, attached to 1998-08-16

Review by play_it_leo89

play_it_leo89 Surely I can't be the only one who absolutely LOVES this [b]Ya Mar > AC/DC Bag > Frankie Says[/b] trifecta ... Right? I mean, it's blissful! Particularly that segue from Ya Mar into AC/DC - I was floored when I heard it live at Limestone, and sooooo very many years later I'm STILL as impressed. The whole thing just epitomizes summer.
, attached to 1998-11-11

Review by s1177375

s1177375 The limb by limb and gumbo are the highlights to me. I know I know the Halley’s is long dank and parts of it are funky and parts spacey but it has this long part where trey has this annoying loop sound that just doesn’t seem to end in a bad way. The limb by limb is a rare rocker like a now 46 days equivalent. Amazing show all around but not top 20 ever
, attached to 1998-11-11

Review by s1177375

s1177375 95 and 98 are my favorite years. And a few amazing shows in 94 and 99 a close 2nd. Keep it coming w archive releases from 98. The whole year and big Cypress before I die in soundboard quality please. One of the best shows ever. Up there w 12 29 and 30 1997 the island tour cypress 2nd night Magnaball 2 28 2003 yes that good. Wow!!!!
, attached to 2019-04-19

Review by Egeffy

Egeffy EFFY Egeffy I wish that there was a way that I could write this note directly to trey...but unsure how to do so I post it here. I have been to hundreds and hundreds of concerts. Starting with queen in 79 and phish in 91 at biddy mulligans ( I only went to a few phish shows after that time until festy 8) hundreds of dead and related show, and so much including current shows like MUSE and I might even check out a trey indirect recommendation of Kind Gizzard.. anyways the point of this is to express gratitude for THIS show.... wow!! rarely have I seen such a loving act, it was powerful, sadly beautiful, entirely compelling masterfully written and played, I really can not express how meaningful this was. Such heart and utter vulnerability was expressed, it literally took my breathe away. I stood in the GA pit at the greek in LA spell bound, needing to occasionally shish a few folks but otherwise in a captivated trance. Thank thank thank thank you Trey for showing up as a real person, not only for your dear friend but for us to witness. I hope this will give me strength to show up when it is time for me to do so again, as I have failed in the past to do so to the extent at I should have, consciously present and unrushed at the bedside of death. I had to go get a seat upstairs towards the end as I could physically stand up no longer, after I guess nearly 2 hours as I have MS... but the jams.. wowsa the jams were AMAZING... and let me say that "I am going to run" is just the perfect drug addiction summary... I hope you are still good and strong trey... your recovery allowed this message to shine though and your courage allowed the love of your lifelong friendship to reverberate in me...I was filled with the love you shared so much I hugged several people during the show with tears in my eyes! So once again thank you for this amazing gift that will really take time to fully digest and relisten more carefully!
, attached to 2019-02-20

Review by Wilson

Wilson Heard Turtle in the Clouds as I was checking in. Dropped my stuff off in my room and rushed over to the beach area at the back of the venue. Came in the middle of the "Jam" which I think lasted a solid 20-25minutes or so. It was really, really good. Wish I (or someone) had captured some audio of it. Plasma also had a fantastic jam (not quite as good as the previous jam, nor quite as good as NYE 18, but still some nice interplay.). Really wish/hope this gets some kind of release someday....was up there with the Magnaball soundcheck in terms of jamming quality.
, attached to 2016-09-04

