, but it didn't really matter since the band played well past curfew. I thought the first set was a rager, especially Maze, Saw It Again, and First Tube. I really enjoy the new song they debuted too, Breath and Burning.

Phish wasted no time showing us all that they're not just messing around. They mean BUSINESS.

This second set is honestly one of the most unique that I've seen thus far, PYITE opener was AWESOME and unexpected, Back On The Train sounded nice and funky, and then stuff started to get weird. The best kind of weird - Light > Golden Age -> Boogie On !!!

Mike dropped some SERIOUS bass bombs that sent shockwaves through the entire venue during that segment. I love Wingsuit every time they play it, Shade was cheesy (not a huge fan of the song... yet) but they CRUSHED it with Possum. Fast, blues-y and loud just like it should be with lots of cathartic Trey noodling.

Made my way back out of the pavilion during R&R. Got lost trying to figure out how to get back to the Orange lot and on-site camping (I exited through the wrong side) literally took me an entire hour... I was way too spun and like I mentioned it was my first time ever at the legendary Deer Creek.

I'm glad I went, the show did not disappoint, and the weather held up pretty nicely
Score: 0
Bob_Loblaw , attached to 1999-07-18 Permalink
Bob_Loblaw This show comes off very similar to Night 2 of IT.

We have 3 sets with strong anchor jams in each one.

Set 1 has a stronger than usual farmhouse. This is proceeded by a beautiful, fast, and tense Gin jam that would be the nightly prize of most shows. BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE! Much more. You get a very cool version of Back On The Train with the fiddle fitting like a puzzle piece, along with some standard Phishgrass. A slightly longer than normal and strong Reba brings things back to focus. And a cool Exploratory Chalkdust.

Set 2 opens with yet another fantastic giant jam, this Jim jam is sold spaceyness until it morphs into a heavy beast. Free proceeds it in typical pulsing style. And what could be better to wrap up a set then Axilla plowing into Llama, which is how it should be.

Set 3 Has the Piper and trust me this is a good one. It starts off as a total Trey Shredfest which turns into a Cowfunk Groove that only '99 could deliver. Wilson-> Catapult is a great segue and what is more fun then listening to Trey rant about how Smoke on The Water and Cat Scratch Fever are "The Same F***ing song!!", I was dieing! Then of course we have Fluff in it's typical strong self (99 is a great year for fluff).

Hood Encore? I'll take it any day! And this one is stretched out longer than usual and intense as hell at the end!

This is the serious Festival show that means business. 3 solid big jams, great segues, laughs, and 55,000 people dancing to meatstick.
Score: 0
mwittin , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
mwittin The soundcheck was Funky Bitch, Breath and Burning, and Sleep Again.

It was a rough day - the heat index was off the charts, and the storms that delayed the start of the show by an hour and a half made for a long day. Very little that was notable about the show otherwise, pretty typical 3.0 stuff. Some flubs. Not many jams. Grab-bag song selection. Camel Walk and Tube were each slowed down to a shuffle. I really enjoyed the Theme because I hadn't heard it in a long time, and the First Tube had a decent, non-standard solo at the end. A flubbery PYITE. Nice Train. Light was the highlight of the show for me with segues into chunky versions of Golden Age and Boogie On. Don't care for Wingsuit, but the stripped-down Shade was a nice cool-down. Possum and Rock and Roll got the usual high-energy treatment. A good time but not an outstanding show.
Score: 5
starlessandbibleblack , attached to 1989-11-04 Permalink
starlessandbibleblack I vaguely remember them playing Highway to Hell and Contact that night. Honestly, I was there because word on the street was that Phish was the best Dead cover band around. Sure they played some Dead tunes which rocked that tiny room, but the 'strange songs' I didn't know (yet) were equally entrancing and jammed out. I recall driving back to Orono with my friends chatting about how awesome they were while listening to the up and coming Blues Travelers. Anybody else remember what was played that night?
Score: 0
Greasykeys , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
I couldn't disagree with Gravitys Rainbow more and so feel compelled to write a review. First, my caveat. I was on the rail for the whole show, which is absolutely amazing in its own right. With that said, I have been seeing shows routinely since 1994 and have seen many many epic shows. This show stands out to me as one of the best I have ever seen...especially the first set. From the thoughtful song placement in the setlist to the absolute tight and cohesive performance. Page's performance was no doubt stellar, but the star of the show my perspective was clearly Trey...and he set the tone early in the show opener grinding his guitar strings along his mic stand and then later playing with his new guitar and effects, echoing a delayed/looped pattern that emerged last year and continued in Chicago and again in Deer Creek. There were so many highlights in the first set...Camel Walk, Poor Heart, Theme, Saw it Again and a raucous First Tube to close the set. I love the PYITE 2nd set opener and was calling it as the show opener. Well played! The jam during GBOTT was fantastic and the vocal work during Light was outstanding. I, for one, love Shade and thought that it was extremely well played. I love the three part harmony vocal call and answer and Trey's soloing was amazing. Possum and Rock and Roll closers had the crowd bouncing!

