Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Bacardi , attached to 1989-02-10 Permalink
My first show...I am pretty sure we went to see the Radiators (not Max creek as previously indicated) and I think Phish played one set to open. Wish I could remember the set list...who knew this was the beginning of a life long love affair with this band.
Score: 0
funkbeard , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
Yes. I heard that Joe Cocker tease. Have you heard the words he sang?

https://youtu.be/3xJWxPE8G2c

The set was extremely tight. It seems that after Philadelphia, Trey got much more detailed and solid in his playing, with flubs disappearing from much of his work. First set of 8/23 is extremely solid. Second set does get transcendent for a while. Disease->Scents->What's the Use being the obvious highlight. The intro to Scents may be the tightest ever played. I was surprised, because I didn't know they could hit it that tight.

Pebbles and Marbles at Dicks?
Score: 0
kipmat , attached to 1996-12-02 Permalink
kipmat This show is a Phish rarity: a show where the first set outshines the second. Trey was stretching the outro solo in AC/DC Bag to it's limit towards the end of Fall '96, and this one will have you standing on your tiptoes by the end. The tramps jam in YEM is plenty funky - the band was practicing James Brown grooves around this time. After Trey blows the roof off with the 'doc, he steps to the percussion rack, and Page adds a little piano to the usual Bass and Drums section. The vocal jam is quite percussive as well.

Ya Mar has a lengthy Trey solo, a tad noodle-y, but there are a couple of fun full-band rhythmic hookups. The Billy Breathes songs sound great here - Theme, Taste, and Free are all worthy Fall '96 versions. The second set is solid, nothing is particularly subpar, but to these ears the flow seems a little rushed. Perhaps they were running out of time, which would explain the short-and-fiesty Fire encore. All in all, the best moments of this show fail to match the peaks of the earlier Pac-NW and West Coast runs just before, but the clear AUD still makes for a nice listen in any environment.
Score: 0
weekapaug4398 , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
Really awesome show....such a great time! So many highlights that have been so well covered above. As an added bonus, my Phish-loving wife really read the book at Magnaball....she's super obsessed again!

I'm not sure if there has been any discussion of this elsewhere, but during a recent re-listen to the Tweezer->Caspian awesomeness, it seems to me like it should be Tweezer->Caspian->Tweezer. At 6:21 of Caspian, Fish plays a Tweezer beat and Trey follows with a tease, but by 7:32 it seems like the entire band is back into the Tweezer jam. Maybe someone with more musical knowledge can chime in on this one!

Thanks everyone for an awesome time, it was my fourth festival and first since Cypress, everyone there was so chill and friendly.....still haven't lost that feeling since we got back! Have fun at Dicks!
Score: 0
Kpmandolin , attached to 1990-01-29 Permalink
Kpmandolin My first show, and really just going out to the Haunt to see a band that we only had heard of because of us all being Deadheads. My buddy went to Ithaca College, so we drove down to visit him, party, and check Phish out. The roads were crap and snowing like all hell, by the time the band went on, we and everyone else there were pretty shitfaced. They did tear it up for it basically being just a bar band, with bar sound, and a lot of drunken chatter. One thing I took away from it was that they were definitely not the Grateful Dead, but they were damn good!!!
Score: 1
thesloth11 , attached to 2014-08-31 Permalink
What an amazing night. I got to take my little brother to this show, who hadn't seen Phish since Fall 98. About three years ago I made him a CD of Phish covers, and he instantly fell in love with their rendition of Bold as love from 92 St. Michaels. That night we joked about how awesome it would be if they played it, but we chuckled and said it would never happen.

When the opening notes were played, my brother and I shared a moment that neither of us will ever forget. I have been seeing the band since 95 and least a couple times a year, and I put this moment near the top of my Phish experiences. Musically, set 2 was a non-stop musical journey of epic proportions. That night, I couldn't believe I was witnessing some of the greatest music I had seen Phish play 30 years later.
Score: 0
TryAppreciation40nce , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
Ok, so I have not been at this for long. This show was only my 37th, and my first show only on 12/28/12. I also don't review shows often. So I write with basically no expertise. I am very aware of my n00b status... However that being said...

This was more than a show to me personally. It represents one of the best days of my life. Period. So much Joy and Fun packed into one very full day.

This Summer tour was a dream. All 9 nights I caught were a blessing. Of all the wonderful shows/sets I stood and witnessed this summer, this whole day takes the cake, and it is not even close. Keep in mind my birthday show was MPP 1 and I was there with 20 of my close friends from my College which was in DC. This whole day just encompassed why I keep coming back for more and more and more with this group.

Personal highlight from this show: Meatstick - 3rd set opener - Not because it was the most musically enlightening number of the day, but more because I was standing about 30 feet in front of Page's piano holding an inflatable pink penis all day as a marker for our friends to find, feeling a little self conscious about that, and low and behold, my favorite band does the one thing that could make me go from feeling foolish to being on cloud 9 again.
Score: 0
fluffhead108 , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
fluffhead108 Don't tell the Jam Chasers, but the second set of this show may very well be the finest set of Magnaball. And wouldn't you know it, the one tune that does go relatively deep (the Disease) is perhaps the least interesting part of the set.

It's relentless, with each song offering something unique and essential to the overall frame. I imagine many were disappointed that Mike's didn't launch a jam, but it is a fine version of the song that cuts away to Fuego perfectly (no rip chords here!), which in turn melts into Twist in a satisfying way. And all this between thick slices of Martian Monster, that perfect absurdity.

The real treat, I think, is the second half of What's The Use, which is played with such incredible delicacy and love as to make it one of the highlights of the entire weekend. Even listening to the AUDs, I'm amazed at how quiet the crowd remains, hanging firmly on the spacey ascension that the song promises. Few moments better reveal how deep the connection truly is between band and audience. Incredible stuff. It's hard to imagine a finer version of WTU than this.

