Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

MrSunshine , attached to 2013-07-27 Permalink
Night two at the Gorge was equal and in ways better than the previous night. The highlights of the first set for me were Curtain With, Moma>Maze. So while still a decent set, I feel night one's first set was much better.

DWD opens the second set and the rest is history, the whole second set flows and should be listened to all the way through. Atleast DWD>2001. With DWD>Undermind>Light being my favorite part of the show, After the Walls of the Cave gives the place sortof a quick breath of air before reenergizing, Fluffhead>Antelope to everyones delight.

SHow of Life encore was beautiful and Good times left everybody in a good mood. Loved camping at the Gorge and consider these to be some of the best concert experiences I have had so far.
Score: 0
MrSunshine , attached to 2013-07-26 Permalink
What a great show! ACDC-WolfMan, Mcgrupp-SOAM where the highlights of the first set for me with Timber, McGrupp, and Soam being the best of the set imo.

The whole second set flows very well with Twist-Bowie being the highlight for me. Character moon jam was also a highlight for how cool it was, you had to be there most likely.

Hood encore was also one of my favorite parts of the night and seemed like a cherry on top. That whole weekend was awesome, the Yakima valley fire definitely made the experience more unique.
Score: 0
MrSunshine , attached to 2014-10-18 Permalink
Enjoyed this show, though thought the night before was even better.

Lawn Boy was well executed and contained some great bass soloing, Mike's solo is always great and is a reason I love hearing the live versions. Wolfman and Gin were the highlights of the first set though they were pretty standard.

DWD opens the second set and though well executed at first, kinda dissolved, as does GLight and Fuego. Light>Cities also was executed well but had more potential for sure. 46days>Sand was the highlight of the second set for me, I wish it was longer but this awesome Sand gives way to BDTNL, which I could tell upset some people. Some people immediately started talking about how it was a bathroom break song etc and but as the song progressed kinda ate their words. I enjoyed BDTNL but do think about what could've been if they had jammed that Sand out, easily my favorite song of the night, with a great transition/intro. Bold as love was a cool way to end the set and was executed nicely.

Meatstick-Character Zero encore was a fun way to end the night.
Score: 0
MrSunshine , attached to 2014-10-17 Permalink
This was my first show of 2014, I had last seen the two Gorge shows. While not quite on the same level as those, this Eugene show had some great moments and cool jams.

The first set opened fine with Free, Bouncing>Reba being the highlights for me. Roggae and Maze were also well executed. SO the first set was enjoyable, though nothing too crazy.

Then the second set begins with one of the highlights of the show, Carini into PLASMA. The Plasma was awesome, and had many people asking each other what they had just witnessed. Farmhouse Halfway did seem to take some of the energy out of the place, and twist seemed to be a recharge of sorts. Then came the deepest jam of the show CrossEyed>Hood, with CrossEyed containing the jam. This was the other highlight for me, and just a great part of the night. RockyTop closed the set, and we get an encore wingsuit, monkey, Quinn. Wingsuit contained the neat of the encore and I thought was much better than the album version though I miss the backwards vocals and have yet to hear any other live versions of it.

In conclusion I thought this was a solid tour opener, loved Plasma and Crosseyed.
Score: 0
ph_2k , attached to 2000-06-14 Permalink
This show is absolutely great Phish...looks like there were only 500 people in attendance and this was a show in Japan...but this is crazy good Phish... I remember I was at live show for another band... The sound guy needed a cd to play for the crowd...this showed happened to be in my car...so I grabbed the second set...it was an audience version not a soundboard...he played it...and what was supposed to be 10 or 15 minutes...turned into they played the whole set...and everyone was dancing like a live band was playing...crazy shit...this show is jaw dropping...anyone that tells you differently doesn't know Phish...
Score: 0
DarkTsar , attached to 2014-10-22 Permalink
Firstly let me let all readers know... This was a hometown show for me less than 2 miles from my bed. So for that, it get extra special mention alone... coupled with the fact of a latenight show by my friends in the Animal Liberation Orchestra(ALO)... I was treated to 7+ solid hours of music each night! WOW good time cardio workout! So without further adieu..my review.

this show started very strong with the Soul shakedown party, shout out to the interwebs showing trey practicing to the photo of BoB Marley's 1979 show at the county bowl! Nice to see the band pay respect like that. Things got whirling quickly with the wedge, undermined, Horn, jesus... this show really started to feel like a vinatge 94 arrangement!

At the point of the Ocean song, winterqueen the tone got a bit mellow and spacey and I felt the need for more libations! Coming back to the floor I got totally stoked by a solid MIFE following by a blistering Split Open..full boogie time in effect...SIZZLE swerving my way into the walls I must admit in the past this wasn't my favorite song; but THIS ONE was special... It featured a very watery vibe and was in my opinion the best I had ever seen it performed live!

