Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

DARKH0LL0W , attached to 1999-07-17 Permalink
DARKH0LL0W A tube first set opener! yea we were in for a hot night.Camp Oswego was already burning up due to the heat, but the band thought it would be a good idea to melt us a little more.Boogie was big hit for those in attendance opening a fest with funk is good. the birds is blast, great 99 version.Geulah is one of those songs that boost an entire set! a couple of cool off songs later Tweezer took us where we wanted to go i love the peak in this version. Then i lost it
Have Mercy, no shit i said, i thought i would never get to bask in the greatness of this song. I could have left after this because this was, and had been in my top five from the beginning.Taste keept the feeling going
great song.
great like Mr seals
Second set is a classic

Any time you get Phish with a guest is special, but a blues master like son Seals, now you are shitting me.

I have gone back and listened to the 2 songs and the nice little jam a million times.great great stuff. part of Phish history.
The DWD>wolfmans>sally is as bad ass as it looks. I had a tape with sally, have mercy,and a timber ho on it and only dreamed what it would be like to be at a show with these three songs, well i got my wish.
Timber ho is dark just how i like it oh and they played yem also. Damm!
some nice 99 funk in this one.

the always great coil>reprise was a perfect ending to one of more underrated fests. Who needs a third set, when you have a Son Seals?
Score: 0
CaptainYuk , attached to 1998-11-20 Permalink
(Day 4: Random Setlist a Day Challenge. I will be listening to and reviewing a Random Setlist a day for as long as I possibly can. Hopefully my review can be helpful to you. If not, oh well...)
*Please note: I was in attendance for this show. My review is based on my personal memories and re-listening to the show as per my rules of my challenge.

I admit that in my early days touring with Phish, I was spoiled. My first shows featured that oh-so-famous 97 Hampton greatness. Fast forward one year later and I fancy myself something of a "vet" at this point (laughable, I know) but not jaded enough to be psyched for this Hampton run!

I will say this, it's not a terrible show. Does it deserve the special remaster treatment it has got? Maybe. Most likely not. I can think of many other shows in 98 that deserved it. But it's a fun show. It's a light show. I remember when I was seeing it, it felt "fluffy". Without substance. The next night was absolutely better, in my opinion...

Set I: Rock and Roll Part Two was a funny and cool way to start the show. Get the crowd HYPED like a sporting event! Hahaha no jam on Tube, but it is tight nonetheless. The Quinn The Eskimo bust-out at the time was mind blowing to me. Nothing really remarkable about this set. The Possum is pretty much a screamer. Yup. A Possum screamer-
Check it out!

Set II: this was a rough set for me. So much potential. Great on paper, but just too two-dimensional in its execution. Maybe I'm bitter because I felt Piper was cut short. I am not the kinda guy who likes his Piper cut short! Gettin Jiggy Wit It is hilarious. Although, I remember at the time, there was a group of people who were around me and my phriends who were very visibly upset. Taking Phish too seriously, ESPECIALLY during this very light outing is absolutely ludicrous. Hood and Character Zero are strong finishes.

E: Cavern had a special guest and horn. The horn sounded great here. Makes me wish they did a longer encore.
Oh well.

A show so light and frothy, you can call it Diet Phish.

2/5
Score: 0
CaptainYuk , attached to 1993-08-02 Permalink
(Day 3: Random Setlist a Day Challenge. I will be listening to and reviewing a Random Setlist a day for as long as I possible can. Hopefully my review can be helpful to you. If not, oh well...)
*Please note: I was not present for this show. My review is based on an AUD recording of the show.

What can be said about Summer '93 that hasn't been said yet? It was clearly a musical peak for the band, and this show (and all August 93 shows, in fact) is a clear example why. Perfect song selection, absolutely smoking execution. The only downside of this show for me was the extremely poor audience recording that I listened to, but that has nothing to do with the band's actual performance. My hopes are that someday we get treated to a remaster of this absolutely blistering show!