For me, length of jamming is not a measure of a great Phish show. The jamming must go somewhere and have a purpose and I felt that this show did just that and wound up being an epic Deer Creek show. After all, it is Deer Creek!

This show could easily be the best show during any Phish tour and will no doubt be one of the best of the summer when the dust settles. With that being said, I think that they will continue to outdo themselves as the tour rolls onward!

4.8/5.0
Score: 3
gravitysrainbow , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
gravitysrainbow It definitely was an odd night. The rain delay delayed the fun for only an hour and a half, and the band made up on lost time via a slightly shorter set break and the extension of the curfew until 12 am. All and all, the crowd looked ragged and tired after Chicago and the heat of the afternoon and the ups and downs of waiting out a rain delay.

Set 1: My Friend was great opener. Something special for the crowd. Its dark conclusion gestured towards things possibly to comes later in the set/show, but on the whole, the night was lighter, funkier, more upbeat. It is also worthy noting that the design of the first set (like in St. Paul) was thoughtful and decisive, modulating the energy flow expertly throughout. All versions of songs during this and the second set felt clipped or rushed to me, but each was incredibly tight, although never really breaking out the shell. The slower Camel Walk was nice, got people moving. Maze was easily the highlight of the first set. Page for President!!! Page was definitely the band and jam leader for the night. Was really hoping for a Melt to close the set, but as previously noted--things stayed relatively light on this night in humid Indiana.

Set 2: Second set was a bit a slow burn. In my opinion, PYITE never really lands solid as a second set opener, and then the shift into BOTT pretty much guaranteed the delay of deep jam for another song or two. Light marked the beginning of the show's short exploratory period (ending with Boogie). The jam was a little choppy, reminded me of some of the stops and starts in the long jams in early summer 2014 (Mann Feugo, CMAC Disease) before those Sunday shows really started to drop hard week after week. Golden Age, in my opinion, was the jam that really had some legs, but during a mid-jam band council of sorts, Mike abruptly shifted gears into Boogie. As has been previously noted, check out the Boogie outro jam. Funky breakdowns like this kept the show cohesive throughout, and hopefully foreshadow more funk to come in Philly etc. I hate to say it, but Shade was a bit of a downer. The intro sounds like Have Mercy, so I was really psyched for a moment, but then Shade started with its lyrics being unusually repetitive and the instrumentation not doing much for me. Possum was an attempt to recoup the energy, and did just fine in that role as always, but I think a Slave would have been more palatable at that point, given the relative lack of jam exploration throughout the night. Rock and Roll was probably all around the best delivered song of the night, and that of course bodes well for the Mann. Get ready, cuz Phish is going to burn that shed to ground by the end of Wednesday night.

But a great night all around. No regrets ever with this band. 3.5/5
Score: 3
FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
Well to start off the Shakedown was all the rage as usual, minus the two jerk faced under covers in IU tees. Sherriffs came by around 6 and informed everyone there would be a delay of 90 mins. because of impending doom lurking in the clouds. It passed nothing major just some wind and light rain which continued all night. TO THE MUSIC ALREADY!. First set was nice, starting with a MYF opener , the set had a decidedly Rifty feel to it crisp and cleen very song oriented no much jamming just very solid versions Tube x tra slow, Maze, Saw iT Again, and the new tune. Set ended with a enegetic version of First Tube. SET TWO. Good all around. Punch started things off very nicely into BOTT also extended. Then Fat Fat meat. LIGHT GOLDEN AGE BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN. This three song combo was on aboslute fire, Trey used the echoplex exquisitely into Boogie and carried it through the whole song. Let me tell you that this was the best Boogie i have seen ever! All that awesomeness gave way to a nicely placed Wingsuit and Shade. Then a Possum to end the set. Rock and Roll encore , short but love the placement! All in all this was a great show in will be near the top come the end of summer.
Score: 2
Csnizzle23 , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
The hype for this show was unreal. I got to go to my old home town and watch phish play 5 minutes from my doorstep. So when i got the chance to drive up from Texas for my first show, i took the opportunity and it was boy was it worth it! Of course the rain delay only made me more excited for what was to come...I got comfy in my seat ready for a heater of a set and the boys knew i would be there tonight. Started off with a My Friend and kept the first set going in an act of first settage i hadnt witnessed on couch tour previously...the Tubes, the debuts, a groovy camel walk and maze...set 1 killed. And when i made my migration out to the lawn to join my friends for a killer set two, they MORE than delivered! I anticipated a possum and called a Light>Golden Age in the parking lot before. It was everything i wanted and expected at Deer Creek and i can't wait to rage there again!
Score: 5
ziggybirds , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
ziggybirds For whatever reason, The Moma Dance made me feel this was going to be a real good show. The AC/DC Bag>555 confirmed it. Can Moses play that vacuum cleaner or what? Love the new red headed drummer. First set finished with a bang.

