Phish.net: a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Phish.Net Review Archive

You can also browse our archived review section.

Here are the 15 most recent reviews submitted

Mistercharlie , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
This second set is pure fire. The stuff dreams are made of. The boys are on point and bringing the jams. They are having fun and letting everyone know it.

Am I the only one who noticed the Joe Cocker version of 'A Little Help From My Friends' in Scents and Subtle Sounds?
It happens at 05:34 of this video:
https://youtu.be/_NDFNdinrcA?t=334

And here's the original Joe Cocker cover version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RL5uQfKPSBg
Score: 0
ilostmypebblesandmarbles , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
While I'm not a fan who is keen on judging shows in a historical context 20 seconds after they're over, this show and the whole year of '15 have been great. I hope performances of llama continue to be slower like the one in Raleigh. It seems The Phish 3.0 have been picking up steam since summer '13. The 1.0 consistency is back. Just remember to shake your bones when they take the stage, don't take this for granted. I love reading reviews and on occasion (now) write one myself but I do have a small bit of advice for some of you....Love The Phish, Dance to Phish, Rock to Phish and just have a blast ! Rating songs and shows are fun but if you're on row 7 and giving the Bowie you just heard a 3.7 star grade, then you're doing it wrong :)
Score: 0
Doopes , attached to 2009-06-06 Permalink
Doopes This was my first show since the breakup.. My last show prior was the 20th Anniversary show. I was eagerly anticipating an amazing experience as I usually do, but was basically let down, not only by the song selection but also the crowd energy and lack of Jam and fun from the band. No real bustouts, no big jams, just nothing (literally got a Nothing).
Id have to say that I did enjoy it overall... I mean.. It's PHiSH, so even a "bad" show is a good show.
This wasn't the best show I've seen, wasn't the worst and wasn't the last.
Score: 0
Teaser , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
It's been a week since Magnaball began, and I'm now finally starting to really process the whole thing and wanted to unload some thoughts. As Saturday was arguably their greatest overall performance of 3.0 I figured I'd post them here...

I've been seeing Phish for 17 years, since 2nd night of Nassau's Island Tour, 4/3/1998. As a future #realfan this show hit me like a ton of bricks and changed my life forever. I wound up seeing 6 shows that year, including Hampton and NYE at MSG. That would be about my average over the following 2 decades. As a mid-western kid who went to NYU in the late '90's, Phish was ubiquitous and it was always great to be able to hop on tour every few months for a few shows, then hop off and get back work/school.

That said, this was only my 2nd festival, the first being Festival 8 (in my backyard as an LA resident now). Back in the festival heyday I never really had a crew who loved them like I did, and traveling to somewhere like Limestone or even (my biggest Phish regret) Big Cypress was just out of the question unless I wanted to roll solo...so needless to say I was so thrilled to see this festival after the MONSTER 2015 Summer Tour and Fare Thee Well extravaganza that clearly led to inspirational playing from all four members of the band.

My buddy, Bergey, and I hit up our local shows (Shoreline and Forum) together in July and were ready to spend a blissful weekend in Watkins Glen. Despite a bit of a hiccup (perhaps karma for only having a 2 hour commute to Indio?) with my flights and rerouting to Syracuse, we arrived with plenty of time on Friday and enjoyed my favorite 1st set of 3.0 capped off by the best Gin I've personally ever witnessed. And they didn't stop...that was what was so inspirational about Friday's show. They just jammed and jammed and jammed. I definitely felt like the CDT > Ghost lacked the clarity of the Gin, but who cares, just jam jam jam! The Hood, NMINML and Slave were all standouts of a huge set. But for me Set 1 (Simple, Dogs, Gin, TMWSIY > Avenu, MOCK SONG) was the most special part of the evening...

On to Saturday. THE show. It did not disappoint. It exceeded. In all ways. Yes, they played a lot of songs in the 1st set. Expertly. Loved that Divided Sky. Best one I've seen since I got married (and played it as I walked down the aisle). Fun hearing Scabbard for the first time...Tasty little Tube and Halfway to the Moon a highlight. Mike takes over Page's tune and absolutely makes it his bitch. Floored. Also enjoyed HMPAY and the run into an above average Antelope. Yes. Trey, we are awake now!!!

Then came a wonderful few hours walking around seeing old friends and meeting new ones...riding the ferris wheel and taking in the scenery. August in NY and no humidity...how did we all get so lucky!? When the 2nd Set started we were ready...and so were they. I lvoed that Wolfman's. It could have gone further but accomplished what it needed to. Fun Halley's set up one of my favorite jams of the weekend, 46 Days. With no 2nd chorus this jam lasts 12+ minutes and is fucking nasty!!! Bergey and I were sure they were heading into Mule, but nope, # Line. Totally fine with it. Tweezpian lurked. Say what you want...did they go back into Tweezer, is it the best Caspian ever? Who cares. Just listed to it. Again and again and again. Some of Phish's finest work ever. Any era.

