Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

FIKUS0824 , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
Well to start off the Shakedown was all the rage as usual, minus the two jerk faced under covers in IU tees. Sherriffs came by around 6 and informed everyone there would be a delay of 90 mins. because of impending doom lurking in the clouds. It passed nothing major just some wind and light rain which continued all night. TO THE MUSIC ALREADY!. First set was nice, starting with a MYF opener , the set had a decidedly Rifty feel to it crisp and cleen very song oriented no much jamming just very solid versions Tube x tra slow, Maze, Saw iT Again, and the new tune. Set ended with a enegetic version of First Tube. SET TWO. Good all around. Punch started things off very nicely into BOTT also extended. Then Fat Fat meat. LIGHT GOLDEN AGE BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN. This three song combo was on aboslute fire, Trey used the echoplex exquisitely into Boogie and carried it through the whole song. Let me tell you that this was the best Boogie i have seen ever! All that awesomeness gave way to a nicely placed Wingsuit and Shade. Then a Possum to end the set. Rock and Roll encore , short but love the placement! All in all this was a great show in will be near the top come the end of summer.
Score: 0
Csnizzle23 , attached to 2016-06-26 Permalink
The hype for this show was unreal. I got to go to my old home town and watch phish play 5 minutes from my doorstep. So when i got the chance to drive up from Texas for my first show, i took the opportunity and it was boy was it worth it! Of course the rain delay only made me more excited for what was to come...I got comfy in my seat ready for a heater of a set and the boys knew i would be there tonight. Started off with a My Friend and kept the first set going in an act of first settage i hadnt witnessed on couch tour previously...the Tubes, the debuts, a groovy camel walk and maze...set 1 killed. And when i made my migration out to the lawn to join my friends for a killer set two, they MORE than delivered! I anticipated a possum and called a Light>Golden Age in the parking lot before. It was everything i wanted and expected at Deer Creek and i can't wait to rage there again!
Score: 1
ziggybirds , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
ziggybirds For whatever reason, The Moma Dance made me feel this was going to be a real good show. The AC/DC Bag>555 confirmed it. Can Moses play that vacuum cleaner or what? Love the new red headed drummer. First set finished with a bang.

The second set? Oh my. Well played. Lovely jams. I thought the flow of the second set was superb. The setlist was great. Give this a listen, you won't be disappointed. Loved: Carini through Velvet Sea. Perfect if Harry had been jammed out more. Good show. Fun Walrus.
Score: 0
Harrison , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
Thought I might have to hide under my blanket for a few minutes in Carini, but then the clouds parted. Lots of "open spaces" in the jams and unexplored opportunities, without the jarring ripcord feeling of a few years ago. Nice to exceptional flow for 40 minutes into the (somehow slightly less gruesome) brick wall that is Velvet Sea. Great work on composed sections and vocals. Divided sky and Fluffhead both great. I thought Hood was elegant, if short and in the pocket. Ripping Trey solos sprinkled throughout the night.

With so many good/great slower (and newer) tunes to drop gears into, it perplexes me why the band lands in the songs they do in the second set. I guess that's phish though...
Score: 0
Harrison , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
Thought I might have to hide under my blanket for a few minutes in Carini, but then the clouds parted. Lots of "open spaces" in the jams and unexplored opportunities, without the jarring ripcord feeling of a few years ago. Nice to exceptional flow for 40 minutes into the (somehow slightly less gruesome) brick wall that is Velvet Sea. Great work on composed sections and vocals. Divided sky and Fluffhead both great. I thought Hood was elegant, if short and in the pocket. Ripping Trey solos sprinkled throughout the night.

With so many good/great slower (and newer) tunes to drop gears into, it perplexes me why the band lands in the songs they do in the second set. I guess that's phish though...
Score: 3
kyleindeed , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
kyleindeed The mentality of Phish going into N2 of Wrigley (3rd show of the tour), was to give a performance that would stand the test of time and provide top tier legitimacy for 2016. @n00b100 referred to night 2 of the Mann last summer (08/12/2015) as when Phish appeared to be playing for bigger stakes. Even at that point, the band was more than halfway through the tour.

3 shows in, and the stakes are already quite high and much higher than the first week of shows from last summer.

S1 can be loosely summarized as a peak of phun, phunk and phrivolity. Really digged each song (even Heavy Things lol).

S2 reaches deeply into the tomb of a dark, tense, fire-breathing black dragon and takes an axe to it's neck with 8 calculated licks called Carini > Tweezer > Fluffhead > Piper -> Steam > Wading in the Velvet Sea, Harry Hood, and... > Tweezer Reprise.

By then the band takes possession of the monster's head only to realize that the dragon is really a Walrus that they can now claim to be their own.... cu cu kachoo!!!

Wrigley presented a big scene for the band from Vermont. They weren't about to have anyone leave last night without feeling any regret over what was played and how. Keep the fire burning in Deer Creek, boys!!! INDEED!!!!!
Score: 4
nickulus , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
nickulus This was my first couch tour show this year - looking forward to getting on the road once the boys are back in the NE.

In terms of setlist construction, this one doesn't get much better in my book. Great energy throughout and tight playing. Fluffhead was nailed and it was nice to see it in the third quarter. My expectations were high after Carini>Tweeer>Fluffhead and the Piper -> Steam didn't disappoint. A Hood and Tweeprise to round out the set was excellent, even if the Hood didn't get exploratory. A Walrus in the encore was a fun surprise.