Set I: The Chalk Dust Torture opener is a scorcher. Trey is already hitting licks like a demon. Guelah Papyrus is executed with glee and an almost manic energy. The Brother bust-out is a perfect example of that amazing, mid-1.0 Phish weirdness that brought many of us to love this band in the first place. From All Things Reconsidered to La Grange is seriously some of the most absolutely smoking, tight and beautiful minutes of music Phish had played in their earlier days. The Bathtub Gin is super slowed tempo and goes into a jam that can only be described as epic ecstasy. Dog Log is funky and bluesy as always. La Grange is so hot, it sounds like at one point their instruments may have melted.

Set II: 2001 is a awesome set opener, as always. Mike's song is just fire to say the least. Then comes maybe the best version of Sparks they have ever played. Weekapaug is filthy. Run Like an Antelope is like the beautifully delicious "burnt end" in bar b que that is oh so savored and sought after.

E: Awesome solo on Sleeping Monkey, beautiful resolution with Amazing Grace.

I cannot talk the show up enough, in hopes that it gets an Audio makeover in the future. All of Summer 93 deserves it, really.

5/5 Stars (how could it be anything else?!)
Score: 0
CaptainYuk , attached to 2012-08-25 Permalink
(Day 2: Random Setlist a Day Challenge. I will be listening to and reviewing a Random Setlist a day for as long as I possible can. Hopefully my review can be helpful to you. If not, oh well...)
*Please note: I was not present for this show. My review is based on the SBD recording of this show.

This show seemed to be one where the boys were enjoying themselves. As stated by Mike at the end of the show, they really like playing this venue.

Set I: The classic Cars Trucks Buses opener sets the tone for this set. Throughout the boys are playing tight. Some sets get loose, some get tight; this set falls into the latter camp. Nothing incredibly special, but an absolutely solid set. This Alaska was actually pretty solid, and the Maze, Roses are Free and Number Line appears to be the peak of the set. Compact, concise and blazing solos from Trey fill the jam sections of these songs. Type I abounds.

Set II: The boys seem to veer off from the Type I- Greatest Hits Fest that was the first set. Here we see more Type II spaciness (ever-prevalent in the KDF>Golden Age>Free>Light sequence). In this set the jams get some legs, but nothing too epic. The real interesting part of this set are all the segues. Most of them are brilliant and show that a good segue can be as interesting as one long jam. Antelope is a scorcher, as usual, but I felt a little let down by the A Day in the Life encore. A good denouement, I suppose. Just a bit too calm after all the spaciness and the Wading in the Velvet Sea and Joy sandwich towards the end of the set.

Overall, a solid but fairly average show with occasional flashes of brilliance. The contrast between Set I & II is what stands out most here. Nothing to write home about, but I would not deter anyone who would want to listen to this set.