Review by s1177375

s1177375 I love the show for many reasons it has a theme on most shows don’t have a theme this one the theme is obviously waiting still waiting is going throughout the entire second set and versa just has a really good sauce but the second says all that waiting it also has my all-time favorite song lizard‘s which is I think their best song ever even though it is the same guitar so every time pretty much it is the most beautiful thing I’ve heard in game ends what I would like is for them to do a show about let’s go so it’s all about going somewhere it’s all About the place it’s all about the destination or the journey so for example this atlas would look something like this it would start off with don’t you want to go I’ve only played it once in 1995 then we’re going to let’s go Mike’s solo song then it would either go into traveler or farmhouse and then into row gay or when the circus comes to town all the songs would be aboutPlaces that people go to so you have like sea and sand in the squirming coil and drowned would be beach songs because we’re going to the beach probably end the set list with squirming coilI really like that gospel tune don’t you want to go and they do Paul and Silas and they do a few others but I would like to hear don’t you want to go or let’s go or that one that they play during the donut show set One opener way down in a holeSo basically I’m just saying keep it coming with the things we like the names you don’t have to just do it at Dick’s with spelling out and all S sad or thank you guys or most shows spell something etc. you can do it with an all animal sad or it can be about places so I think places is a cool idea to go w next as an idea for 2 great sets. You could encore with the man who stepped into yesterday goes into her pool or whatever you want to as the as the encore because you going to game hedge for the finale that would be freaking awesome
, attached to 2019-04-05

Review by blazeon46

blazeon46 An absolutely magical experience for me. The Met looked gorgeous, the lights dazzled, and the band performed a group of songs that, for the most part, went directly into my wiring and have been reinforced through repeated listening the last week of the shows that have followed. Beyond the music, which I love but which some may not, if you don't pay attention, you may miss that Trey has written some of the most poignant lyrics of his career. There is a decidedly different feel to these songs than say, Soul Planet or Rise Up. They are the kind of lyrics that can only come from experiencing grief. John Lennon was 20 when he wrote "In My Life". I don't think he could have found those words if he hadn't lost his mother when he was little. The GOTF lyrics are devastating, haunting, beautiful, and hopeful at the same time. The songs are dealing with loss, but like he did last year when he let us know death don't hurt very long, again Trey finds a way to paint a picture that isn't so frightening. "Don't know if there's even gonna be a tomorrow, but we're all here tonight so let's set it all free...And in the end, we will all be light..." he sings on Stumble Into Flight, the grooviest song about kicking it I can think of. But he also reminds us to be in the moment. "Feel the sun...in long lines..." When you think about how close he came to his own demise (or causing someone else's) in 2006, I don't know how it can't warm your heart to see the smile on his face the last few weeks as he finds welcoming audiences in these gorgeous theaters blindly welcoming this new music. I think it will go down as a personal zenith for him when all is said and done. I truly love hearing from those of you who are on a similar ride right now.
, attached to 2003-07-18

Review by hseamons

hseamons Got to attend these Alpine shows 16 years ago, and in the context of other great shows from the year (2/20, 2/26, 2/28) I recall being slightly disappointed. Taking a walk down memory lane here today, however, and seeing the quite low rating for this date makes me think this run, and this show in particular, deserve more credit. The Gin is contained and shorter for 2.0 standards, but it still packs a wallop of hard-driving jammy energy, as does the Roggae finale in the first set. Bowie is a strong set closer as well. The Disease is a 24 minute rocked-out bonanza that doesn't let up, only to find itself in a cool-grooving Catapult. This ain't 3.311 star material here. Some have suggested the show fizzles out by this point. WHAT!? I'll take some outdoor 2.0 Bug hose to keep things super summer level—and it's quite okay to drop into a couple ballads after the previous half-hour rage fest. Secret Smile is a nice change of pace and a more welcome song these days as a rarer tune that has grown on me. What ever happened to Two Versions of Me (or Discern)?? The song was kinda "lame" sounding in the earlier singing parts ("oooooooooooone" . . . "twoooooooooo"), but could usually find a pleasant outro jam. Nice to hear it again! Let's not overlook this dark, blood-curdling 14 minute Twist that finds an evil yet meditative groove. This is indeed the post-hiatus ambient-bliss jamming most of us came to know and love. And pholks, what solidifies this show as a 4-plus star level rating is certainly one of the best Hoods of 2.0: a 17 minute masterpiece that includes full-throttle jamming that almost could have turned into a high impact Dave's Energy Guide section, but it's a unique Hood jam all its own. An epic-fire conclusion for the evening. I recall these Alpine shows being sold out and being a pretty huge event given the venue size, so tickets were actually harder to find on the lot, but I finally found one only minutes to show time. So glad I made it!
, attached to 1995-10-24

