Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

theghost , attached to 1997-07-25 Permalink
theghost Surprise, surprise. It was brutally hot in Dallas and this venue always seemed to feel extra hot compared to other Texas spots. So to my surprise, Fishman comes out in a three-piece suit and hangs up his jacket on a coat rack that had been set up. He proceeded to play with the vest still on for quite a while. I think he took the vest off eventually, but still played the show in dress shirt and pants. I suspect nobody wanted to get anywhere near that suit at the end of the show.

The clear highlight for me was the Gin to the end of the set. Great stuff! The dual drums didn't do much for me. I don't think he knew the grooves too well and the whole set felt disjointed rhythmically. A worthy but failed experiment IMO. The next night was better but it still might have been better without him. I mean no offensive to his playing...it just didn't gel properly.

This was a good show, but not up to par with the rest of the tour, with the exception of the Gin.
Score: 0
BigTunes , attached to 1995-06-22 Permalink
This was my first Phish show and I loved it. I still do and it holds a special place in my heart. After obtaining a few shows on tape, I knew to expect the unexpected. Before that show I thought the vacuum was a joke. My next 3 shows I wondered why fish didn't play the vacuum again. There was so much activity onstage and in the air that I never thought to count the number of songs. I didn't even realize that tweezer was so long because I thought it was multiple songs strung together. I was 17 years old and stone sober too. I was also impressed that these guys rocked While My Guitar Gently Weeps. Even the Beatles had to recruit Clapton to record that song. I remember the excitement of submitting cassettes and waiting months for a copy of this show (it was 95 and the Internet was in its infancy). I spent the last 21 years bragging to fellow phans that I was indoctrinated with Fleezer. This week I will relisten to this show for the countless time. All I can say is that phish were playing to the audience and I loved it. Disclaimer, this critic loves the long type II jams. Enjoy in context.
Score: 0
Whoscounting , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
One thing I enjoy about the west coast seams to be the chill aspect of go with the phlow. I don't know if it is because of the Dead or what but there is no rush and everyone seams well tenured. When the music starts its a different story. There is still plenty of fire depending on how the bands feel. Last night I think they felt fine. The Farmhouse chill opener was a little scary but now that I look back it was a fine start especially since everyone decides to go in one minute before the band takes the stage. LOL. As far as a review. I am always thankful to see Phish. PERIOD. I am thankful. Unlike some I like Phish no matter what darn form 1,2,3... I enjoy each era for what it is. No comparing etc. I just enjoy. There are shows in every decade that I can put as a 10. Once again just thankful we have the scents and subtle sounds that are PHISH. A show in Beautiful San Diego? How can you go wrong. Everyone was very friendly. Very Phraindly actually. Really enjoyed the scene. Is dope basically legal now. Even as it is not in Ca it appears cops nor the people really give two shits. As it should be. All and all another one under the belt and we went home with a smile. Sucks when its over. Thank goodness for downloads in Apple Lostless sound. As far as the actual music, I must put some headphones on and be analytical in my mind but never to a review as once again, I am thankful the boys play. Have a good week you all. See you at Dick's for a guaranteed great show. Have you been let down yet at Dicks? I bet not.
Score: 0
piper1011 , attached to 2016-07-22 Permalink
What's ultimately sad about this show and this tour is that a show like last night's gets a 4.3 and a show like Brooklyn '04 gets a 4.0, as if that show is even in the same planetary system (if not universe) as this one.

Chalk it up to 3.0 v 2.0 as you like, but all that means is 2.0 > 3.0. I think people are afraid to admit a band in decline. But that's just a fact of life. Michael Jordan doesn't play in the nba anymore and that's the way it is. Phish will always be a good time (I hope), but the phish community in fighting over any negative critique of the playing or the band is like arguing over whether tiger's golf game is what it used to be.

Doing so doesn't diminish the incredible legendary accomplishments, and I fully appreciate the yearning for the past, but at some point you just need to call a spade a spade and accept reality. The reviewer of this show does that, and that's why it's a good and honest review (though not nearly as bling as this post, admittedly).
Score: 0
piper1011 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
What's ultimately sad about this show and this tour is that a show like last night's gets a 4.3 and a show like Brooklyn '04 gets a 4.0, as if that show is even in the same planetary system (if not universe) as this one.