The summer is shaping up very nicely...
Score: 2
nickavv , attached to 2016-06-25 Permalink
nickavv Watched on LivePhish webcast. Second set was just about perfect in my book. Carini, Tweezer, and Piper all were great jams. Fluffhead was played perfectly which is awesome to hear for its reappearance. The segue from Piper -> Steam was phenomenal, and Steam was the best version of the song I've ever heard. I Am the Walrus encore was the unexpected cherry on top.

The band is playing great, can't wait to get out on the road to see them in person next week
Score: 9
Qstick7 , attached to 2000-09-27 Permalink
I had a great time!!! My hubby was dancin and the next moment he's puking and sick as shit bent over with his head between his legs. I still had fun and danced all night!!! Him, not so much.
I remember the weather was great~ and I missed the opener~ well not missed, just walking to the venue during it~ all in all a great show!!
Score: 0
Qstick7 , attached to 2010-10-09 Permalink
I had gotten tickets to this because I live in Boulder county and had friends affected. I got 4 tix, and took my hubby and two friends. One in exchange for the one phish show I didn't get tickets to~ fair trade I'd say. Anyway this night was one of the most amazing nights in my concert history. I was literally crying happy tears when trey and Mike walked out onto the stage with their acoustic guitars. I was speechless. So freaking incredible and I was very lucky to be there to witness the love and beauty this night entailed. One of the best shows I've ever seen. Listen and you will hear!!
Score: 0
Qstick7 , attached to 1993-02-06 Permalink
This was my second show. Wearing white jeans, slid in the slush and muddy snow before going in, was wet and super high. I remember the boys jumping up and down on these trampolines thinking'these guys are so cool!' I also remember John popper sitting in and had a generally good feeling (other than being wet and dirty after my boyfriend sped down the parkway to get there from Danbury). I had a great time from what I can remember!
Score: 0
Qstick7 , attached to 1992-07-26 Permalink
My first Phish show. My friend Pete said they were cool like the dead so figured I'd go. I was a junior in college and went to dead shows as much as possible. I had no clue this show would change my life! I remember it rained~ we danced and slid in the mud and totally melted my face that day. I loved phish much more than Santana and wanted more! That's when I jumped on the bus......
Score: 0
ramblonroze , attached to 2016-06-24 Permalink
No scene allowed outside, a lot of fans wandering around with no focus. Phish had good vibes, they played like troopers. They had fun, I had fun.
Show started late, very short break, short 2nd set Ė neighborhood curfew. Iíve been to many Chicagoland shows, this was the worst sound system. Wrigley is old and all metal girders.
It was really fun, my nephew is tops, a perfect concert buddy. I am so lucky. We did CTA and Uber. Could not understand a word of the music. Said as soon as we get home Iíll tell you what we heard. Played the show on LivePhish+. Excellent. My favs were rift, sand, free and blaze. And then twist, backwards, living cup and 2001. I still love covers.
Score: 2
AZ_Fluff , attached to 2016-06-24 Permalink
First time seeing the boys since fall '14 and they brought the absolute heat the entire night. Fun, flowing first set with a funky Martian monster and raging blaze on. Then the jams were insane in the 2nd set way too many moment's to recall right now!!!!! Best shown I've seen in the 3.0 era!!!
Score: 1
kyleindeed , attached to 2016-06-24 Permalink
kyleindeed Awesome show!

Set one: Sample was a solid opener per usual. I know not everyone is a phan of placing jam machines like CDT,Martian Monster and Sand in S1, but they do work here for a raucus Wrigley crowd. Sure they are going to be condensed versions by comparison that don't rip into type 2 land before the sun goes down... but the crowd was digging it (Sand especially). Only real flub-ski in set 1 was trey fighting his guitar on Rift. Bend N1 and Blossom last year were much worse tho. I like Yarmouth Road and appreciate when they band gives it a little more grit and grime. Trey and Mike are usually good for this. Love Paige's work on the Hammond B3 each time they play it. I would honestly take Shade over Miss You every day of the week. Not that it was a bad ballad, it just isn't romantic enough for the high level of sappiness. The Wedge, Free and Blaze On give us the appropriate amount of funkiness to finish out a solid set. And yes, Blaze On works very well as a S1 closer. That's not to say they need to pigeon hole it away from an extended S2 jam vehicle... but if they have to play it S1, go for the closing spot more often than not.

S2. DWD.... nailed it. Fishman deserves the most credit on this because if not for him then Paige, Mike and Trey would not be able to drop the napalm that they did. It felt like it could be our first 20 minute jam but it's worth remembering that it's only the 2nd show of the tour. Fuego was an appropriate transition to keep fire in the set without allowing a flat-line after the incredible DWD. Is it just me, or when Paige switches from the piano to the organ approx 2:19 that he usually brain farts? The first couple organ chords have been hit or miss since the song came out (see NYE 2013, but maybe that's the confetti's fault).
Twist is also killer and surprisingly hits a more badass peak than the aforementioned DWD (How? No clue... it just does). It almost seemed like they were teasing a DWD-prise, which I have been asking for the last couple months.
There may be a tendency to shite on the rest of S2 because they don't stay in jam mode after Twist. I don't think that's a fair assessment (esp. at later spots in that 2001, which was blazing hot). 20 Years Later, Waste and #Line were all solid and well place. Loving Cup was just a joy and very well received from the crowd. Smiles abound.

Space Oddity (A'Cappella taboot!) was a blast and completely unexpected. Chicago's art scene has an extreme appreciation for David Bowie and this could not have been received any better. Antelope takes us home in fine fashion to put the finishing touches on a great N1.

Will this show be the best of summer 2016? No. Will it be worth a listen next year and in year's to follow? Oh phuck yeah...

N1 gave 2 Hose in this area code. More to come tonight...

INDEED!!!!!
Score: 4
Login Register