Review by wokeupthismorning

wokeupthismorning i was 13 years old. already a phan. probably had junta and lawn boy on cd at this point. my buddy (who lived three doors up the street) was going with his dad and asked if i wanted to go. i remember being stoked that i got to see my first show before my older brother, who introduced me to the band, saw them. i mostly remember lots of crusty old dead heads in the lot beforehand, a couple of whom complimented my jerry t shirt that i had bought at kohl’s. the show was mind blowing. the music was like nothing i had ever experienced before. i didnt know most of the songs, but absolutely loved it. i remember thinking acoustic army was SO COOL. i was (still am) a huge fan of the narnia books, so i couldnt believe they had a song called prince caspian. theyre playing a game of chess with the audience??!! crazy. the vocal jam in yem totally freaked me out. sleeping monkey cracked me up. contact was a highlight. i had to ask my buddy what a day in the life was. did not know it at the time. i remember this like 65 year old hippie lady noodle dancing in the aisle. there was a cute college age girl next to me smoking joints. the light show was incredible. everything about it was just a smorgasbord for the senses. i was completely and utterly hooked. listening back now, the antelope stands out as an absolute monster. good show from an incredible tour.
, attached to 2018-12-31

Review by dublindeuce

dublindeuce Months after I hit this recent NYE run at the Garden, and this unique show is the one I come back to and listen to the most. Even with monstrous shows like 12/29 and 12/30 preceding it, there's something special about this show to me. Sand, Steam, and Chalk Dust Torture are the clear set 1 highlights. Sand oozes with space-funk grandeur, and Steam and Chalk Dust may be short, but they pack quite the punch. I'll be honest; I've been getting a little tired of Antelope set closers since the 12/30/17 set II Antelope. I wish they'd bring back the 20 minute insane, chaotic Antelope! I love this second set, and prefer it much to the second set from 12/31/17. DwD and Seven Below are the obvious big exploratory jams of the night, but this 8 minute Twist is snappy, and fully of energy. I love exploratory Twists a la 12/31/15, 7/23/17, 12/28/17, but I sure am digging the short set 2 high energy treatment Twist has in this show and got during fall 2018. This set 3 is what makes this show my favorite out of the past several New Year's Eve shows. This is my third 12/31 show, and it's by far my favorite set III. This set is anchored by Mercury, Saw it Again, and a glorious Limb by Limb! This Limb by Limb (only my second) cemented it as one of my favorite Phish songs to see live! I find the lyrics extremely psychedelic and personal, and in this version Trey and Page always kill it with the typical Type I bliss. Suzy Greenberg is noteworthy for some hilarious banter from Fishman. When they came out for the encore I knew by the expression on Trey's face that we'd get a Lizards. My first Lizards taboot! Seeing my 21st Phish show in Camden on 6/29 and I'm hoping to finally get my long awaited PYITE!
, attached to 1993-03-14

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule This is a show where every song feels intentional, thought out, and flowing to increase the energy. Stash is my highlight of the first set, but the real love is in the second. With all of the rarities and debuts, in the middle of the tour (as opposed to the expected debuts to begin a tour), this show has a special air to it. The Halley's and Ballad bust outs are both enormous surprises, totally unexpected. And the YEM, oh the YEM. Whereas 2/20/93 II is a teasefest where one and sometimes all members of the band made the teases happen, the teases in this YEM sound much more like the full band moving as one from tease to jam to tease and repeat. Tonight sounds more cohesive, tighter, and improved to me as this winter/spring tour rolls along. Spooky is one of the best debuts I've heard in a long time... until Gig. I mean, frontman Fish is always the comedic relief part of the show, but this one raises the bar, and is surprisingly poignant, despite Fish not being Clare Torry (original Gig singer). Coil of course is one of their best and favorite songs (judging by the consistent crowd response every time it's started), and a fantastic way to end a set. And even though it's not in the tape I heard, Memories seems to be sung on special nights, when the band is actually feeling sad to end a show or a run of shows. Phish sounds happy on this whole Colorado run, and tonight's final set of their time at least a mile high was a way of saying "thank you" to their fans, friends, and family in their second home.
, attached to 2018-12-29