Chalk it up to 3.0 v 2.0 as you like, but all that means is 2.0 > 3.0. I think people are afraid to admit a band in decline. But that's just a fact of life. Michael Jordan doesn't play in the nba anymore and that's the way it is. Phish will always be a good time (I hope), but the phish community in fighting over any negative critique of the playing or the band is like arguing over whether tiger's golf game is what it used to be.

Doing so doesn't diminish the incredible legendary accomplishments, and I fully appreciate the yearning for the past, but at some point you just need to call a spade a spade and accept reality. The reviewer of this show does that, and that's why it's a good and honest review (though not nearly as bling as this post, admittedly).
Score: -1
ThomasFunkyEdison , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
ThomasFunkyEdison I'd like to start off, for context's sake, by saying that I'm from the east coast and just completed the full west coast run, all the way from The Gorge through Chula Vista. I also made an 18 hour drive (round trip) in 1 day to see the Hartford show a week prior.

I will first start off by giving my honest thoughts about this show in a vacuum, and then provide some overall thoughts about this show in the context of my tour experience.

First Set:
- Farmhouse opener may not be a crowd-favorite, but it's an OK one for this reviewer since, well, I live in a farmhouse. They continue with another mid-tempo song duo in 555 and WITS (the slower version which they seem to have brought back this year). For these first three songs, only about half the crowd had made it to their seats, likely the result of an earlier ticket time on top of an over-bearing, slow-as-molasses bag check line. This may not have had anything to do with the slower song selection but perhaps it did.

- Ghost gets things going a bit, with some good soloing by Trey, similar to BGCA. Now I'll never complain about a Ghost in any position, but it always stings a bit known it wont go much past the 10 minute mark given that it's one of my favorite jam vehicles. Despite staying within Ghost proper, it definitely infused some much-needed energy into the crowd.

- Ass Handed follows. This is classic Phish to the max and without question my favorite of the new songs debuted this summer. It's funny, non-sensical, and has an unexpected riff of power chords at the end. It shows they're still having the same ol' fun they used to have, and if nothing else provides a good minute of smiles for the crowds (I mean, c'mon, it's pretty funny).

- The Sloth and MM continue the set, and keep the energy and dance grooves rolling. The Sloth is a nice treat, not seen by this reviewer since 2011. Martian Monster is probably my favorite post-fuego new song. It has a smooth, driving tempo and Page's work on the clavs always gets me moving. That said, it's curious to me that they've shrunk it down to a mere 4 minutes the last few times theyve played it. I don't think I'm wrong to say that many (most?) of us thought for sure it would be the next jam vehicle, so to continue to see it shortened and in the first set is a little disconcerting.

- Reba follows, and is, well, Reba. Very nice jam to it and the composed section was well-played from what I remember. Ass handed is played again, and it's every bit as good as the first.

- Tube is where the show really got going for me. Like everyone else here, I love the fact that it was finally jammed out a little bit. Trey had some nice stylings on the Supa Puss and all 4 of them brought it out to a really nice peak at the end! Some really wonderful, unexpected stuff right there. Wolfmans continued the energy with some nice funk and some California Love teases. I leaned over to my GF after the first few notes of the tease and said, "I think thats a California Love tease right there." After Trey started singing the lyrics it was pretty clear that my ability to call Phish teases made her underparts tingle just a little. WOTC was a nice way to finish the set.

Overall I think this was one of the stronger sets of tour. It's an odd feeling to put a first set in the conversation, but I guess that's just how this tour was for a lot of us.

Set Two:

- 2001 is a great way to start the set. It's a little bit jammier than most 3.0 versions but still rather tame. Ive come to temper my expectations about ever hearing a 2001 that compares to the stronger 97-99 versions, but I'd be lying if I didn't say I felt that excitement about the prospect last night, given its rare position in the 2.1 slot. Despite staying within the box, this 2001 delivers a solid 10 minutes of boogying before moving on to....

- 46 Days. Always a great rocker to help strengthen the mood. 2015 saw some standout renditions in MPP and Magnaball. This one stays within the box, but rocks out for sure.

- Piper. "OK here we go!" I thought as the intro started to build. Piper featured some wonderful playing by the front man and some great full-band interplay. Around the 10 minute mark it seemed as though they were going to take it deep and finally give us west coast folks some type II delight. Unfortunately it wasn't to be and the band went into a pretty abrupt > into twist.

