Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

HotPale , attached to 2014-08-31 Permalink
HotPale love diCK5 CO-flag motif painting to Chris Kuroda. We caught his attention after set break started and when he realized what IT said his eyes lit up with Joy!
Walking back towards the front I felt high on life.
Before I knew IT the boys were on stage again and belting out Chalk Dust Torture. This version wasn't quite the dust-storm we saw @ DICK'S exactly two years earlier, but like K.D.F., C.D.T. Has made an appearance all 4 years. C.D.T. segued into Twist and moving all around Twist's end result was The Wedge. I was lucky enough to witness this summer's Northerly-Wedge and while this one didn't rival Chicago's wedgendary status IT was placed perfectly before the 4th annual appearances of Tweezer and Sand. Tweezer is a temptation Trey finds hard to resist and this is became evident as the jam seized the day and stepped back into Sand. Sand drifted into a spacey Piper who made her 4th consecutive Sunday appearance at DICK'S. Piper came and went as fast a microburst, but before the sound of the storm was over we had new words to sail upon. Joy rose up and would be gone before too long; however, Steve Allen made the bold call of a raging 2nd set Joy and rewarded with a ground-scored Troy Pistachio coozie.
A momentary pause in this otherwise continuous jamming set was the spilt-second break needed for what many fans are calling the best Mike's Song of the 3.0 era. Being that we were already treated to one of the best appearances of Simple on Friday, Sneaking Sally Through The Alley served as a great choice to sneak between Mike's and Weekapaug Groove. Sally included her usual vocal jam reminiscent of Aerosmith's Rag Doll. As the groove continued I couldn't help but feel that we were all sharing in the culmination of 4 years of magic.
IT was obvious the boys were feeling the magic too as they took the stage for the last time and the beautiful buzz lasted a few more minutes with Loving Cup. Loving Cup was certainly not fumbled as the boys stumbled back into the freezer one more time to close out the weekend with Tweezer Reprise. I got my S show in '11 and although they didn't play a Friday W show like I predicted the Sunday night spectacular was really what I was waiting for...
The FYF show is probably my favorite show I've attended, but 8/31/14 has now become my most sentimental show. Maybe I imagined IT, but the lights never looked better than they did that 2nd set. Phish's decision to return to DICK'S every Labor Day weekend hows how important this run has become to their career and ranks up there w/ New Year's Eve and Halloween as the most sacred days on the calendar. The only thing left to say is FOUR MORE YEARS...at the very least!
Score: 0
OrangeSox , attached to 1994-12-02 Permalink
OrangeSox There should be a review here so i'll volunteer. Came to this show for the Cosmic Country Horns, this incarnation featuring Michael Ray and Peter Apflebaum especially. No disappointment at all here!

The first set is solid, especially the Simple -> It's Ice, the segue of which is quite butter, and an average-great Stash.

This Bowie heralding the beginning of the Cosmic Country Horns inclusion (whom Trey calls Giant Country Horns fwiw at the end of the Bowie) is 22 minutes of good hot-fire, one of the unsung Late 94 Bowies of lore with the horns popping into the final coda.

To me, this is a concise version of the best songs for horns for Phish, even if it's missing Flat Fee (gone since 1991) and Alumni Blues. The presence of the horns here is not nearly as fluid and swinging as GCH of 1991. The horns take a harsher timbre here, more natural and mildly discordant, which is great, and employ more powerful blasts to punctuate their parts. Apflebaum is the lead horn soloist and very creative. No wonder this was the beginning of a long productive relationship between Trey and him.

I think it'd be swell to hear a sbd recording of this show but the aud of this show is just fine. It should be heard.
Score: 1
AyeDontWantAGoldfish , attached to 1989-10-13 Permalink
AyeDontWantAGoldfish This show was at Copperfield's. I am positive about this. I was there! They played the Orange Grove in the spring of '89. I missed that.