THE DROWNED! Oh my! just threw down so hard it was a bombastic version which fully began to solidify the SB2 oceanic theme.. rolling into to the Theme we got a treat, although I don't fully agree with Echo's heard by some. i do see the very close similarities. onward to the steam we continue the watery vibe transitioning into the waves. Twenty years was small lull in the hurricane followed by a very tight, FAST Mule (circa 97 versions). the 2001 was very well executed as well, nothing too far out, just generally better than decent.

The Mike's>Jim>Weekapaug was just silly. it was VERY refreshing to see the band break out this funky placement as we all could hear IT JUST WORKED! And for those of us lucky to be there boy howdy did it deliver...again very tight and well executed...Horse was ver cool, silent was pretty as it always is...and then POW... A scorching Antelope! My friends were giving me crap because I had called a Sb Antelope..ALAS I was so stoked to hear this song in this position... it whipped the floor into a veritable frenzy... As we spun furiously through this succinct version, it had an incendiary effect on us! LIT US UP!

All in all the Santa Barbara bowl is a truly magical place... even though you have to deal with NO PARKING, EARLY SHOWS, Mike being turned down because of strict noise ordinances..THE BOWL is still so amazing... tucked into a canyon with natural stone rock formations creating the seating sections and the edge of the bowl and hold only 4500... ITS NOT A VENUE TO BE MISSED!
Score: 0
jsauce , attached to 1995-11-19 Permalink
This was my first Phish show. I had a friend who worked the counter for Ticketmaster at the local mall (remember when they had those?), so she scored us some second row tickets.

I was, for all intents and purposes, a total newbie. I'd heard A Live One a few times ("what kind of music is this? it's not rock music"), but honestly had no idea what I was in for.

My memories of the actual music are vague. Stash raged. Coil was the track that most definitely caught my ear. I don't even remember what's being touted as a very good Tweezer. Trey was wearing a Hawaiian shirt, and I distinctly remembered he looked like a latter-day Tommy Chong. "Who the fuck are these guys? Who the fuck do THEY think they are?" was the thought that was going through my head most of the time.

Alas, something stuck. The next show I saw was Charlotte '96, and the next two after that were Hampton '97. I think we can all guess what happened after that....
Score: 0
zwyts , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
This was pure arena rock. The ultimate example of how you do a "show for the bros". I don't want rock star Trey every night, but If you're going to take that approach there is no better way to do it than last night. Trey went for the jugular in at least 9 songs. This was not a show for the ambient crowd, but they still fit in some interesting jamming, especially in DWD. Not as elegant as the end of Reading, but Trey wasn't going to be denied tonight, even in a jam that didn't really lend itself to a rock finish. While the second set didn't have the flow and set construction of some of the other top 2014 shows, it still had 3 above average versions of beloved songs with a smoking zero and #line to boot. The 1st set was of course one of the best of the year. You might not appreciate what they did. But it is hard not to be somewhat awestruck by how they did it. A nice big fuck you from Trey to the accusations of a sluggish, disinterested start to fall tour. Not elite, but a top 10 show in a very strong year. Not too shabby.
Score: 3
curleyfrei , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
curleyfrei (Posted a sort-of review in this thread: http://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1375598213 - may as well re-post here).
---
Just realized that I attended my 28th show this year in June (CMAC) as a 28-year-old, and I just attended my 29th show (LA) as a 29-year-old... Heh. Neat. :)

Tonight also marked my girlfriend's very first show, and she had a wonderful time. More fun than she expected to have, actually, which means a lot coming from someone who never knew anything about Phish until she met me 16 months ago.

What a night. A non-traditional opener in 46 Days, right into a tight, funky Tube, a surprise first set Ghost (!), a gorgeous Divided Sky, and a really fun Gin complete with Low Rider tease.

Now, that second set... I had read earlier about the twinkly lights in the ceiling, but they weren't on when the show started so I just figured maybe the reference was about the lights illuminating the stairs... NOPE! What an absolutely outstanding surprise. The roar of the crowd when those lights came on was one of the loudest, most powerful things I've ever been a part of, and you could immediately feel how much that energy helped launch the band even further into the stratosphere. They just kept pushing and pushing and pushing... peak after glorious peak... I was nearly in tears.

And then I did get a little misty-eyed during Hood. When Fish's opening fill popped into the air, I actually hesitated for a moment before I cheered. "Did they REALLY just... they did. They really did just drop Harry Hood in the encore." My absolute favorite song in the world, plopped firmly at the finale, just for me. What a beautiful version, too... I'll be listening to that for years to come.