- Twist again provides an opportunity for some deep space exploration. If it's not evident from my review already, let me say that the reason why I travel so far across the country to see Phish is for the long, deep jams. Sure, I love seeing old friends, meeting new ones, catching some bust outs and new songs. But I can stay within a 100 mile radius of my house and do that. Twist again stays within the box and doesn't quite deliver that *punch* that I've been hoping for this west coast run.

- BDTNL is next, which all but states that this will, for me, be a jam-free summer, which is disappointing to say the least. I do like numberline, but after seeing 23 renditions (most in the second set) it's one that I can do without for a while. It takes me a few minutes to accept the fact that there won't be much type II until 2017 for me, after which I was able to just enjoy being in San Diego surrounded by friends seeing one of the greatest bands alive still kicking it and having fun.

- Carini was carini. It felt too little too late for me as far as this show goes. Generally when I hear those notes I go ballistic, knowing what could possibly come from it. This one again stays well within the box and doesn't quite deliver for me. Well-played, however.

- Hood was *wonderfully* peaked. Loving cup was a good ending to a good summer.

- Monkey > Tweezer Reprise/Ass Handed Reprise was really really really fun. The perfect way to end the summer.

In a vacuum, this show is very solid. It had some great setlist choices, a longer-than-average Tube, California Love teases in Wolfmans. When put in context of this tour as a whole, it was standard-faire, pre-2012 3.0 Phish. At risk of sounding overly negative, this summer was disappointing to me. As far as risk-taking and jamming, this seems to be the first step in the wrong direction since the return. To me it has been a steady increase every year since 2009. Each tour brought something new to the table and the band members seemed to become more comfortable dipping into the ethers. This summer seemed to fall flat in all regards as far as improv and jamming goes.

That's not to say I didn't have an ABSOLUTE BLAST this summer. Phish is playing well, their peaks aren't telegraphed from a mile away, and the setlists were fresh. That said, there were so many shows (I'm looking at you Mann and BGCA3) with weak, weak second sets. For me to *really* get into it, I really do need at least one long-form jam to hang my hat on. Last summer it came on my first night of tour (MPP1) and continued through Magnaball. Shows like MPP2 don't seem as flat when you've just had a show like MPP1. This summer that never really came for me, unfortunately. It was the first time in my relatively short career that my mind wasn't *blown* at least one time. It seemed as though every time they miiiiight attempt some long-form jam it was cut short for something else. There were some definite highlights (SPAC Moma/CDT that I wasn't there for), but I could probably count them on my fingers with a few left over.

That was all said to say this: had there been at least one or two *incredible* jams or shows, a show like last night would have been the cherry on top. However, all things (re)considered, it fell short of what I could have hoped for overall.

I give the show a solid 5.5-6/10.

Thanks for the good times this summer everyone!! Be safe out there.
Score: 0
FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
Last night was my 175th show and 13th of this tour. THE VIBE was the best I have experienced since Hampton in 2013. Everyone was grinning ear to ear all night long there were 2000 people in the lawn ar best, 90% of which looked and acted like we could be best friends. I really had a great time and after what was a lack luster tour for me personally, last night really reminded me of why I love this band. standouts of Ghost, Reba, Tube, Wolfmans. Trey didnt miss a note all night. If you like 1.0 type shows this one was smoking!!!!
Score: 1
FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
Last night was my 175th show and 13th of this tour. THE VIBE was the best I have experienced since Hampton in 2013. Everyone was grinning ear to ear all night long there were 2000 people in the lawn ar best, 90% of which looked and acted like we could be best friends. I really had a great time and after what was a lack luster tour for me personally, last night really reminded me of why I love this band. standouts of Ghost, Reba, Tube, Wolfmans. Trey didnt miss a note all night. If you like 1.0 type shows this one was smoking!!!!
Score: 4
esulkes , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
This show was a complete 180 degree turn from the Forum the night before! This was fun-loving funky Phish ready to show some California Love to end this tour! Highlights include Ghost, Wolfman's Brother and my favorite version of Tube I've ever experienced live, and the Hood in set 2. Thank you Phish!
Score: 1
Gooner , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
I had a blast at this show. I've been wanting a Jammed out Tube and 2001 and they finally delivered. Farmhouse opener was a little scary, but the ghost that followed was just great. Reminded me of the BGCA ghost which was another terrific ghost, probably the best of tour. I've been waiting for a Reba since starting tour at the gorge, and this one was played very well.