As the late Harris Wittels said - "Phish is my religion." Our temple this weekend was the best that mother nature could muster, and our idols truly inspired. I was speechless.

Set III and the Drive In Jam (who missed this, seriously?? How?) were gravy and I won't go into too much more detail. We had a fantastic spot for the Drive In Jam but sadly my bladder had other plans and eventually I had to weave through the crowd, with no hope of getting back to where I was...no matter.

As far as Set III - the Blaze On (please get out of my head,I enjoy you but please stop repeating) was a revelation, the Cities galvanized the crowd and the band, leading to a good Light. Velvet Sea served as a nice landing pad to Cave and like that the festival was 2/3rd's over.

It all goes by so fast. The older I get the more significant these weekends become. I wish I could go to Dick's again this year, but just as I had school and work to think about 15 years ago, I have a family to think about now...I will take my 5-7 shows per year and obsess on Twitter and Phish.net over all the other shows and months and months of waiting...

Magnaball was better than I ever hoped. I'm sure they will play "my" Harpua at Dick's and the gag will be better than last year and I'll be irritated, but such is Phish, and such is life. I appreciate every moment of it, and hope that with the way they are playing right now they are motivated to pull a Winter and/or Spring tour out...

Thanks again, Phish.
Score: 1
fluffhead108 , attached to 2015-08-21 Permalink
fluffhead108 A wonderful beginning to what will surely go down as a canonical Phish weekend.

The set-closing Gin will get a ton of attention, and for good reason, but don't skimp on the first quarter's bizarre and perfect combo of Simple>Dogs>TMWSIY suite. It's perplexing on paper and equally so to listen to. It makes me wonder if anyone at Magnaball was seeing their first Phish show, and what they possibly could have been thinking after getting The Dogs and Avenu Malkenu within the first 30 minutes.

The second set doesn't break down any barriers or offer anything wholly different from what the band has been doing lately, but when sets of this high quality are accused of seeming rote, that only speaks to the embarrassment of riches we are currently experiencing. The triple threat of Hood>Waste>NMINML is the highlight to my ears. The Hood is gorgeous and exciting, breaking free of its usual structure and instead creating its own on the spot, and Waste is a perfect call to follow up, and is played flawlessly. Then the dancey groove party of No Men gets everyone moving again. Three songs of wildly different styles, united here in that way that only Phish seems to be capable of.

Spirits were high after this opening show and it's not hard to see why. Point for point, this might be the weakest of the 3 Magnaball shows, but honestly, by the time the fireworks went off two nights later, the band was just running up the score anyway.
Score: 0
fluffhead108 , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
fluffhead108 A long, dense, and fascinating date in Phish's history. There has been an incredible amount of great music played since the 2009 reunion, and especially (I'd say) since Summer 2013 kicked off, but boy oh boy....things have never felt more right with the Phish world than they did on the Big Day of Magnaball.

What amazes me most is how many of the smaller moments stand out, even against the epic stature of the highlights -- micro-segments of what was essentially 4 hours of almost continuous improvisation: the way Number Line emerges patiently from a brilliant 46 Days jam; how Tweezer latches on to an infectious lick and then rides it all the way out; Caspian's effortless push beyond its often stifling boundaries; or how 555 bleeds out of Light as if the entire damn song was written specifically for that moment and that segue; the way Trey hammers out the opening chords of Cities like he has never been happier in his life to be playing it; the total unity of everyone in attendance during the final throw-down of the Reprise. The freakin' glowsticks.

There are probably arguments for why other shows or other sets from 2015 are superior to this show and these sets. But ever since Magnaball passed, I've been thinking a lot about when I was in my dorm room in college in 2009 and I got *that* email announcing the Phish reunion. The conception in my head, then, of what it truly meant for Phish to be a band again, for this to be a world in which Phish was making music and I was alive to experience it, looked exactly like this show. It was a vague image of exactly this experience that created all that giddy, joyful excitement. To be there for it and experience it in real time, then come home and sink into the SBDs until I've sucked them dry, feels very much like the cathartic realization of early 2009's hazy anticipation.

Seven years is a long time. It is incredible to me that so much time has passed, and even more incredible to think that things are essentially as right and good in the Phish world today as they've ever been before. Get this show.
Score: 1
voopa , attached to 1992-08-28 Permalink
voopa Well, electric pianos don't have strings. As I recall Page played an upright acoustic piano at this show. Perhaps it belonged to the venue?

This was a good introduction to Phish for me. Living on the West Coast, I hadn't heard many shows, but had heard a little as early as '89. After receiving a copy of Nectar at the radio station where I was working, my interest deepened.