They sound checked Reba, which I don't think they had played officially played live yet. They were still working out the whistling parts.

This was my first Phish show and the only one I ever attended where the venue was less than half full.
Score: 0
HotPale , attached to 2014-08-31 Permalink
HotPale Having moved to CO the week of the S show has proven to me countless times that IT was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Phish's decision to return to Commerce City annually has proven to be one of the best career moves they have ever made. Sunday night at DICK'S started off going south, but in our community this means something else. From the opening licks of The Curtain With the boys were sending a message; in a sense regretting nothing and rewarding us with this treasure. After 13 minutes of pure bliss the boys left behind The Curtain With a broken leg, and bringing it forward Wombat emerged as the song we had to have. Listen for Fish's vocals as they are hilariously high-pitched. For calling Wombat I was rewarded with a ground-scored Abe Vigoda mask.
With the blessed return of the boy's in '09 who knew 3 days would turn into 5 years? Phish is arguably at the top of their game and next came a staple of the 3.0 era. Kill Devil Falls rarely deviates from standard form as this proved to be the case with the next two songs as well. We went from bouncing off the walls to Bouncing Around The Room and Poor Heart. Both classics fit beautifully in this set before breaking way to the rising tide of A Song I Heard The Ocean Sing. This venture into the sea proved to be powerful & punctual, but rather unambitious clocking in at 2 seconds quicker than her maiden voyage on Undermind.
Having safely reached landfall, Leo and Cactus serenaded us sweetly with Lawn Boy. Being in a soccer stadium and standing on a floor rather than grass feels strange. Having said that we could still smell the moist green organic as IT became time for another visit from The Wolfman's Brother. The smooth atonal sounds came down on us and absolutely crushed IT! This ship had not come aground as we sailed into the song I was waiting all weekend to hear. The ethereal Waiting All Night has drawn mixed reviews; however, I hope this song sails on the rotation.
Following in this trend of W songs The Winterqueen filled the space and resounded around the stadium with her song. This song is about wishing you were someone, something or somewhere else rather than accepting the beauty that lies within. When a new song enters the mix sometimes we dismiss IT and long for the classics and the comforts. Well, The Winterqueen's reign is far from over and following her came a visit from her older sister. Funky Bitch delivered as always as the boys sandwiched in a rippin' Tube between her and a set closing Possum. Phish must have known that my buddy T.J. Missed Friday night's first set and saved him an awesome Possum.
Knowing this would be the set-closer Amy and I made our way back to the sound/lighting board and to deliver a glow-in-the-dark we all
Score: 0
HotPale , attached to 2014-08-31 Permalink
HotPale Having moved to CO the week of the S show has proven to me countless times that IT was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Phish's decision to return to Commerce City annually has proven to be one of the best career moves they have ever made. Sunday night at DICK'S started off going south, but in our community this means something else. From the opening licks of The Curtain With the boys were sending a message; in a sense regretting nothing and rewarding us with this treasure. After 13 minutes of pure bliss the boys left behind The Curtain With a broken leg, and bringing it forward Wombat emerged as the song we had to have. Listen for Fish's vocals as they are hilariously high-pitched. For calling Wombat I was rewarded with a ground-scored Abe Vigoda mask.
With the blessed return of the boy's in '09 who knew 3 days would turn into 5 years? Phish is arguably at the top of their game and next came a staple of the 3.0 era. Kill Devil Falls rarely deviates from standard form as this proved to be the case with the next two songs as well. We went from bouncing off the walls to Bouncing Around The Room and Poor Heart. Both classics fit beautifully in this set before breaking way to the rising tide of A Song I Heard The Ocean Sing. This venture into the sea proved to be powerful & punctual, but rather unambitious clocking in at 2 seconds quicker than her maiden voyage on Undermind.
Having safely reached landfall, Leo and Cactus serenaded us sweetly with Lawn Boy. Being in a soccer stadium and standing on a floor rather than grass feels strange. Having said that we could still smell the moist green organic as IT became time for another visit from The Wolfman's Brother. The smooth atonal sounds came down on us and absolutely crushed IT! This ship had not come aground as we sailed into the song I was waiting all weekend to hear. The ethereal Waiting All Night has drawn mixed reviews; however, I hope this song sails on the rotation.
Following in this trend of W songs The Winterqueen filled the space and resounded around the stadium with her song. This song is about wishing you were someone, something or somewhere else rather than accepting the beauty that lies within. When a new song enters the mix sometimes we dismiss IT and long for the classics and the comforts. Well, The Winterqueen's reign is far from over and following her came a visit from her older sister. Funky Bitch delivered as always as the boys sandwiched in a rippin' Tube between her and a set closing Possum. Phish must have known that my buddy T.J. Missed Friday night's first set and saved him an awesome Possum.
Knowing this would be the set-closer Amy and I made our way back to the sound/lighting board and to deliver a glow-in-the-dark we all
Score: 0
C_List_Mockingbird , attached to 2014-07-27 Permalink
Before the show began, the guy who sold my buddy his ticket sent him a text saying "here's hoping for a fee and a curtain (with)". When those two songs were first out the gate we knew it was gonna be a special night. I could run through the rest of the songs, but the other reviews have covered it pretty well. What I really remember from the show most was the energy on the lawn. Absolutely spectacular, the band was high energy as well, feeding the crowd, which in turn fed phish energy right back. By the time the tweezerfest started the lawn was going nuts, with each subsequent tweezer causing more pandamonium. Amazing show the whole way through, by far the best I've ever been to. Possibly my favorite show from 3.0. If you haven't listened to it yet, what's wrong with you?
Score: 0
The_Good_Doctor , attached to 2000-06-25 Permalink
The_Good_Doctor I attended this show and just re-listened to it for the first time... 14 years later! Amid the other reviews, the take home is that this show isn't necessarily a stand out Summer 2000 performance. BUT there is worthwhile material here, which the current rating doesn't reflect. Part of the problem *I think* is that the AUD for this show is oddly sterile in terms of crowd noise. It's like you can hear three people yelling and the are all jacka$$es from the worst Panic show you've ever been too. Honestly I recall the vibe being upbeat, positive, and the crowd noisy and engaged.

In 3.0 it is hard to get perspective on 'rating' shows from yester.0, but if a 'Split' and 'What's the Use?' like these turned up in a show these days it would receive rave reviews. The 'WTU?' is a stand alone clocking in at 10+ minutes and goes from a cacophony -> to a hush -> to the stratosphere. If you are a fan of 'WTU?' then I don't have to say anything else.

At the time, and upon re-listen, I don't have any clue what the complaints are about 'Meat' are. The was an echo of the album delivery that was pretty entertaining alongside the CK5 extravaganza (I thought at the time). Again, the lack of crowd noise in the AUD seems to suggest no one in the crowd gave a damn but I don't remember it happening that way at all. But say hey - that is half the fun. To each their own!
Score: 0
paulj , attached to 1999-12-31 Permalink
paulj Okay, I'm listening/watching the video from this show and all the memories are flooding back...I've only listened to snippets of The Show over the past 10-12 years and it is indeed standing up to the test of time. What a way to ring in the New Millennium! Download and enjoy while the video is still up on YouTube. In the meantime, I'll put in a plug for LivePhish.com to release an official DVD: Come on, guys, you know we want to buy it!
Score: 0
SlavePhan , attached to 1999-12-31 Permalink
SlavePhan It looks like there's been a release of some sort of this show on video (the midnight-sunrise part at least).

If you want to relive a bit of it, it's worth a watch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXAe7q3qcvw#t=19734

It cuts off at the tail end of Piper, so, unfortunately the amazing Roses and the fun Lawn Boy and Love You aren't shown. Neither is the sunrise, which really was a sight to see. But, after looking for years and years for video of this show, this is a gigantic and epic release, sure to satisfy you for a while until the band decides to release it all.
Score: 1
SkoiSirius , attached to 2011-05-27 Permalink
SkoiSirius Was not at this show, but just listened to it yesterday for the first time.

Something about the Tweezer opener seems to launch the boys into a firey first set of awesomesauce all around.

Second second Waves is by far the ticket with a beautiful transition into a a heavenly Caspian!

Definitely worth a listen or relisten!
Score: 0
Icculus_55 , attached to 2014-08-29 Permalink
Ah, there we were! Dick's had finally come; looking forward to this three day run more than any other this summer. After hitting the SPAC run, Randall's 1 and Canandaigua, I was ready to groove once again. Narrowly missing a few ominous clouds at the campsite, my party of around 20 and myself were thankful for the weather and promptly charged the floor for a wonderful evening.

"Llama"- Energetic, straightforward and a pleasant surprise for the opener. Page was most certainly on point (in my opinion, Page was the MVP of the run) and the band followed suite with sharp execution. Not to mention, my first Llama!

"Undermind"- Thick, blissful and funky. Jam was to the point. A fun ride, but not overdone. Just how I like my Undermind's. Not the hugest fan of the song, but I will take it any day.

"Stash"- Always a fun song, but a little quiet. Not to take away from the patient, blissful jam of course. After a somewhat-botched intro from Randall's 1 (Not truly, I just tend to kind of notice those little moments where a note is played too quietly from Trey) I was expecting better, and I got what I expected.

"Halfway to the Moon"- I've never truly jived with this song. A nice break indeed, so I'm happy with the placement in the set. At this point, whispers of "Lushington" were being heard on the floor so I was curious to see what they would pull out next......"I am Hydrogen??"

"I Didn't Know"- No hydrogen, but still entertaining. My second one of the summer (SPAC3 first) so granted I wasn't laughing AS hard as others, but you can't help but smile when Fishman wheels that damn vacuum tube around. The man has talent, although the talent is a bit odd.

"Nellie Kane"- BLUEGRASS! HOORAY! So happy to hear this song. Hearing this and the Ginseng Sullivan at Sunday's soundcheck definitely gave me the Phish bluegrass fix I was looking for this weekend. Not much to say about it, but boy it was fun.

"Guyute"- Trolling the .net forums and Phish Tour facebook group starting weeks before the show, it was almost common knowledge we were due for this monster. The galloping scrape Trey does to count off the beat was almost a dead giveaway to me before the song started. Also my first Guyute, so I was very excited. Executed very well, and not to mention Fishman sounded extra scary in the beginning of that second verse.

"The Line"- Going into summer tour, I was a bit skeptical on how this song would seem to me. Incidentally, this was my piss break song at Jazzfest. However, this song to me is the epitome of "bliss" almost every time, with Page leading the charge. This one was no exception.

"Ocelot"- Well. Ocelot is Ocelot. Ocelot has always been Ocelot. And Ocelot will always be Ocelot. Entertaining jam always, but nothing to write home about.

"No Quarter"- I was absolutely blown away. First No Quarter. I've absolutely loved this song since I was a kid. In my opinion, it beats out Zeppelin.

"Ha Ha Ha"- HAHA HA HA.

"Suzy Greenberg"- Horns, man. Horns. Absolutely sick. I lost my shit. Don't think I'll ever get horns again, but hey. They always seem to surprise us!

"46 Days"- I have always felt that set placement is extremely crucial for a show. I have never gotten a 46 days opening a second set before and to this day I'm not sure how I feel about it. I've heard it many times, and while it's always a rager, I guess the magic is somewhat wearing off of me. Still, a great jam with a lot of bite from Trey which was definitely getting the blood flowing.

"Back on the Train"- Page always takes this song and makes it a tune where I dance so weirdly, but at the same time loving every minute of it. When Page gets on the Rhodes you know it's time to party. Super thick, super funky and super Phish-y.

"Simple"- I have only gotten two Simple's during my 17-show career of Phishing (still kind of a noob). My first was 12/30/13 at MSG and my second was this one. I consider myself one of the luckiest people in the world. Simple hits number 2 on my top 5 songs and every time I hear that first riff I lose my mind. And this jam......Wow, this jam. A 21 minute masterpiece. The noodling was blissful, but that backbone that Gordo and Fish kept throughout.....was unreal. I grooved for 21 minutes straight. In my opinion, the top jam of the summer and - although I'll get some criticism for this - the best Simple ever.

"Ghost"- Sick Ghost indeed. Charging, punchy, in your face work from the boys. A blissful peak from Trey at the end before we rip into...

"Backwards Down the Number Line"- A fun little break. You can always tell the boys have fun playing it, so we enjoy it too. In one word I can describe this song as "happy" (fitting, right?). My friends and I always seem to put our arms around each other at the ending part of the song and embrace our friendship. This song gets a lot of criticism, but I hope it touches you on a deeper level like it does to me.

"Harry Hood"- Definitely thought this would end the set, thankfully I was wrong. Nonetheless, a very strong Hood going a little type II in the jam section. I somewhat noticed a similar sound to the Mansfield Hood earlier in the summer. Needless to say, we all felt good.

"Wading in the Velvet Sea"- I waved a lighter for a minute or two to see if people would get pissed off. A few weird and dirty looks. Nice solo from Trey at the end.

"Run Like an Antelope"- A great choice for a first night closer. Although I think it may have been a bit overplayed this summer, I think they make up for it in their powerful, sometimes scary build-up sections. No real flubs from Trey, so I was satisfied with an amazing show and excited for a hopefully unusual encore. But then....

"Character Zero"- Before this show, I caught five shows earlier in summer tour. Three of those shows had Character Zero encores. If Antelope was overplayed a bit this summer, this song was stuck on repeat. Sure it gets people hyped, but come on guys. I'm really trying not to take away from this show as a whole, but I was surprised and a little disappointed with this call. I'd like to know who conducts the song choices for the encores (Still I think Trey). I guess they wanted to stay in their comfort zone their first night. Thankfully, the rest of the weekend included old favorites, plenty of great jams and me crying my eyes out during "The Curtain With."

Thanks for a great show and a great run Phish.
Score: 1
Telajewel27 , attached to 2013-07-26 Permalink
This night could not have gone any better!! The Gorge is one of the most amazing venues in the world!! To see Phish here is such a treat! This was my first birthday show, and I reaped all the rewards when they sang happy birthday to Chris. It was like the were singing happy birthday to me!! I couldn't believe it was really happening!! The fireworks after the show, and the lot were the best ending to the start of a fantastic weekend!!
Score: 0
Telajewel27 , attached to 2014-09-11 Permalink
Beautiful to hear Trey's guitar backed up by a full orchestra. I absolutely loved Petrichor!! What an awesome word! Meaning the smell of the Earth after the first rain after a long period of warmth. It invoked so much feeling and memory for me. I also enjoyed how it was a song that was written for the orchestra, so it included all parts. Most of the time the horn section was left out. Definitely something to see!
Score: 0
Sunny , attached to 2014-08-29 Permalink
Sunny nothing but yet another fantastic show i was in my car streaming waiting waiting all day i ran into the gas station then came out to the car and i was like nice undermine opener tonight, checked the set later i was so pissed i missed llama but pretty typical set 2, but good and i was loving ha ha ha that was solid
Score: 0
Sunny , attached to 2014-07-01 Permalink
Sunny my second ever phish show and i thought i was a very solid tour opener. mike dropping those long notes, the ghost>weekapaug, harry hood. i also didn't expect stealing time for an opener but i do like it as an opener. after the show off to spac it was for even better shows
Score: 0
Login Register