3/5 Stars
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2004-08-15 Permalink
fhqwhgads Coventry: Day Two. Just kind of continuing my ramble from within my review of 8/14/04, I have to remember my place in this. I have loved Phish for a long time, and will always have a place in my heart for them. To curtail something that meant--and thankfully, means again--so much to Jon, Ernestasio, Mike, and Page must have been immensely difficult. I hope that if God forbid although the pattern weaves as the pattern wills a time comes that the Phish saga is concluded forever, we in the phan community left nothing but gentleness, meekness, and sincere awe at the life-affirming force that generated all these memories for us.
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2004-08-14 Permalink
fhqwhgads Coventry: Day One. I'm gonna take just a brief, cursory, overview-type perspective in reviewing Coventry. I was not actively following Phish during the 2.0 era, and that era of my life was a haze, anyway, but I'm thankful that we have recordings of these shows. There are grand heights to Coventry: huge, blowout jams that humble me. I particularly enjoy the sincere, effusive nature of the banter at Coventry, as elucidating as it is on some of the origins and milestones of Phishtory. There are people who won't listen to Coventry. I am not one of them.
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2004-08-13 Permalink
fhqwhgads This Sound Check may be (to put it in seemingly unphriendly terms, but this is meant academically) the most lucid performance of the Coventry festival. It's definitely worth listening to. I'm a hog for long jams, and Check 1 (as it's named on LivePhish.com, where you can buy the show) is about 36 minutes long, definitely satisfies. I'd like to think that this soundcheck was a kind of group focussing exercise before the bittersweet bacchanalia of the festival proper, but saying that robs Coventry of some of its poignancy. Emotions are mixed about Coventry, but I personally hold it near and dear.
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2003-08-03 Permalink
fhqwhgads IT: Day Two. How Phishy to open with Daniel Saw the Stone (perhaps a nod to terrhards that had been present a few days earlier at Bustout, Inc. a.k.a. 7/29/03?) Phish can be profoundly loyal; I wouldn't put it past them. The It Chalkdust roams through several sections in a manner similar to the 7/31/13 (Tahoe) Tweezer, in this phan's opinion, though with nothing occluded by woos. The vibe alone seems to have been sufficient for crowd participation; no noise necessary. Weekapaug Groove works really well here as a set-closer. Recall that it previously occupied that position at the Clifford Ball! Mellow Mood is another somewhat queer but welcome choice for set-opener. It would've had me wondering what was coming next, as one pretty much always must with Phish. I remember my first show, a more experienced phan who I'd ridden to the show with encouraged me to help clean up the debris left by less considerate--or forward-thinking--phans, partly upon the basis that "who knows, they might come out for another set!" This was revelatory to me. "You mean lights out doesn't necessarily mean lights out?" I thought. Ghost takes a more peaky approach in its jam, but still boasts the agility that was a hallmark of 2.0 and the It Festival. The ever-lauded stop-start jamming even comes into play--again, the phans were equipped with Woo-X! The tender moments of It seem somehow more compelling to me than the huge jams, upon this relisten (Cf. -> Mountains in the Mist, Pebbles and Marbles.) On the other hand, 46 Days is a kind of transformative, transcendental experience that at the moment is bringing to mind images of the Monolith from Stanley Kubrick's adaptation of Arthur C. Clarke's novel, 2001: A Space Odyssey. Phish kind of "breaks through" in a very intriguing way in this jam, kind of dividing the jam pretty much into two distinct halves. My last word on this show (and festival) will be to relate an experience I had with The Lizards from 8/3/03 not long after some friends had returned from It: I "saw," in a Castanedian, Toltec sense (look it up) the limber and pliant nature of a woman's soul dancing to this version of The Lizards as we stood outside friends' house, and well, it's something I'll never forget, and something that I can't honestly say any other band's music has ever inspired my mind to do. God, grant me the serenity to accept the shows I cannot attend, courage to be good phamily at the shows I can, and the wisdom to know that I can always spare some kindness.
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2003-08-02 Permalink
fhqwhgads IT: Day One. Ya Mar gets to some pretty extraordinary places for an ordinarily Type-I tune. The Reba is one of my top 5, also including 12/31/95, 8/11/98, and 9/14/00. I'm a sucker for Two Versions of Me; it's really a beautiful song whose sentimental yet quintessentially Phishy nature seems to have been carried forward into 3.0, perhaps peaking with Trey's composition of Time Turns Elastic (the parallels are there.) Waves is just an utterly compelling improvisational statement. 2.0 seemed to be very fertile while also very fragile, necessitating (Demand-ing, if you will) a respect on the part of the "scene" that maybe wasn't fully committed to. I don't want to speculate on the breakup, or depending on whether you're a glass-is-half-full person, second hiatus, but IT really shows what we have to lose if we're not carefully kind. Rock and Roll -> Seven Below -> Scents and Subtle Sounds is an amazing near-hour of music, and particularly titillates me because if pressed to declare two favorite songs from 2.0, I'd likely pick Seven Below and Scents and Subtle Sounds, which are here--obviously combined by a patient(!) segue. The Tower Jam is quite more traditionally psychedelic than the Sound Check, although they're comparable in length, consisting primarily of synth palettes and textural ambience that I certainly would have been bummed to have slept through, had I been present. I'm reminded again of @waxbanks' coinage of the term "mycological languor," which leads me to wax philosophical upon whether 1997 and 2003 are somehow more closely related than I had previously pontificated upon. Thank God for Phish.
Score: 0
fhqwhgads , attached to 2003-08-01 Permalink
fhqwhgads Some pretty, nice, ambient swirly stuff before segueing into Skin It Back, then Fishman getting his monitors adjusted before more ambient swirly stuff with a harder edge. Trey's tone, as has been documented thoroughly, is kind of harsh, whether due to the lack of the Ross compressor or what, but this is a monumental achievement that would be the highlight of almost any other band's professional gig, let alone Sound Check, and makes me almost giddy thinking of the krakens that will be unleashed in phans' fragile deemster trenches once Phish resumes releasing soundcheck stuff in soundboard (as with the iTunes Live Phish bonus tracks.) This soundcheck is IMO representative of IT as a cohesive experience--I wasn't there, unfortunately--but in a more raw fashion, even perhaps being let to grow more organically from the band than the 46 Days jam on 8/3/03, but I'll have to review the Tower Jam again before I can compare or contrast it with the Sound Check.
Score: 0
ymhelvetican , attached to 2015-08-15 Permalink
Just want to write a short review on this one. Summer 2015 was a strong tour for Phish, and I think this was one of the standouts of the period. Set 1 was strong, and Run Like an Antelope was an energized closer. Opening Set 2 on Halley's Comet was a great choice, and you can really feel the energy keep up into 46 Days and Bug. The classic Trey antics on the megaphone during Tweezer(s) only solidified this one as high-level for me. If there is any weak point it may be that the encore, while strong, didn't knock me off my feet like some can. Still, quality, quality show. Merriweather seems to always bring out some good jams from the guys, and this was no exception!
Score: 0
CaptainYuk , attached to 1988-06-15 Permalink
(Day 1: Random Setlist a Day Challenge. I will be listening to and reviewing a Random Setlist a day for as long as I possible can. Hopefully my review can be helpful to you. If not, oh well...)
*Please note: I was not present for this show. My review is based on an SBD recording of the show.

This show is interesting in that it a great representation of classic Phish. As was stated by another reviewer, it is completely standard fare. That being said, it is completely SOLID standard fare.

Set I: You get the intimate feel of the the Phish Famous "The Front" venue right off the bat. The Suzy Greenberg is reserved, but tight. Alumni Blues is fun and heats things up a bit. YEM is the peak of this set for me. The jam is epic in a non-epic setting, which makes it very strange, but interesting to listen to. Fluffhead cuts the first verse out in my recording, but it is basically jamless by comparison of other Fluffheads.

Set II: The boys started getting loose and goofy. Fee>Timber is a really great transition; especially for early Phish. I Didn't Know is where all hell breaks loose! It becomes so fun, crazy and disjointed that their are fits of giggles from each band member throughout and you can hear someone in the audience scream "anarchy!" before they head into The Lizards. Funny stuff! First time Contact was played, and it fits perfectly into this jazzy, playful set. 'A' Train also makes the case for this being a real "jazz" set. Whipping Post started out as Run Like an Antelope and veered in another direction. Not sure what happened there, but it wasn't terrible. Not great either. GTBT and Dear Mrs. Reagan were nothing to write home about, but a decent way to close a decent set.

The audio quality of the recording was not terrible, but like this show, it was not spectacular either. Hisses and static are laden throughout. Fluffhead is clearly cut off, but other than that, solid recording for an early venture at a small venue.

3/5 Stars
Score: 1
RobotHeart , attached to 2015-11-06 Permalink
Set One had a pretty good Sand, and the rest of the songs just flowed well. Everyone on stage was having a great time and the moved between songs quickly without much downtime.

Set Two has a great Clint Eastwood, with a goofy segment, and Dazed and Confused just had a lot of umph behind it.

The encore has a very touching moment where Trey talks about Chip Hooper.

I love seeing everyone have so much fun, and the Fox Theater is a great venue to have fun at. Very relaxed inside, with great sound, and I think everyone had a mutually wonderful time.
Score: 1
RobotHeart , attached to 2015-07-05 Permalink
Since nobody else has reviewed it, I might as well...

This show has a really touching moment you can find if you go and find the pro-shot video of the encore, or one that shows the band well.

If you recall, there were large video screens that were showing individual pictures of each member of the Grateful Dead over the years, from Pigpen through Vince. After this, the screens started showing the band on stage individually - Bobby gets a huge scream, so does Phil, but perhaps the loudest one is for Trey. At the moment when the crowd is going nuts for Trey, he turns around and looks at the screen and kind of has a quick moment.

https://youtu.be/pjHv9XHxxNw?t=296

This video should take you to right before the moment, I hope it continues to work.

Anyway, none of the Fare Thee Well shows were particularly spectacular, but each show had moments where IT came out and visited us.

I think it is worth it to listen to each show once, pick out a couple of the jams to revisit, and then put these to bed because none of these shows were particularly tight. It was more of an experience than a musical revelation.

China Cat -> IKYR and MotM > TS are the two segments to remember here. Great stuff.

Set Two has a better Truckin', very happy Trey on Althea, a great Terrapin, another Drums -> Space, and a very morbid song triplet of Unbroken Chain > Days Between > NFA.

The Attics of my Life has the aforementioned nice moment with Trey.

Overall, 7/5 is a good cap for the celebration that was FTW, and it's about on par with the rest of the performances. It has inconsistent moments, brief moments of brilliance, and a mutual feeling of celebration between the musicians.
Score: 1
FunkyCFunkyDo , attached to 2003-02-26 Permalink
FunkyCFunkyDo Remember how happy Homer got when he saw the ad for a free trampoline?

That's how happy I am to review this show. Maybe more happy. Because this show is A+, 10/10, cowabunga Bonzai Pipeline, and I would have probably been thrown in jail if I attended -- that's how controversial my dance moves would have been.

The Call to the Post riff before the first actual song... man, I just got goosebumps thinking about it. Like a thoroughbred at the Kentucky Derby, You Enjoy Myself blasts out of the gates with focus and energy so amplified, so electric, that Phish could have made this concert 100% eco-friendly by producing all of their own power to run the amps, lights, and assorted concession stands throughout the venue. I have NO shame in saying this is my favorite version of YEM, ever. ::cue eye rolls from Red Rocks 94, Albany 95, Vegas 96, ect ect...:: This version, with how hot it is, could melt the sun. I could breakdown each minute of the song, but that wouldn't be nearly as fun as listening to it yourself. From Trey scratching back and forth with Page, to the three independent, orbit-changing peaks, to Fish and Mike's pure-sex Bass and Drums, to the Clone vocal jam... man, wow. AND THIS OPENS THE SHOW!!! If that opened a show I had attended, I would have looked around after its conclusion and asked, with all sincerity, "Am I die?" Clone sneaks in via the vocal jam and what a tune this is. It has Mike written all over it with its swanky bassline and problematic vocal story telling. It swings and grooves and should be in Phish's repertoire with more regulatory... said EVERYONE EVER who has listened to this song. Come on, Trey! A mesmerizing Roggae comes next and at this point, the deal was sealed that this show was going to be special. Not just Phish special, but all time special. Swirling, swooping, and gliding through a soft mist, this Roggae is as delicate as it is determined. A full band focused composition, this piece of music is the perfect yin to the fire of the YEM's yang. The next song, Drifting, is also another one of these solo songs that *needs* to be in the repertoire. Since it's a Trey song, I personally blame Page for it not being in rotation. Anyways, Drifting makes me feel like laying in a meadow on a warm summer day - looking at clouds as the scoot by, wondering what it might feel like to be a cloud. Trey takes the lead, as it is his song, and hits a beautifully melodic peak. Blue Skies is okay, but at this point, I don't really care if an "okay" song is thrown into the mix. The set is already so good. This Fishman "bluegrass folk" song feels a little slapdash, but whatever because do you know what comes next... Uh oh. Uhhh ohhhh. Do you see what's happening? Someone alerted the authorities because Funky has official unleashed his most controversial dance move "Walking Through Unseen Spiderweb at Night." If this Moma Dance doesn't lube your loins, you might be dead. Sassy, sexy, filthy, and steamy, this Moma Dance is without a doubt the best they've ever played. Sexy. If your dance moves are anything less than Controversy Level Three: Naked Soul Train, you're doing it wrong. Grooooooooove city. Final Flight is kinda a crappy Page ballad, sorry Page, but is instantly redeemed by a smoldering, psychedelic-laced Maze. Slash-and-burning through all sorts of effects from both Page and Trey, anchored by an even-more-heavy-than-usual Mike line, this Maze leaves nothing but ashes and dust in its wake. Really, type-face reviews like this one don't do proper justice to how good this set was. It's the weekend. I urge you to go home, find this set, this show, and listen to it with focus from start to finish. You will be a better person for it.

Although I have never seen a Stash set 2 opener, I think it is one of three or four "perfect" ways to start set two because of how far it can reach. Know you might say, "Well hold on Funky, Phish can take *any* song for a ride, especially when it opens set 2." True enough, but Stash is one of those classics that can reach any multitude of musical excursion. Check out 6.11.94 for white-hot peaks. Check out 7.2.97 for the MOST BLISSFUL 8 minutes of music Phish has EVER performed. Check out 11.14.95 for pure terror. Check out 12.31.03 for some Hubble-esq deep field plating (teaser). And check out this version for some downright playful breakdowns, builds, and wavelength patterns of musical crests and troughs. This Stash has it all, and has it all in spades. My favorite segment is nearing the end, maybe 14 minutes in when it breaks down and Fish on the woodblocks and Mike is just plain dirty on his "picking." Ohhh soooo gooood. Then the jam explodes back into Stash jam proper and winds down to its normal end, with a punctuation mark. Now, before we get into the next song, I suggest you remove your pants. Pants off? Okay let's do this thing. Michael "Gacktoidler" Gordon. Are you familiar? Yes. Good. Are your pants still off? Yes. Good. Now, when I say a jam is slinky, this is what I am thinking of. This Ghost is a slinky jam. It is the Mike Gordon All-Star game. It is, if there ever was, the musical reincarnation of what a ghost would be. Ecto-9 all the way. Some people say Trey just kinda drops out and it lazy in this jam. Not me. Even though Mike is the #1 in this entire rendition, Trey's layering and incredibly nimble playing is downright goosebump-enducing. The jams seeps through all sorts of moods, each amazing, before culminating in a subdued yet celebratory, cohesive peak that blends right into Low Rider. The crowd goes bananas as the Low Rider theme permeates the building and the level of Dance Controversy has reached Four: Naughty Shower Lufa. An equally amazing -> Makisupa keeps the jaw-dropping-ness of this set going. A playful version akin to 2.16.03's this on has some splashy cymbal work and sultry Mike accomplishments. Then add on a third consecutive, cleeeeaaaaan -> Ya Mar and holy crap, this set is even better than the first!!! Ya Mar is playful and just great. It stays within its framework but it honestly doesn't need any fancy treatment with how awesome and well-constructed this set, and show, has been. Just great, happy music. Wasting NO time after the Ya mar winds down, you can hear Trey yell GUYUTE! GUYUTE! And with gusto, the band bursts into the ugly pig. I am not usually a fan of Guyute, but this one works. It fits a perfect niche, fraught with energy and zeal, complimenting a perfect show up to this point. Phish continues their giggle-inducing playing with a late set WAVES!!! Played with a half-step more OOMPH, this waves, like the Stash before it, hits musical crests and troughs, barrels over itself, and billows beautifully with some crowd-made off-shore winds (I just went type 2 on my review, whoa). Waves settles peacefully, and appropriately, into the nautical Prince Caspian. Phish can do no wrong. Even if you're not a Caspian fan, there's no denying how well this pairing worked in the set. Just great. Caspain features more truly inspired playing from Trey and, believe it or not, has a true -> into Frankenstein of all songs!!! Hahahaha!!! Can't help but laugh at how this worked out! Wow! Frankenstein nearly implodes the venue and where it failed, Golgi completely razes what is left of Woostah. A SMOKING Loving Cup with extended jam close the show with a billion exclamation points. This is not a normal Loving Cup, this one, like this entire show, deserves your attention. Holy crap what a show!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Must-hear jams: You Enjoy Myself, Drifting, Moma Dance, Maze, Stash, Ghost -> Makisupa -> Ya Mar, Loving Cup
Probably-should-listen-to jams: Roggae, Ya Mar, Waves > Prince Caspian -> Frankenstein > Golgi Apparatus
Score: 2
Login Register