It probably won't get the attention and love that the previous night's sets are receiving, and perhaps that's rightfully so. But there is a tremendous amount of top shelf Phish on display during this final frame of Magnaball.
Score: 2
Playitleodan , attached to 2015-07-25 Permalink
Utter disbelief at the (only) 4.14 rating on this one.
Yes I was in attendence. Yes I was feelin it.
Amazing 1st set - in fact at setbreak the crowd I was around seemed as if we all coulda went home happy after the WALLS, after the LIMB, even after the Martian->Disease.
But then there is 2nd set.
Perfect No Mans->Carini->Tweezer->My Friend - segues were on point.
No huge jams - just huge bliss.
Roggae was the emotional release, then another with Number Line, and of course yet another with Slave.
YEM was just fun fun fun.

Only low point was Yamar for me as seemed just out of sync between band members.

This one is a keeper and not a sleeper.
Rest of Tour was of course almost more incredible (my fav was Blossom - check out the Ghost for Trey channeling Jimi...)

My 2 cents
Score: 0
nichobert , attached to 2003-07-18 Permalink
nichobert I like how the one reviewer says that Phish is "spent" after the DWD, but then goes on to gush about the Hood being one of the most interesting versions he's ever heard.

Twist jam also, pretty excellent pointilist ambience.

My favorite part of the show is the Roggae which is only mentioned in these reviews because someone says its rough.

Well it's 2003, Phish not remembering how to play their songs should have been a given by this point. That said, the Roggae is probably the single most atypical version of the song. There are other versions (mostly in 2010 & 2011) with more exploratory or psychedelic jams, but this one has a totally different structure to the ending of the jam and I find it really powerful. Whereas your usual Roggae will crest and then dissolve into a brief pause before the large power chords, this one works the jam up into those chords and uses them as the crescendo. It works phenomenally and I wish they'd give this style of Roggae a spin again. It reminds me of the 7/31/99 Simple in comparison to an average Simple. Similar breathtaking move upwards right when the jam would usually end.
Score: 1
The_Ghost , attached to 1995-06-14 Permalink
The_Ghost This is a 5/5 show for me.

I'm going to do my reviews a little differently. My 1st 20 were just whatever I felt like writing, but from now on I will follow a specific format I have made for myself. The format will be in the disclaimer at the bottom and will be the same for all future reviews. If you have read the disclaimer from a review I will have made in the future, but now is the past you can ignore it here as it will always be the same unless I have changed it.

Split Open and Melt : 4, 1994-7-15 - This SOAM sounds like Maze, it is a very cool version, and unlike any I have ever heard. - BEST 1992-7-15

2001 > Poor Heart > Tweezer : 5, 1993-7-23 - Easily the most unique Tweezer I have heard, the recommendation is for 2001 > Poor Heart, there is no recommended Tweezer to compare this to other than this one. - BEST TWEEZER

****DISCLAIMER****

The number beside each song is a 1-5 rating. The date beside that is a date of a recommended version in my opinion. There may be a note following that for each song, if not I didn't find it noteworthy. After a note will be another date of the best version of the song in question that I have ever heard, if this particular one is the best version it will say so in place of this last date. Not all songs will be listed, if they aren't listed it doesn't mean they aren't worthy of a listen, it means that either A) my copy of this show doesn't have that song or B) I just didn't feel like listing it - This is my review I can do what I a want. Most of the time I am only going to hit highlights or low lights. Rarely will I review each song.
Score: 0
sonic708 , attached to 2015-08-01 Permalink
With all due respect to our wonderful Phish.net Tweezer reviewers, the idea that this Tweezer is not worth green "recommended" text is -- to my ears -- absurd.

Major portions of this jam are breathtakingly beautiful, distinguished by the band's spare, tender, patient, unusually spacious playing. Trey's leads are unforgettable, even in the context of this remarkable tour.

The idea that it's not worth recommending because there are a few minutes of wandering strikes me as beyond picky.

Come on now.
Score: 1
dscott , attached to 1996-08-15 Permalink
Magnaball has prompted me to revisit past shows whose names are August fest. Finally listened to the SBD of this soundcheck for the first time. The AUD fragment that I've had for years doesn't do it justice. The SBD provides a wonderful glimpse of an improbably tight band playing loosely. The 1st jam, joined in progress, rocks hard. The 2nd jam is actually more of a Tweeprise jam than a HYHU jam, at least to my ears. Jam #3 is an exquisite melody. Sounds familiar, but I can't place it. Simply beautiful. Jam #4 is the big one. Starts with formulaic blues-rock riffing, but it gets good and weird for several minutes before it ultimately fades out.
Score: 0
ilostmypebblesandmarbles , attached to 1999-09-29 Permalink
This is my personal favorite 2001. Better than the Gorge in '98. In my opinion anyway. It's a little less lethargic. This one really feels like you're boarding a spaceship in the beginning and ascending when the theme finally drops in.. from then on you're flying in space....but it's cohesive. Great tempo the whole time. If you're a 2001 fan and you've skipped this version, give it a spin (preferably when you're not going anywhere for awhile) and enjoy it. This is phish 99 at their best.
Score: 1
Mistercharlie , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
This second set is pure fire. The stuff dreams are made of. The boys are on point and bringing the jams. They are having fun and letting everyone know it.

Am I the only one who noticed the Joe Cocker version of 'A Little Help From My Friends' in Scents and Subtle Sounds?
It happens at 05:34 of this video:
https://youtu.be/_NDFNdinrcA?t=334

And here's the original Joe Cocker cover version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RL5uQfKPSBg
Score: 4
Login Register