It has literally been a dream of mine, something I've longed for very deeply ever since my first show in '09, to finally fall in love and take the lady to see my favorite band. Well, not only did I get to do that tonight, I even got to hold her tight and sway along during an utterly stellar reading of my favorite song. And in the extra inning slot, no less). Wow.

I just had to share. Thank you, Phish. My cup overfloweth.
Score: 2
Bob_Loblaw , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
Bob_Loblaw This show was straight fire. Phish played to the advantages of the Venue which would be the supreme lighting (Stars? HOLY SHIT!) and the energy level. The venue sounded like the Spectrum where the place just gets insanely loud with fans. The setlist seemed to be comprised of a lot of songs involving audience participation (Twist, Fuego, Character Zero, Hood, Etc), my ears are still ringing! Everything was played very well and Trey seemed to be in the fore front and very much in control (Not as common now a days). One of the most solid first sets this year. Really enjoyed myself.
Score: 2
fracai , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
fracai What a great one-off show! Things started out hot. When Trey first hit the stage he was jumping up and down. I could tell he was ready to bring the thunder.

The 46 Days/Tube really got everyone in the Forum going. Train Song?! Okay! Don't hear that one too often. I actually caught the last time it was played at BG last year. Mike sounded really good on that one, good job Cactus. I have to say, the first set had some notable jams. I feel it's safe to state that we were all surprised by the first set Ghost which, albeit not going into any mysterious territory, was a message for us all that the band had a lot in store for us. The two jams of the first set that were hard hitters were Its Ice and Gin. Really patient playing and very extended feeling. The Divided is also a near perfect version. I really feel that Trey was in more of a good mood than normal tonight and was excited to see where he could take everything. Set break!

I was prepared for all out chaos from the top, but I believe the band eased into the set rather than cook us alive from the get go. 555 and Number Line were completely solid and well played, I'll take 'em like that any day. Disease is where the Forum could feel the band really start to stretch. The jam is something to listen because it fizzled into really dark dissonant territory with a giant climax provoked by Kuroda's use of the ceiling lights in the stadium. For any first timer there that night, I'm very happy for you. How many bands successfully bring on such a big silent climax such as that?! The crowd was roaring. The jam flow stayed very steady and ended with a nice major flavored rock out segment. Transition into...Fuego! The seque into Twist really made this version sparkle. Trey is really liking his Echoplex. After the welcome Bouncing breather we find ourselves with the Maze/Bowie hat intro. Trey used this opportunity to enter psychedelia for the last time of the night and freak us out with the Echoplex. (I'm liking this thing too). Solid Zero closer; feels so good.

The boys returned onstage with a blissful and drawn out Hood with more use of the starry ceiling lights. Ahhhh. I actually prefer Zero and Hood in those spots rather than the other way around. Grind capped off the night with a very humurous and impressive performance.

Fall tour has been very interesting and I can't wait to see what they have in store for us at Chula!
Score: 5
WasteMyTimeWithYou , attached to 2014-10-24 Permalink
WasteMyTimeWithYou This review does not have the benefit of downloading and listening to the show again on fresh ears, just my experience and what I heard of the songs last night live....

The Forum: Very cool venue, parking prices (~25) is the only negative I can say, but hey - It's LA. Easy in and out of the lot and venue, no complaints at all... but hey, I've heard a lot about those ceiling lights that look like stars... where are those? I don't see anything special about the ceiling... what the hell?!? More about that later.

1st set: 46 Days opened with fire out of the gate, instant energy boost to a crowd that was much larger than many people on .net were expecting in LA. Tube most people saw coming('on a freeway to LA'), but no one is going to complain about that, standard Tube, nothing wrong with that. Train Song seemed to just suck some of the now building energy right out of the room, not sure what happened, just was not well received... and then Ghost hit. Did I pass out and wake up in the middle of the second set?? A 4th song of the night Ghost? I loved this song placement, and wish it went deeper than it did, but still a really fun Ghost, got the place moving again. Sparkle was Sparkle, like it, love it, hate it, you know what you are going to get... but it is fun and fast and everyone had a good time bouncing around to it. Sample came next and now everyone was having a blast. Really nice sample, Trey seemed to hit is all perfect, just like he would hit Divided Sky. Sky was amazing. Bliss is the only word for a nailed Divided Sky, and that is what we got last night, I was wrong to assume it would be my highlight for the 1st set. The Line: What can I say about the Line. I enjoy it, but don't love it... I have NEVER seen a mass exit to the bathroom before on this scale. It was to the point that it seemed disrespectful to the band. As if to pay the crowd back for making them heard The Line, they bust into a nasty version of It's Ice. PAGE CRUSHED IT. Is there anything anyone else can do at this point in the tour to take tour MVP away from Page? I don't think so. This version, at least watching it last night was amazing, Page got up, I got down! KDF: I love that they took this song out of the opening slot, standard KDF, lots of fun. Bathtub Gin was amazing. They will credit this song with a 'Low Rider tease,' but tease is a bit of an understatement, they pretty much went full on into low rider for a minute. Crowd went crazy, awesome way to end the set.