Honestly, I just don't understand how that brains guy who reviewed on this show too can be so negative. No highlights at a show??? What the hell. Like what more do you want, dude? The ghost and wolfmans were great jams, with the Cali love quotes and teases in wolfmans were a solid addition to that song. WOTC is always a great closer to a set.. Hood peaked well and was played nicely .The jammed out tube- highlight of the show next to the... 2001, also jammed out, as a second sat opener. Did they do a 20 min epic jam tonight??? No, but fuck, not every show needs one to be a solid show.

did the overall tour feel as strong as 2015?? No. But the band is playing well and seem to be having a blast. And that's really all I care about. Keep seeing them while you can, they won't be around forever.

And seeing phish, even at a bad show like the forum, is still a special experience. I'll gladly take a bad show like that over them not touring at all.

Sorry to bitch about someone's review but god... The negativity of some people is just so frustrating.

4/5 or maybe close to 4.5/5
Score: 5
thumpasaurus , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
I dont see how an objective review can be made without actually being at the show. I look at every concert (last night was #94) as an individual creation, existential in its own right. To compare shows and tours is just a bunch of semantic jargon that is tedious and unnecessary. A Phish show to me is something that is not quantifiable. No matter how hard you try to disect it with fluffy word matter, in the end it is nothing but an ethereal existential experience.
For every single person there, I can safely say we all had the time of our lives. There was such a serenity present being amongst so many beautiful people. This is how I calculate a show, by its beauty. For beauty is the gage in which all art should be judged, not boring metrics.
Score: 2
brains481 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
brains481 A quick addendum to my last review for those who seemingly didn't read it in full:

I gave it a positive review (I even called it heartwarming, and because of that I have one less teste), and the score is at -6.

That makes sense.

I guess I have to slit my wrist and give my blood to Trey to not be considered a ''hater'' now, eh?
Score: 2
Pdizzle72 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
After the Forum, which sucked, but I had fun, I had high hopes for Sleep Train. The Farmhouse opener was very scary. But the sound was great at the amphitheater, and you could tell that the boys had a little something extra for us. The 555 was a well placed addition to the set. Ghost was crunchy and I love the energy towards the end. Similar to the BGCA Ghost. The Reba was great. Smooth transitions and high energy. I felt like my internal mind emails to the band were answered with this Tube. They finally let it ride out like Tube always should. 10 min Tubes!!!! Possibly my favorite ever..? Wolfmans continued the fun. Funky and well placed. The California Live phrases were just epic. And the Walls of a Cave was fiery and carried us into set break with all smiles!!! Beautiful first set!!!!

With all in attendance probably thinking the predictable Tweezer was the obvious choice for the opener, they decide to stun all and open up with 2001. The slow builder and again, prayers answered and not another 5 minute 2001!!! Nice to be back in double digit length for this jam. Amazing opener!! They continue with 46 Days and you can just feel the energy through the crowd. The band definitely had a little something extra for us tonight. This carries into Piper. I thought it might be short because the verses started so quickly, but they continued the jam to make this a solid version. Twist was just pure fire. I'm not gonna be surprised if a lot of babies are born exactly 9 months after this show... What a panty dropper?!? Silky smooth. You know the night is good when even BDTNL sounds good. I know, that was hard to even type... Short but good version of Carini, Hood was pretty standard. Lovin Cuo seemed like the right choice for the closer. I think everyone felt the buzz from the night.

Sleeping Monkey was a humorous version, referencing Page wearing while playing the song. I appreciated the good amount of light hearted humor throughout the night. And out of nowhere, Tweezer Reprise appears to knock us out of the park. Ass Handed lyrics included. What a clever way of letting us know that they are back and still got it.

This tour may have had it flaws. And maybe it wasn't the best tour, but there were a lot of moments that reminded us why we see this amazing band!!! Wrigley 2, Hartford, BGCA2, and Sleep Train are all examples of the boys showcasing their abilities to WOW us even to this day. Kudos to them!!! Heavily applauded all around for a great night, and a fabulous trip in California!!! Back to Philly we go!!!
Score: 6
brains481 , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
brains481 After last night's show, I frankly didn't have high hopes for this one. Unlike the Forum, which had last year's harbinger of summer 2015 to come going for it, Sleep Train has never really churned anything but OK and adequate gigs

Anyhow:

SET I:

Farmhouse opener, Ass Handed, which was repeatedly quoted throughout the night, Ghost's first appearance since it gave me face cancer at BGCA and WoTC to close out the Set

SET II:

2001 started, which had a great groove going as it kicked off, before heading into the usual 2001 theme. I wouldn't have minded if they kept going with just what they had; only using the drumbeat from 2001 as a starting point, but it did it's thing before 46 Days, which had some tension for heading back into the chorus, followed by a damn fine and searing Trey solo.