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish A general gripe about phish ratings: I was at this show and it and the next night were the best non festival shows I’ve attended. In the grand scheme of phish, this show is very good but not legendary material (i.e. 7/25/17, 12/6/97, 7/17/98, 12/31/95 you get the point). That being said, the fact that this show is rated (currently) behind some shows that were not bad but no where near as good (12/30/16? I was also at this show and it doesn’t hold a candle to this), demonstrates that people will downvote shows they know are good just to balance out the overall ratings chart. Nothing should ever top 12/31/99, and this show is not better than 8/22/15, but having it hardly rank as a top 60 phish show is a crime especially when you look at the top 60. Please do not downvote shows to balance the charts. It will happen eventually and does a disservice to new fans who use this information as a launching point for what is high quality phish.
, attached to 1999-05-14

Review by Axilla_the_Hun

Axilla_the_Hun I had way too much to drink and the awesome Trey acoustic set was lost on me at the time. Then the second set started and blew my head off. The will it go round in circles was amazing and the Voodoo Child was just nasty. I saw a lot of Trey shows and it was cool how they kept adding players to the ensemble but there was something special about the three piece band... it was raw.
, attached to 2017-05-31

Review by SpinningPiper

SpinningPiper Absolutely stellar show. Huge fan of In Rounds. Architect peak and lights were my favorite part. Got to see Everything's Right before it was in Phish rotation. It has the legs I thought it did when hearing this for TAB. The Parting Glass is such a beautiful tune. Check out the Wailin' Jenny's if you haven't as they're the original artist.
, attached to 1990-06-17

Review by Wazoo

Wazoo This is all pretty good - hearing early Phish with studio clarity running through many of the classics that never saw the album treatment. The thing that stands out for me, however, is Rift. I am not sure if there are any other versions out there like this, but it is really strange to hear it in it's proto-form. Really different and interesting - sounds nothing like Rift (to me) - apart from the lyrics - but it reminds me of something that I am struggling to put my finger on - spices maybe? In any case, really cool to hear such a radical departure from a song you know so well.
, attached to 1997-08-06

Review by dr32timmymeat

dr32timmymeat The first set love might be justified, but not lots going on after that. My Soul and Prince Caspian in quick succession (separated by a fine but unremarkable Ghost) is disappointing... and that was before Cars Trucks Buses and Sample in a Jar. Julius encore is further meh. This year and especially this tour are pure heads, but this show definitely leaves you wanting.
, attached to 1993-03-02

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule The above review isn't wrong, but it does miss what I thought was one of the best Rebas I've heard them play up to this point. It builds slowly and peaks for a long time. The whistling is totally botched but the jam is where it's at. I really like both the Stash and Tweezer jams too. I also agree that the Sunpie sit-in is boring after Phish, but taken out of context, they are three pretty cool songs in their own right, and I can see why Phish wanted to play them, even if they're no Phish songs. At the end of a sick and sloppy night, at least check out the Reba.
, attached to 2019-02-22

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 I was in the comfy confines of my home watching the epic that was this show. I didn't like the struggle to get a jam going in "No Men", but I instantly forgave when they dropped into "Emotional Rescue". Being a fifteen-year-old (I first listened to Phish in 2007, during the breakup), I didn't think I'd ever get a live "Rescue", whether being there or watching the webcast. That was awesome. "Set Your Soul Free" doesn't have the [i]greatest [/i] lyrics in the world, but they're bright, positive, and fun. The jam was among the best of anything I've heard, and I've listened to the Hampton/Winston-Salem '97 box set tens of times over. It was [i]that[/i] good. Not quite for the "Mercury", but both were nonetheless amazing. If they come out this summer jamming like they did this in Mexico and pretty much all of last year, there's no doubt 2019 will be up in the sky with legendary timestamps like the early 90's, summer and fall 1997, Big Cypress, summer 2003, fall 2013, summer 2015, the Baker's Dozen (of which I attended nights 8-11), and summer 2018.
, attached to 2019-03-19