The second set? Oh my. Well played. Lovely jams. I thought the flow of the second set was superb. The setlist was great. Give this a listen, you won't be disappointed. Loved: Carini through Velvet Sea. Perfect if Harry had been jammed out more. Good show. Fun Walrus.
Score: 0
Harrison , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
Thought I might have to hide under my blanket for a few minutes in Carini, but then the clouds parted. Lots of "open spaces" in the jams and unexplored opportunities, without the jarring ripcord feeling of a few years ago. Nice to exceptional flow for 40 minutes into the (somehow slightly less gruesome) brick wall that is Velvet Sea. Great work on composed sections and vocals. Divided sky and Fluffhead both great. I thought Hood was elegant, if short and in the pocket. Ripping Trey solos sprinkled throughout the night.

With so many good/great slower (and newer) tunes to drop gears into, it perplexes me why the band lands in the songs they do in the second set. I guess that's phish though...
Score: 0
Harrison , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
Thought I might have to hide under my blanket for a few minutes in Carini, but then the clouds parted. Lots of "open spaces" in the jams and unexplored opportunities, without the jarring ripcord feeling of a few years ago. Nice to exceptional flow for 40 minutes into the (somehow slightly less gruesome) brick wall that is Velvet Sea. Great work on composed sections and vocals. Divided sky and Fluffhead both great. I thought Hood was elegant, if short and in the pocket. Ripping Trey solos sprinkled throughout the night.

With so many good/great slower (and newer) tunes to drop gears into, it perplexes me why the band lands in the songs they do in the second set. I guess that's phish though...
Score: 3
kyleindeed , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
kyleindeed The mentality of Phish going into N2 of Wrigley (3rd show of the tour), was to give a performance that would stand the test of time and provide top tier legitimacy for 2016. @n00b100 referred to night 2 of the Mann last summer (08/12/2015) as when Phish appeared to be playing for bigger stakes. Even at that point, the band was more than halfway through the tour.

3 shows in, and the stakes are already quite high and much higher than the first week of shows from last summer.

S1 can be loosely summarized as a peak of phun, phunk and phrivolity. Really digged each song (even Heavy Things lol).

S2 reaches deeply into the tomb of a dark, tense, fire-breathing black dragon and takes an axe to it's neck with 8 calculated licks called Carini > Tweezer > Fluffhead > Piper -> Steam > Wading in the Velvet Sea, Harry Hood, and... > Tweezer Reprise.

By then the band takes possession of the monster's head only to realize that the dragon is really a Walrus that they can now claim to be their own.... cu cu kachoo!!!

Wrigley presented a big scene for the band from Vermont. They weren't about to have anyone leave last night without feeling any regret over what was played and how. Keep the fire burning in Deer Creek, boys!!! INDEED!!!!!
Score: 4
nickulus , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
nickulus This was my first couch tour show this year - looking forward to getting on the road once the boys are back in the NE.

In terms of setlist construction, this one doesn't get much better in my book. Great energy throughout and tight playing. Fluffhead was nailed and it was nice to see it in the third quarter. My expectations were high after Carini>Tweeer>Fluffhead and the Piper -> Steam didn't disappoint. A Hood and Tweeprise to round out the set was excellent, even if the Hood didn't get exploratory. A Walrus in the encore was a fun surprise.

The summer is shaping up very nicely...
Score: 2
nickavv , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
nickavv Watched on LivePhish webcast. Second set was just about perfect in my book. Carini, Tweezer, and Piper all were great jams. Fluffhead was played perfectly which is awesome to hear for its reappearance. The segue from Piper -> Steam was phenomenal, and Steam was the best version of the song I've ever heard. I Am the Walrus encore was the unexpected cherry on top.

The band is playing great, can't wait to get out on the road to see them in person next week
Score: 9
Qstick7 , attached to 2000-09-27 Permalink
I had a great time!!! My hubby was dancin and the next moment he's puking and sick as shit bent over with his head between his legs. I still had fun and danced all night!!! Him, not so much.
I remember the weather was great~ and I missed the opener~ well not missed, just walking to the venue during it~ all in all a great show!!
Score: 0
Login Register