Piper followed, and started off with some assured soloing from Trey, which steadily grows more loopy and weird, before at Page's insistence, the jam becomes more melodic and speeds up. Then Page moves over to the organ and the jam briefly soars before skidding into more rhythmic and funky territory, before Trey plays the riff to Twist, which, for much of it's duration, is very restless almost to the point of being unfocused before Page and Trey's great harmonic interplay emerges during it's last minute or so before they go back into the Twist theme.

Backwards Down the Number Line was next, and as much as I like it, it's an indicator of the Fourth Quarter (or as the last show called it, the entire show) and it always feels a little dull compared to the studio incarnation. Carini was next and it felt... I don't even know how to put my finger on it. I suppose, clumsy might be the word? The composed part was fine, but the jam section just felt off and everyone seemed a tad out of sync.

Hood is probably the best of this show, and it has an excellent peak and a fine build up. It's Hood, but it gets the job done, as does Loving Cup, which closed the set.

Page's favorite song, Sleeping Monkey, was the encore, and began with some musings from Trey about how much they enjoyed themselves and how much fun the tour was, and if there's one thing that elevates the show it's how fun it is, what with the Ass Handed quotes, but also how unabashedly sincere it is as the last show of the tour. That said, while my webcast broke during the start of Sleeping Monkey (thanks nugs), It seems that during the SBD (whether this is in jest or not), it seems Mike shed a tear or two or at least got a tad emotional after Trey's speech, which was oddly touching.

It shows just how much these four mean to each other and how much they value their time together, and while I've often railed against people judging shows notwithstanding the music but just how much fun they had or by some other moronic metric so as to avoid talking about the music, this really does bumps the show up a notch, like Trey dancing in YEM did during last night's abomination of a ''show''.

Anyway, Tweezer Reprise ( I don't get it either, but it's called ''Ass Handed Reprise'' on the LP Release, so maybe it's like the aftermath of the 12/31/99 Sand is Quadraphonic Toppling, where despite the music being completely different from Toppling it's marked it because of the quotes) closes the show and...

OVERALL:
They really tried in that second set, but it just wasn't their night. But, at least they tried, unlike last night, now my mortal enemy, and there were some good bits here and there, like the Hood and of course, the unabashed show of camaraderie at the start of and during Sleeping Monkey, and that oddly counts for a lot.

HIGHLIGHTS: Frankly none. The Hood maybe, but that'd be stretching it. The Piper, Twist and Carini jams tried, but ultimately went nowhere.

SCORE:3 - 3.5/5
Score: -2
znmick , attached to 2016-07-23 Permalink
znmick This show was just incredibly fun, and the evening held a magic that I think was palpable to everybody in attendance.

First set - Reba was flippin' awesome, providing a perfect soundscape to the setting sun, and later on Tube really funked out and went deep... Oddly enough, it seemed like it was Fishman who tried to ripcord Tube a time or two, only to find Trey keeping the jam locked and on course - an interesting juxtaposition.

The second set 2001 opener was patient, roaming and exploring... And it's opener placement was exceptional. 46 Days was fun and had punch, but the roving jams introduced by Piper and then really heightened during Twist were nothing short of sick. BDTNL gave us a bit of a greater while featuring some killer playing, and then the grit got nasty and thick again with Carini, followed by a spirited Hood and Loving Cup.

Even the encore was phat tonight. Sleeping Monkey is a rare favorite of mine, though I still need to find out exactly what the meaning of the song is as Trey pointed out this evening. And then... Whaaaaaat???? A Tweezer Reprise with alternate, Ass Handed lyrics??? And delivered to us without an actual Tweezer? Totally unexpected but happily accepted!!!

Overall, tonight was just a really fun show to be in attendance for. No idea what couch tour was like or how it'll stand up upon relisten, but from where I took it in I found it wonderful, joyous and intentionally experimental.

4.5 / 5
Score: 18
Login Register