Review by dabslayer

dabslayer Amazing show! I got in a right during Stealing Jamaica, after having to coat check my poster(1st time for that lol). Set 1 was fantastic and Set 2 was equally impressive(that Spock's Brain!)Anywho here's the rest of the set list for Set 2: SET 2 Complete Tropical Rocket Victim 3d> Crazy Somtimes Wildflowers Spock's Brain Peel Say Something E: Sughn Never Sets
, attached to 2004-06-17

Review by Gratefully_dead001

Gratefully_dead001 This Moma dance in particular really shines bright in a particularly terrible year for phish. This Moma clocks in at 14+ minutes and is one of my all time favorites. Starts off almost like background music in a 70's adult film. Very funky. Peaks ~ beautifully with a full trey solo. Rips your face right off. Magnificent transition into a very blissful jam led by Mike Gordon's base. Like most good jams from this era it gets kind of "dark" at a point, which turns the jam from "crowd sway" into a total head banger, brings the jam into a very hard rock/prog sounding jam. 10/10 One of my regular "Go to's."
, attached to 1994-05-16

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Standard ‘94. But that’s not a bad thing! First set has a lot of go to’s from this year. But Stash is especially strong. Everything else is well played but nothing really sticking out. Second set (as usual) gets a little more interesting. 2001 the typical opener starts this one. Antelope starts off a little different and then segues into BBFCFM which will be the reacurring theme for this show. It’s Ice is strong. This YEM is the highlight of the show to me. Fantastic execution and just powerful. The “Louie Louie” tease in YEM is also great. Annnnd more BBFCFM Standard encore. Overall an average show from this year. But that still makes it worth checking out, especially if you like BBFCFM.
, attached to 1998-07-16

Review by moonofjupiter

moonofjupiter We already know that night two was one of the greatest shows of all times. But this, the first night...tour started one show earlier in Portland. 8 songs of story of the ghost. Calif love tweezer. Making it also an alltimer. Well this night, was one of my own alltime favs as well. Starting off with coil. Page outro to start the night....best REBA I ever heard at the time. And perhaps since. NICU WAS MIGHTY. and then two personal and gut wrenching ballers before a full fledged face melting Antelope. This first set is like Boise 99 first set. Except a year prior. Perfect, is what I’ll call it. It is all there. Second was an alltimer tooo. Julius is strong. Bowie was one of the best Bowie’s ever. And when the hot spot is Tube you know you are in trouble. Moma second is massive. This is a must listen to show. Making Gorge 98 the best two night stand in the history of that place.
, attached to 2010-10-23

Review by JerrysMissingFinger

JerrysMissingFinger Coming here a little bit more than 8 years later just to say a single thing. The Piper in this show, though not being near an all-timer and clocking in at only about 8.5 minutes, is incredibly knotty and psychedelic, and is definitely, in my ears, a 2010 interpretation or anticipation of the sound they have been pursuing circa Fall '18, minus a decent share of the tripped out delays and synth effects of the current sound.
, attached to 1998-07-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show has quite a bit to offer, as long as you can get past the lack of jamming. You get a rarity in emotional rescue to start. The segue into DWD is quick and excellent. Probably a little too good because they fell apart for a second shortly after. It also has one of the most well played versions of Moma Dance I’ve heard, very tight. Sally is a really nice treat and is also played well, the little jam after is great too. Cool It’s Ice Lengthwise It’s Ice segment as well. Second set has a strange selection. The wedge is pretty solid. Poor heart is super sloppy. I really enjoy this Mango Song as well as Brother (although it was a little flubby and off). Caspian is especially powerful and the ending portion is fantastic. YEM is also very solid. Cool encore selection to end the show. 1998 is truly a great year.
, attached to 1992-07-22

Review by RunawayJim4180

RunawayJim4180 I had friends at this show (one was apparently a taper). He mentions that there are recordings of Phish's set out there somewhere, but he did have Trey's sit in with Santana available. I uploaded it here to Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-210420987/sets/trey-with-santana-72292-nashua-nh '92 Trey sounds like a perfect compliment to Santana here!
, attached to 1997-07-10