But even this set didn't prepare me for my next show: 3/22/93.
Score: 0
The_Ghost , attached to 1984-12-01 Permalink
The_Ghost I only have a recording starting at Scarlet Begonias and going to the end.

This show is a great listen to early phish. The fact that there are so many dead songs which are not covered by the band anymore, in fact this is the last time they covered Fire on the Mountain and Scarlet was only played on time after this.

It is great to hear early songs and, more, that a band which is so fluid to know that this long ago there were elements that still remain today if you happen to catch, for instance, Makisupa.

Given the nostalgic value this show gets and extra star bump.
Score: 0
dmacgil1123 , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
This was my first phish festival and I must say I had the worst time ever!! I was so disappointed!! I have a really bad ankle which I've had four
corrective surgeries so I had to sit and wait for phish to come on stage for first set on night one well I ended up getting trampled on and had a whole beer spilled on me!! The first guy that trampled me stepped right on top of me and then got upset with me once I yelled at him!! The second guy was the dude that sprayed beer all over me but he genuinely felt bad and even offered me his can of beer which I turned down!! The third guy walked right in front of me and parked his behind so close to me that his butt was pretty much rubbing up against my lady parts so I tapped on his shoulder and said excuse me and asked him to move forward a little bit to which he backed up into me even more ending up stepping on my bad ankle and knocking me over!! My boyfriend (whom this profile belongs to cuz i dont have my own yet)felt obligated to watch over me and make sure that I was safe instead of enjoying a show with his favorite band... Then right behind my bf was a young fake probably early 20s had a huge bag laid out on the ground in front of her so my bf accidentally bumped into the bag and pushed it back about two inches with the heel of his foot so he wouldn't keep stepping on it just for her to grab his shoulder to get his attention and proceed to scream at him using profanity warning him to not even slightly bump her bag again!! What happened to all the real genuine phish phans?? Cuz I have been to eleven shows now and never have I encountered such rude disrespectful people at a phish show!! I thought we were all phish family!! I'm so disappointed in the way people acted like friends until about an hour before the show started then people where completely rude!! That is not the definition of a phish family at all!!
Score: 0
TreyBombs , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
To start, the day set was really fun. I have a quick story I MUST share.

My friend (,my friend) brought a cut-out-on-a-stick to the concert area with a LinkedIn photo of our other friend (present in our group). We were pretending it was his bachelor party (as a weird joke) and it served well as a locating tool for people to leave and join the group.

Before the band started Divided Sky, Trey wished someone named "Eric" a "Happy 40th Birthday". Looking out at the crowd, he saw the cut-out sign and asked, "Hey, is that Eric? On the cut out?". Fishman chimed in, "He looks like Brad Sands". The band cracked up and our group went completely nuts. Phish commented on our ridiculous sign. Gotta give credit to the kid who brought it for the hilarious idea that resulted in that moment.

Moving onto an actual review....not much to say about the first set except it being really fun / high energy dance party with my peoples. Everyone was a little confused during Scabbard because we didn't know what it was. Most of the songs were pretty standard but very well played. Divided Sky, Moma, Halfway To The Moon, How Many People Are You, Antelope were my personal highlights. Always love hearing When the Circus Comes....

Set 2 felt like a true second set (It was 6 songs in length).

46 Days went deep to a few different places. Tweezer > Caspian is must listen Phish. I went to the bathroom during Caspian and had forgotten what song it was...it is not a normal Prince Caspian. People are talking it up huge and it deserves the praise.

Set 3 - Meatstick was an unexpected set opener but fun and bouncy. Blaze On was the jam of the weekend for me. Not saying it was the best but it was my favorite. Just had some serious flow. I didn't even have to think about dancing, my body just moved to it like butter. I suppose that happens a lot at Phish but it was next level for Blaze On.

Short but funky Cities > Light was extremely solid. Light used to be one of my favorite jams, back in Summer '12 and this one was on par with a lot of those versions. I've always wanted the 555 Jam to get as dark and dirty as possible and this one is the best I've heard. I had a moment of catharsis during the Velvet Sea because Trey absolutely crushed it with major scale bliss shreddage. Great combo of 555 Darkness into Velvet Sea bliss.

I had been nervously waiting for a Carini and a Sand ALL NIGHT and at this point in the show, knew it was probably now or never. When Walls of the Cave started, I finally accepted that Sand and Carini were not getting payed. Sad times. Then I raged the Walls and it was awesome.

I'll take a Boogie On > Tweeprise encore at every show. Such a great encore combo. Anything funky into Tweeprise is fucking gold.

Late night jam was the best Phish I have ever heard. During the set my mind was completely blown. One of my buddies suspected that Phish pre-recorded the whole thing which pissed me off and killed my vibe a bit. I didn't agree but admitted it was possible. "Sometimes I hate the band. Why didn't they come out and take a bow?" As I thought about it more and more...I started to believe that the band did indeed pre-record it.

They fucking played it live. Read the fucking book.

Anyway, what a day/night. Super Ball was my 3,4,5th shows. Sunday at Magnaball was #50. Very different experience for me but both were incredible. Super Ball was life changing (I saw 'the light') and at Magnaball I celebrated with a shit eating grin the whole time.

Thank You Phish.
Score: 0
Attitune , attached to 2015-08-22 Permalink
I dont really know a lot about Phish. What little I do know about them and their fans has always impressed me. After Magnaball Im way more impressed. I arrived to the festival site Saturday around 11am and went into the concert area about 1pm for a quick peek around. There was so much cool stuff going on I ended staying in the concert area till around 2:30am and I only saw half the stuff that was there. i didnt even leave during the intermissions. No time now to completely explain why but to me Saturday and Sundays shows were a perfect representation of how great Phish and their fans are.
Score: 1
Mistercharlie , attached to 2015-06-12 Permalink
This was a good show. I had a blast, just like every other show phishy show I've seen at The Murat.

The best part was Mike's comment about having played both the rooms in the building (The Theater and The Egyptian Room) and now he's playing in the hallway. The Deluxe really is just a large hallway in the basement of The Murat.
Score: 0
SkyTrainWand , attached to 2015-08-08 Permalink
SkyTrainWand My first trip ever to Alpine Valley turned out to be a wonderful adventure. I had just as much fun NOT seeing Phish as I did actually seeing them! I'll keep this review on topic though...

Set 1 highlights - stepping into the venue for the first time. Wow. Such a huge place! Anyway, No Man's Land was a great opener, Frankie Says was a welcome surprise, right into Maze which always kicks ass. Mercury is officially my #1 favorite new Phish song of 2015 and I thought it was a really stellar version, Trey seemed very focused and had a really nice solo in it. His focus seemed to continue during Reba, which I loved. Possum closer was nice, then we headed to the beer lines

Set 2 highlights - THIS SET IS AWESOME. Cannot stress this enough. The DWD > Halley's portion was absolutely wonderful, and Trey played around with his TruTron pedal quite a lot. For only being 14 minutes, there's a boatload of fantastic improvisation in this Disease and you can tell all the band members are listening to each other.

Around 8:00 in the DWD is when the jam starts getting pretty dark, but not for long - around 11:00 mark the band shifts into a major key and ends the jam with an envelope of existential bliss that had me closing my eyes for several minutes. Right after Halley's is where my mind was completely blown, since they nailed a direct segue into Twist! Really, it was seamless. I could go on and on, but it'll take too long. Everything about this set is fantastic, but I just need to note one thing:

During What's The Use, just past the halfway point, Mike hits a low note and hits his Taurus pedal. The result was a sound that I will NEVER forget, because it seemed like it caused a miniature earthquake and shook the entire venue. The reaction from the crowd was priceless.

After that, a really strong Number Line, and equally strong Slave. Meatstick was fun times, and Zero (always a rocker) took us out. I no longer have a dislike for Character Zero because it kicks ass every single time.

I think there were some better shows than Alpine 1 this tour, but holy skyballs, this is a good one! I'll be re-listening for quite some time.

4 stars out of 5 :)
Score: 1
raidcehlalred , attached to 2015-08-23 Permalink
raidcehlalred not a lot of reviews, so a review of a review....

@dutchbug

Yours is one of the more interesting, and violent reviews, I've come across; in other words, this was a pleasure to read.

I can't quite tell if you are purposefully mixing your metaphors, interweaving diction ....

SHOOTING (the breeze)
BOOM (punch)
TAKE (cover)
SHAKES (you)

or if perhaps the SaSS coupled with the Groove really did work some magic ....

I'm curious, though.... What makes this fella's tale particular to the 'south?'

Could not the two be mutually exclusive?

Had the band opened with, say, Party Time, would you have fled the scene?

Now 'chompers....' I've only heard of 'them' after watching @Zappa20....

Is this a southern thing as well?

But my sense is you're from the NE or W, as you allude to skiing....

Then again, the uncle tickling, this, while an interesting way to analogize 'Week' seems to have no geographic bounds....

Thumbs up for taking the black diamond trail, here....
Score: 0
The_Ghost , attached to 1996-07-10 Permalink
The_Ghost Short and sweet like the show.

David Bowie.

That's all this review should need to say. It is a nice dark and twisty version.

The show has a decent set list, I certainly enjoy all of it until they hit the "Hello My Baby" part. Really don't like a cappella from musicians. Page could pull off a cappella, the rest not so much.

Highlights though Waste > David Bowie. I can't help liking Waste, it is a song I enjoy listening to with my wife when I feel like being a sappy romantic.
Score: 0
Login Register