Set 2: I like 555 a lot, but I don't like the placement as a set opener. Not enough energy to set the pace for a big set. Mike drops bombs in the version as should be expected from 555, it is a very solid version despite its placement. #Line: Most people were disappointed to hear it, but they put a little extra mustard on the Allman brothers style jam and by the end it had everyone dancing. After 2 songs, not sure where this set is going... I have been critical of how often they start second set with DWD, but when it hit last night, it announced the start of 2nd set. 555 and #Line were set 1.5, now set two hit, and it hit hard! Nasty version of DWD! Halfway through the song, right at the perfect moment, CK5 won the night and hit us with a blast of the twinkling stars in the ceiling of the Forum! What a moment. They light up the whole room, but instead of seeing everyone dancing to this epic DWD, I looked down to see everyone staring at these lights with HUGE smiles, it really was a special moment, and I hope a Utube video might emerge that will do it any justice. Amazing. Fuego: Maybe it was just impossible to follow the act of that DWD, but Vlad didn't quite impale me. Solid enough, nothing noteworthy. Same could be said for Twist, a ton of fun, as Twist always is, nothing to write home about. Bouncing: I love the placement. You know it is time to slow the set down, Velvet? Nope! Bouncing! I love this song, and I like seeing it in 2nd set, very well played. I enjoyed it quite a bit. DB: I love this Bowie. I love them all, but this seemed like it had something extra on the back end. It went to a lot of different places musically ( as the song is designed to do). Really good version. They follow it up with Character Zero to wrap up a real mixed bag of a 2nd set.

Encore: HOOD! This Hood was huge. It was not rushed at all, had all four band members hitting it hard and together. I couldn't help but think of 'HollyHood' in LA last summer. This jam didn't get to that scale, but where as HollyHood was a re-visit to Tahoe Tweezer, this Hood was all its own. Again CK5 hit us with the star lights, with the band in a really cool subdued ambient jam, all the stage light were off, such a cool effect. Figured a big Hood like that would be a stand alone Encore, but Grind closed out the night, very well sung harmonies. Always fun to the the barbershop Phish.

Highlights: The star lights! I think many bands would have overused the effect, but CK5 nailed it. They made for two really special moments that I will never forget. If Phish ever goes back to the Forum, GO! There is no way to describe the effect that those lights had on my experience at this show. Musical highlights include It's Ice, Gin, DWD (must hear), Bowie, and Hood. Nothing groundbreaking about this show. The big songs went big, no song ventured into uncharted territory, nothing went 20+ mins, all that said 4/5 stars for some really special moments, some big jams, and a great venue.
Score: 5
helping_phriendly_wook , attached to 2014-07-13 Permalink
helping_phriendly_wook There was certainly a message the band was subliminally conveying to us Northeasterners.

That we would get no more shows till next year
We just didn't know it then.
All in all, the performance itself was mesmerizing and well worth the trip for me and my sister. A truly epic summer finale
Score: 0
Fallopian_Dude , attached to 1999-07-25 Permalink
Fallopian_Dude Love the Left Toe -> Whipping Post. I was jogging when I heard this show for the first time. While I had glanced at the setlist prior to pressing play at the start of my run, I guess I had forgotten the song sequence by the time I got going. So when they hit that transition I was totally floored! It put a big smile on my face. Must have been a good one :)
Score: 0
jsauce , attached to 1997-12-11 Permalink
This is, *ahem*, this is the best first set of Phish ever, if not the best single set of Phish ever. A lot of people talk about 12/6/97 or 12/7/97 second sets, and, yeah, they're GREAT, but this is superb. Basically flawless. The only thing I can think of that would even come close is 11/22/97 second set.

There, I said it.

The opening 1-2-3 of PYITE, DWD, and Maze...WOOF. I would try to offer song-by-song analysis, but just go listen. I will say that it offers standout, single-best versions of PYITE, DWD, Maze, Limb by Limb, Waste, and Loving Cup. it's also one of my Favorite Drowned *and* the debut of Roses are Free!!!

Let me stress this: The Limb by Limb...in as much as any serious Phish head would try to label this... it's my favorite stand-alone song performance, my favorite 10 minutes of Phish I've ever heard. And, friends, that is saying something. There are two peaks where the entire band comes together in a way that's still unbelievable to me. I must have listened to this set 100 times.

LISTEN. NOW.
Score: 1
Login Register