Review by dr32timmymeat

dr32timmymeat I've been plowing through this tour show by show, and I reckon this first set has the best chunk of music to this point in the tour. The first few songs are fine and by the book, good clean start to the show. Things turn at Gin, which morphs into a sort of hallucination after an entertaining (if a bit scattered) jam. Then there's a loop-jam funk bridge that last for several minutes, ultimately wrapping up with a conclusion to Gin, which never actually stops but instead turns into tweaked-out effects before melting into Llama. And then Llama! The song goes as it always does, but then there's a real fast-paced funk jam following it. It's much faster than the Gin funk, and really makes it seem like the guys were there to play around (in a good way). Fun effects from Page, really dirty stuff from Mike. A party breaks out here. It sounds like Tortoise or something for a bit. Anyone who thinks them pushing the boundaries is typically good will appreciate this. They eventually exhale and let Velvet Sea take shape. This is a gift to the crowd, which must have been about ready to melt after the Gin and extended Llama. The following "Jam" is slow and chill and Olivia's Pool are definitely an underwhelming start to the set, no doubt. But I guess it can be forgiven. The Gin > Llama > is pure gold.
, attached to 2019-03-12

Review by KrishnaDirty

KrishnaDirty Super low key Tuesday night in downtown Charleston. Venue about 4/5s full when they come on stage. Absolutely excellent show. My first time seeing Mike Gordon band in any form and I was blown away by the quality of the jams in the overall tightness of the band. Mike and Scott make some really thought changes look effortless in almost every jam in the first set. Clear highlights for me were Are You Some Kind Of Hypnotist?, Angatta, and Cities (Scott channel in Byrne perfectly here. Very talking heads esque) > Sughn Never Sets. Tight second set as well. Pretty much Acid Man through I Am Random is the section to listen to just straight amazing this from everyone super tight funky bass licks and really relentless quick pace drumming bringing it all together. Awesome Meat thrown in there for good measure. Super nice encore. Funky Bitch. Enough said. Overall highlights: Hypnotist, Angatta, Meat, Crazy Sometimes
, attached to 2018-12-11

Review by phishyeducator

phishyeducator While I didn't attend this show, I am grateful that Trey is still around playing shows like these solo acoustic shows. The stories he tells are both enlightening and downright hilarious at times. Hearing the stories about these songs and events that surround them is like being a fly on the wall at Trey's house. So intimate and laid back. And the little "segues" he does, such as the CDT>Wedge>CDT just feels good to hear.
, attached to 2010-06-27

Review by TimberCarini

TimberCarini This was the show I knew they were [i]back[/i]. The Merriweather 2009 show was uninspired at best, and boring at worst. This Sunday night show had all of the elements of a great Phish show with solid playing as the underpinning - which is essential to making the whole thing a success. Bustouts and rarities galore - Walfredo, Mellow Mood, Tela, My Soul, Brian & Robert, Jumpin Jack Flash - plus the Saw It Again thread running through the songs in the second set made for an immersive experience being at the show. It was 100 degrees that day in Maryland, so the band knew they were getting a sweat drenched crowd in need of a strong performance to push on through. The girls next to us in the pit had brought a special Saw It Again sign, while we brought a La Grange sign. They clearly won that battle, while Phish won the war.
, attached to 1994-11-23

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Pretty solid first and second set. First set really gets going with a fiery Simple in its ‘94 spot early in the first set. The segue into It’s Ice is seamless and pretty fantastic. If I Could is played super well. Suzy is fun. Divided is played very well. This set is super short feeling but feels very filling all at once. I like the opening mix of songs to open the first set. Maze starts a fire. And Fee -> Mule is a a nice little journey to Tweezer. Tweezer has a great multi part jam. It settles into a nice mellow ambient feedback jam, that grows into a beautiful triumphant peak. It then gets rumbly and evil before going into the Tweezer Ending Coda. YEM is fun (probably more for the audience than the listener) because of the Vibration if Life section. But the Vocal Jam is actually noteworthy for its really pretty ending. Tweeprise destroys as usual. And a little fire from Sample at the end. Overall a great “above average” ‘94 show.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation